We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed, over priced & poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointed, over priced & poor value for money”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

In need of modernisation, room was very drab & very dirty. Cracked bathroom sink. It is poor value for money. Wouldn't recommend and certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for which I can only apologise.

We are currently undertaking an in house redecoration programme which has started with the ground floor and corridor areas and working up through the floors. This will certainly rectify some of problems you encountered.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    626
    472
    206
    132
See reviews for
172
1,016
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just returned from two nights half board at the Yorkshire Hotel. We booked a self drive break through Travelstyle and we couldn't have been more pleased. Spacious room, clean linen, and lovely bathroom. The hotel staff were all so friendly and our room was on the corner so we had two views. The one over the cenotaph being superior in my opinion. The food was excellently presented and tasted delicious. We were worried we might not get a parking space so we arrived early which the hotel were fine about, you need to tell them though as you need a voucher from them to display in your windscreen. We did not move the car until our departure for fear of not being able to get another space which I don't think we would have done. The hotel is amazingly central to all of Harrogate's attractions which means you aren't trudging around getting worn out.
A visit to the Royal Pump Rooms was so interesting and I learnt alot about the history of the spa's from there. Make sure you taste and smell the water from the outside tap!
Our first proper visit to Harrogate made truly memorable thanks to the Yorkshire Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel
when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have just returned from this hotel. We stayed for 1 night and as the previous reveiwer we were allocated room 326!!

We were appauled at how small, drap and dirty it was, so much so, that we asked to be moved. The staff were so helpful and very effecient, even though the hotel was busy! We were moved instantly without any issue and they put us in one of the rooftop rooms!

Lovely nights sleep, lovely breakfast and very friendly staff.

Moral of the story - if you don't ask you don't get!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenB11011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for your first night which I can only apologise. It was extremely helpful to have a telephone conversation we had after posting your comments. Thankyou for finding the time to speak with me and it was great to learn that this experience had not detered you for using the hotel again. It was a real pleasure to read you comment relating to the staff.

Just for an update for other readers of the review: Room 326 it is a small double with a compact shower room, however the comments in relation to the decoration have been actioned this room has had the ceilings replastered and has undergone redecoration.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We recently stayed at the Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate and I have to say how disappointed we were with the room.We were booked for 2 nights in May but only stayed 1 night mainly because the room was not up to standard.It was dull, drab and in desperate need of modernisation, the shower area was a tiny in fact you could not fully open the shower door because the sink was in the way and it was not that clean.So I would not recommend to anyone staying at the Yorkshire Hotel and especially room 326.I feel I paid good money for a Hotel room that quite clearly does not live up to the claims made on the Web Site.

Room Tip: aviod this hotel especially the 3 floor make this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank newcastle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for which I can only apologise.

After an investigation with my Duty Management team it is regrettable that your disappointment does not appear to have been highlighted or addressed by the Duty Manager visiting your room. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware they would have endeavoured to provide an alternative room or at the very least offered a ‘gesture of good will’.

Just for an update for other readers of the review: Room 326 it is a small double with a compact shower room, however the comments in relation to the decoration have been actioned this room has had the ceilings replastered and has undergone redecoration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Pleasantly surprised, as compared to other hotels in Harrogate, it is not too pricey. It could do with a makeover, but it is clean and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Chich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed for five nights in April and can sum up our stay in two words..
JUST WONDERFUL. absolutely no negative comments to make..from
parking our car in the private car park in front of the hotel to paying our bill on leaving
this was a truly superb break. Great room, good bed and quiet corridors..we were
amazed at the three star rating..nothing was too much trouble, service was impeccable
and the restaurant was just perfect. We live twenty minutes from the Gleneagles Hotel
and visit often..the YORKSHIRE reminded us so much of there.
Cant recommend this Hotel highly enough..and cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waverley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Ray and the reception team were absolutely excellent in immediately making me feel welcome and at home as well as helping me gain parking - this is central Harrogate and parking is limited or chargeable every two hours at the meter

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynBechelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing