We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the Yorkshire on a 'secret escapes' deal. Found the staff from the receptionists to restaurant staff polite, helpful and friendly. The hotel is excellently located in the centre of Harrogate with free car parking although limited in bays this was a bonus. The room was good, and the bed comfortable, maybe the bathroom was a little tired but this is a minor issue in the greater scheme of things. We had a 2 course meal included and this was really very good, as was the buffet breakfast. With Betty's tea rooms just across the road we had a fabulous break and look forward to returning!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank insp0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to read such a fantastic review. I do hope that potential guests read such reviews and make a balanced view of what a stay at the Yorkshire can be all about. Thank you once again for your comments.


Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    608
    462
    202
    132
See reviews for
170
991
39
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at The Yorkshire for 2 nights through Secret Escapes and the deal was great value for money.
The hotel itself has a great central location and although the car park is small we had no problem finding on the street parking nearby.
All the staff we encountered were friendly, efficient and welcoming.
The hotel itself is 3 star rated and it is a typical 3 star, it is certainly not the luxury of some 3 stars I have visited in the Lake District but is clean, comfortable and has the charm of an old building with it's slanting floors and some original features.
I would stay here again as it's location and staff are excellent but if you are wanting luxury that is not what you will find here.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh front ahve traffic noise, those at the back have a street with Bars/restaurants beneath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your open and honest comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that over all you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is always interesting to read a balanced view of the hotel, which I believe provides potential guests with a good idea of what a stay at the Yorkshire is all about.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our second stay at the Yorkshire Hotel and it wasn’t good initially. My family stayed under the auspices of Army Foundation College rates.

Having booked a family room, we found ourselves in a large room with 1 double bed and a single bed, something completely different from when we first stayed in the hotel. We later found out that we had previously stayed in a suite, which has an adjoining door to the kid’s bed settee.

This time, the bathroom was in a poor state. The sink was badly damaged in two places and it was lined with excess ‘plumbers mate glue’. The window frames, doors and floors were chipped, dirty with mould and in some places had tile grout missing.

The bath was covered in a glue substance that was previously used to secure non slip matting and the plug area was blocked with hair. After removing the hair, I found that while showering, the plug hole was still blocked and the water from the shower filled up the bath to just below my knees.

Having brushed aside the standard of the bathroom, we ventured out for a meal and returned at around 10.30pm. After 2 ½ hours of listening to next doors TV that appeared to be adjacent to our headboard, I had no option but to contact the reception at midnight and request that the occupant turned the TV off or at the very least, turned it down.

It transpired that having a room on the front corner of the building didn’t help as every person that came down the road shouting and calling after late night drinking could be heard through the windows, even on the 4th floor. With my daughter hearing every obscenity known and used after late night drinking – enough was enough.

Having travelled 6 hours from Weymouth that day, it ended up being a long restless night and so there was no alternative but to request a room change. Initially this wasn’t forthcoming and I was told that they would let me know in 20 minutes. In that time we had already packed our bags and were waiting in reception.

Thankfully, the hotel changed our room into a suite, which is similar to what we had last time. The windows were facing into the centre of the hotel, rather than the busy nightlife areas and although the bathroom does face over a row of café bars; there is an internal door that can be closed off to shield the noise. (Shame our afternoon was spent catching up on lost sleep)
The second night passed over well and we had a decent nights rest.

Staff at the hotel appear courteous and receptive initially, but soon change to being very defensive when you present any criticism towards the hotel. Their language tone alters to that of being personal. This can only be attributed to the amount of complaints that they regularly receive.

The Yorkshire Hotel looks fine on the ground floor and appears very clean and presentable but the rooms need some serious general maintenance.

I have made provisional arrangements to return to the same suite later in the year, however if that request isn’t honoured then I shall stay somewhere else and I will ensure that my influential friends at the Army Foundation College are duly notified of what they are recommending to their soldiers families should use.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front quarter of the hotel are recommended. If you stay during the warm spells y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Booked through secret escapes, hotel was a little run down in places but was being improved so we put up with this. Downstairs and HG1 bar was absolutely the best ( mohjito to die for!! ). Have a real fondness for the friendliness in Harrogate as a whole so was not disappointed at all. Hotel could go that "extra mile " by offering good quality Harrogate toiletries but attentiveness of staff compensated.Thanks for a beautiful weekend. xxx

Room Tip: just ask if not satisfied. staff here will help without any fuss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and I certainly take on board your suggestion. I am really glad you thought the Mojito's were that good.
I do thank you for your comments relating to the team they are our very best asset and as you say in your top tip they do help without any fuss.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here for a two night B & B plus one nights dinner special offer through the Telegraph. Room quite small at rear of hotel overlooking rooftops, although bathroom quite large. There was a constant drone at the rear of the building, presumably from power generators. Hotel shown as a three star. It is an old building and it shows. Really in need of serious refurbishment. Breakfasts and dinner very good, staff very pleasant, location ideal for exploring Harrogate. Parking outside hotel very restricted, but if you are patient, or lucky, you can find a space on occasions

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askalan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor. I must apologise that you felt the general standard of the hotel did not meet your expectations for which I am very sorry. I was however delighted to read that you had enjoyed both breakfast and dinner and that you found the team very pleasant. I do take on board your comment relating to car parking, but as I have stated many times before we do only have 35 spaces and they are on a first come first served basis, but my team are more than happy to direct you to other facilities a short distance away if this is full.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here weekend just gone for my hen weekend. Was absolutely brilliant. Great location, very helpful staff, yummy breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous260287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.


Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently had a function at rooftops at the Yorkshire hotel, admittedly the hotel on the surface looks a little tired in the public areas and I cannot comment on the rooms, but what I can say is that the service was fantastic. The hotel could not do enough to make our event fantastic, the view from the rooftop is great and the space was perfect for any event and the staff couldn't do enough, I would especially like to mention Emma the event manager who was most helpful.
The staff were very efficient,happy and friendly I would defiantly hold another event here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your function with us. I do thank you for your comments relating to the team they are our very best asset and I will of course pass on your thanks.
I do hope you choose to hold your future functions with us as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing