We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A couple of months overdue but I felt I had to share the excellent experience my (new) wife and family & friends had when hosting our wedding at The Yorkshire Hotel at the back end of April.
It was the day after the other big wedding of the year (yes, the royal one) and something we arranged in 6 weeks, start to finish.
The location was perfect as we and most of our guests live in and around Harrogate, though parking is a limited at the hotel itself - there is plenty of town centre parking within easy waking distance though.
The hotel itself is very impressive from the outside as was the function room that we'd chosen which was the Rooftop suite - this is on the top floor of the hotel and gives fantastic views of Harrogate which gave it a new perspective for lots of long time residents of the town.
The only disadvantage of being on the top floor was for the extra equipment needed for the evening reception so the DJ had a lot of heavy equipment to shift up five floors but he didn't complain and the hotel staff helped him out.
To be honest that's the main reason I wanted to write this review - the staff. I have never had such a positive experience across the wide range of people that we needed to deal with. From the wedding organiser, Katie (such a loevly, consistently pleasant person to deal with who sorted out all sorts of last minute changes ranging from wedding breakfast numbers to the choice room we had the wedding ceremony in!) to the reception staff, bar staff where people had a drink beforehand and the ones working in the Rooftop Suite itself from early afternoon right through until after midnight, and the various duty and function managers we dealt with through the day and the morning after - they were all lovely, positive people where nothing was too much trouble at any stage of the day - even when we were trying to pack up gifts and the leftovers of our cheese wedding cake at 1am, they were still extremely helpful and nice to deal with.
At the end of the day, a wedding day is supposed to be something you can try and enjoy even though you spend most of your time making sure other people are happy, but I can honestly say that the both of us really enjoyed ourselves as did everyone we invited from what we could tell.
The pros were - really nice and professional, friendly staff; smart and 'grand' venue with great views from the top floor; choice of function rooms with smart decor; reasonable price for function (we thought it would be out of our price range but competeted favourable with far less grand venues!); lovely bridal suite with balcony; and, one more time, nothing was too much trouble when it came to accomodating some of the fussier guests!
The cons - not many but nothing's perfect. The staff were very slow in topping up wine during the meal (I had one glass from sitting down and didn't get another until the desert was served - and I was on the top table!); some guest rooms hadn't been refurbished yet and whilst the ones that have been done got nothing but praise from some guests, the ones that hadn't were pretty out-of-date and tatty (though work was going on through the hotel) .

Basically, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Yorkshire Hotel for hosting a big event like a wedding or any other large celebration. It was a pleasure from start to finish and they helped make it an very memorable day for all the right reasons.
Mark (& Clare) Bickerdike, Harrogate

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your Wedding with us and it gives the hotel team and myself great pleasure to have helped make your day special. As the General Manager it is particularly pleasing to read such positve comments relating to the team at the hotel as they are certainly one of our biggest assets. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel hopefully next year on your aniversary if not sooner.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    615
    467
    202
    132
See reviews for
171
1,003
39
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked through laterooms as the hotel we were staying in on Sunday was full for the Saturday night (Marriott York). I have stayed in Harrogate on several occasions with work at the Hotel du Vin next door and thought The Yorkshire would be a great base for a family trip to York and Harrogate.
The reception is beautiful, leading you to believe the rooms will be of a similar high level. However, our room was very dated, the paint was peeling off the walls under the window, the bathroom was very dated, the vinyl floor tiles in the bathroom were missing in areas. The bedroom was the same size as the bathroom and there was barely room to have the bed and our daughter's cot.
The room was not clean, there were hair grips on the floor and on the bedside table, leading me to believe the room was not hoovered.
The bed was very small and uncomfortable. Our window overlooked a large extractor fan and the noise from the pub next door was horrendous. When we finally got to sleep we were awoken by a group of loud drunk girls returning home from night on the tiles and laughing, singing and swearing in the room next door. Not great when it woke up our 13 month old daughter.
We mentioned to reception we were unhappy with the accomodation, we were offered without quibble half our money back, however we really would have just preferred to move rooms.
I definetely would not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
As well as the inital 'good will gesture' from the reception team this guest was responded to this guest by Letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is our second stay at The Yorkshire and I must say I am struggling to see why some people give it such bad reviews. Unless of course they are expecting 5 star accommodation, in which case they should read more closely as it's a 3 star hotel.

But star rating aside, we have enjoyed both our stays here. The staff are polite and attentive, both on the reception desk and in the restaurant and they make the effort. As an example, the parking seems to be an issue at the Yorkshire and as there was a wedding on, there were no spaces when we arrived to check in. However the receptionist immediately pointed out where the nearest multi-story carpark was and also helpfully pointed out that as it was a Saturday, from 6pm we could park in a pay and display space for free until the end of Sunday. Armed with this knowledge, we ended up being able to park right outside the hotel anyway.

Once in our room, a front facing one as requested, we found it clean, functional with no problems at all. Yes it was relatively small, but there were only two of us and how much time do you actually plan on spending inside the room? The bed was comfy, the hot water was hot and the thick curtains did a good job of keeping the strong sunlight out the following morning.

Breakfast the following morning was perfectly fine. Everything that should have been hot, was hot and vice versa. The staff where pleasant and polite and the restaurant itself was a nice place to relax and eat.

As for value, we booked via laterooms.com and got the room with evening meal and breakfast included for just short of £80. At that price it was exceptional value.

If you are looking for a pleasant hotel, right in the center of Harrogate with great views from the front facing rooms, you could do a lot worse than the Yorkshire. Get one of their special deals and it's a real bargain too.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us . As the General Manager it is particularly pleasing to read such positve comments relating to the team at the hotel as they are certainly one of our biggest assets.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We were also on the coach trip and had to put up with 5 days with the idiot who wrote the nasty and to be honest lies in the review below..................roast beef does he know what we pay £28 for a 3 course dinner bed and breakfast im suprised the hotel dosnt shut with business like this lol but at least we got to take advantage of it and see harrogate before they do ............before booking my nxt trip i will make sure that horrible man isnt on it he should stay at home his family must love it when he goes away ..............the hotel isnt perfect but this does not include the food we spoke to other guests staying and they had loved food ...Mrs J :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed at the Yorkshire Hotel from the 17th to the 20th June as part of a tour with Caladonian Travel to Harrogate booked single rooms were given large double rooms with flat screen tv,s lovely clean crisp white linen and white towels changed every day large clean bathroom with the best powerfull hot shower ive used in my travels to date Staff were polite and friendly. Breakfast choice was huge from cereals fruit, fruit juices and a large choice of cooked breakfast Toast tea/coffee. Evening meals were piping hot with a good choice and good servings too. Enjoyed my stay in this elegant and charming hotel. Well done caladonian travel would definately return excellant value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisforlivingyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

we stayed as a wedding party, and evry moment was made special. staff always willing to help and polite. the room we were in was bit small but clean. the food was lovely from the wedding meal to the morning breakfast. we were going to have a trip on sunday to leeds, but there was so much to do in harrogate that we had no time. betty's tea rooms were just great. and also the turkish baths looked good. this hotel is the best i have stayed in to date. i did not use the restaurant because table was booked behind the hotel in a bar.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms over looking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyanne_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

In need of modernisation, room was very drab & very dirty. Cracked bathroom sink. It is poor value for money. Wouldn't recommend and certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for which I can only apologise.

We are currently undertaking an in house redecoration programme which has started with the ground floor and corridor areas and working up through the floors. This will certainly rectify some of problems you encountered.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing