We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 8 November 2011

although location good the Hotel is poorly furnished.Our twin room was dismal with poor lighting.The bathroom was huge which would have benefitted from a stool/chair to put clothes on.No fittings to accommodate glasses for teeth cleaning;these were at far end of bathroom.On the second night I saw an ad. in the Hotel saying if a meal is booked for 2 people worth £34 you would get a bottle of free wine.As this was not mentioned to us I asked at reception.It took some negotiating to get just one botttle of wine.You would think that I was asking for Moet and Chandon not just cheap plonk. On the positive side the evening meal was exellent,the breakfast adequate;compared to other Hotels breakfast limited but adequate.The staff appeared to be just doing a job.I would not reccomend the Yorkshire Hotel and will not visit in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenAccrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

I was disapointed to read your comments relating to your room having investigated this with my Duty Management team it is regrettable that your disappointment does not appear to have been highlighted or addressed by the Duty Manager visiting your room. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware they would have endeavoured to provide an alternative room or at the very least offered a ‘gesture of good will’.
With regard to the dinning offer highlighted in your comments this offer is infact ' Subject to availability and maybe withdrawn at any time'. Regardless of this it would seem my team did try and appease the matter by providing a bottle even though the offer was not available. I am sorry if you felt they were being less than helpful in this matter and I am also sorry that the you felt the £15 bottle of wine you recieved was 'Cheap Plonk'.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,680 - 1,686 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Very good location. Within few mins walk from everything, shops, Betty's, Train station etc. very very average rooms. Our room was overlooking a wall which was shame considering the hotel is in the city. Amenities in the room were ok ( tv, heating etc) but did not have anything you would expect like bottle of water, shampoo etc. Single glazing and hence noisy as pub right under the rooms. quite disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback, we do offer a wide variety of room types and standard and we always try to offer the best value for money for a 3 star property. Up graded facilities are often available at an additional charge. I must apologise that you felt the view from the room that were allocated was sub standard but due to the age of the building not every room has a view of the garden areas and the original single glazing is part of this buildings period design . It is worth noting that we are a town centre hotel and as well as the convenience of such a location we are within one of the busier areasof nightlife.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

my wife and i stayed in room 214 last night and had a very poor nights sleep. one reason was the noise from the fans just outside the window. this is a very poor outlook. the main reason for the lack of sleep however was the very sudden and sporadic loud sound of the toilet pumping system. a sort of chinese torture at its worst. this continued all night. i discovered this morning that the drainage system is faulty by filling the bathroom washbasin and then pulling out the plug to wittness the water come bubbling back UP the BATH plughole bringing with it some 'gungy bits' and a much stronger smell of what we had been able to smell before ie 'bad drains'.
a previous review, at least one, mentions drainage or smells. it would seem that this problem has existed for a while.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

I thank you for the time and trouble you have taken in writing your review on tripadvisor, The problems you experienced within the hotel unfortunatley are isolated to 2 rooms in the entire hotel which have the system you describe it would appear that the system had broken for which I am truly sorry. It is my understanding that my team did offer you a 'gesture of good will' . It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We visited this hotel on a four night package with Shearings. Normally Shearings use their own Bay Hotels, but this was a chance to try somewhere else, and we were not disappointed. Like all upgraded 'old' hotels, there has to be a compromise unless you knock it down and start again, but this hotel is really getting there. Our double room was reasonably spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and an en-suite, recently refurbished and producing plenty of hot water. There were many nice touches and we felt welcomed. Everything worked well with an up-to-date TV including all the digi-channels.
Our half-board food was mostly of a high standard with breakfast buffet style giving all the usual options and as much you like. You couldn't really expect individual fried egg in these circumstances, but scrambled was fine. The evening meal for us as a group was only served at 6.30 pm - fair enough, and we had three choices of three courses. Nearly everything was served hot and tasty, although chef had an off day when we had Spanish Omelette - ninety-five percent potato!
The staff were exceptionally pleasant and tried to please at all times. Some guests found the free wi-fi very useful and some marvelled at one of the lifts marked 'maximum six persons' - these would have to be very thin persons indeed.
The location could not be better overlooking lawns and flower beds, and more distantly, a valley with many trees. The famous Bettys Tea Rooms were just a stone's throw away and we soon found out why there is always a queue outside. Harrogate is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikea4167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. In particular your comments relating to the team ,it was a pleasure to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The hotel is right in the centre and the staff are all lovely had an amazing nights sleep and great breakfast. A must is a turkish bath very chilling and fun everyone friendly and a good laugh ;-) ate in hotel restaurant £30 for 2 with a bottle of wine fab value. Night life is right on the doorstep and the choice of restaurants is amazing. Would defo go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a Saturday and Sunday night. On check in we had not been allocated the requested room which should have had a decent view of a park at the front but we had a view of a flat roof inside the building.. We could see the paperwork had been changed and someone else had been allocated our room earlier in the day. The guy on reception handled things poorly, but when the duty manager got involved he quickly offered a price reduction and to move us the next day so he competently redeemed the situation - well done!

The Hotel is 3 star and thats about right - nothing special but nothing really wrong either. The rooms are adequate and reasonably furnished (although the beds are too hard for some tastes) and the public spaces OK.

We didnt have the buffet breakfast - it looked OK from a distance - but Bettys Tea room is right across the road - no contest!

The Bar staff were nice on Saturday night and made us a good cocktail. It isnt particularly atmospheric but the Bar opens on to a street which has several very lively bars - we liked Banyan (good burgers too) - so there is plenty very nearby.

This just about sums the hotel up - it doesnt have any particular attractions itself, but it is in probably one of the best spots in Harrogate. We didnt use the car for 2 days because we could walk everywhere.

Its a pleasant enough place itself, but in a great spot for a night out in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel which has a lovely view and avoids the chance of any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. It was disapointing to read that on arrival to the hotel, that the room you had reserved was not available. I was pleased to read that the Duty Manager rectified the situation to your satisfaction. Thank you for your honest feedback relating to the hotel product you are correct in the fact that we have an average 3 star product with a great location and but we do not try not to claim otherwise.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Well, we booked a disabled room for our parents to stay in and at the time of booking the reservation agent put us in the room next to them for our convenience. When we arrived we'd been moved away from them. This was very disappointing. I felt the person on the front desk didn't have a clue about customer service, luckily, he transferred me to the manager. The manager offered us money off the room as a goodwill gesture for both nights which we accepted as he was unable to move us closer. I thought the disabled room was excellent for our parents. With a lovely view out to the Stray. They were kind enough to reserve the disabled parking bay for us too, which made our stay even more pleasurable as we didn't have to go to far with all of our luggage. I would say though that the beds are really too hard for us. The sound of the toilets/water system made when you run the water made you think that there was a ship in the bathroom! The other nicer features of this hotel though is that you can open the window in the room for fresh air, the bathroom is huge and the bath towels are nice and big to match the size of the bathroom. I would stay there again for the location and I am pleased they did something to rectify the mistake on check in.

Room Tip: 207, 209, 205 are good rooms that have been recently modernised. 212 is around the corner and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblysophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apology that your check in or room recieved were not to the standard I would have expected and for this I am truely sorry. It would appear from your comments that the Duty Manager dealt with your complaint to your satisfaction by offering a gesture of good will . I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing