We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yorkshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Real Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked the hotel at fairly short notice, we've stayed there on a number of occasions and never had a complaint, this weekend was no different. Excellent location only 2 minute walk to main shooping area and fantastic deal through www.easy-breaks.co.uk. The food was certainly up to it's usual standard. The rooms are perhaps a little ready for a make over but are clean and comfortable (corner room with double aspect meant a nice bright room). The staff are extremely polite and helpful. Would recommend to anyone and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your another visit soon!

Nick Henry
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    598
    453
    198
    131
See reviews for
168
970
38
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have visited this hotel twice now and I would without hesitation stay again! The hotel is in a perfect location in Harrogate. It is ideal just to rest your head however the rooms although they are clean they are also pretty shabby and in need of a much needed update/revamp. The hotel staff are very friendly especially the young man who works in the HG1 bar. Can't be faulted for the cheap prices charged here, would definitely recommend to a friend :-).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJRSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent two nights here brilliant stay , lovely friendly receptionist , room was fantastic huge bedroom and bathroom,even had a fridge and a separate area with table and chairs and settee and another tv. Two double doors which led onto a small balcony we had lovely weather so it was great to sit and relax on the balcony with a drink . Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice was very nice had free parking which is always a bonus can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 24 May with a very warm greeting from the receptionist who explained a few pointers about the hotel along with directions to the cocktail bar etc. We went in the lift to out room oh it is so tiny two people in at a time but there is two lifts one slightley bigger. We enter our room very large room with perfect views over the park, I can understand other reviews regarding up dating rooms. I am sure this will happen when we are all out of this financial situation the country is in. Then this hotel will be a five star.

The reception area is nice, the bar very nice and the dinning area very nice. The hotel will get to the rooms some time soon, as the hotel is in a perfect position 5 mins from the bus and train station two mins from m and s, primark, h and m in fact all the city shops. Oh yes, Betty's tea room straight opposit the hotel.

We parked our car without ny problems at the hotel, we just left the car there as no need to use the car again, we had a nice walk to Harlow carr which is about 1 and a half miles away but walk through the Valley Gardens park as it is a lovely walk and quicker.

We then decided to go to Ripley Castle you can catch the 36 bus outside the hotel which is 3 miles away £4.00 return on the bus lovely half a day out.

Then to Fountains Abbey on the Sunday 3 miles from Rippon. What a fab day there lot's to do and see and when the sun is shining a bonus great day out for all the family.

Coctails in the hotel (2 for £6.00) bar were great from there we had a meal in the hotel it was nice and relaxed not too many peope in which is always nice the staff could not fault them really great, (two young girls) helpful and polite as we sat down the waitress asked us if we would like a jug of water with out meal. We have always had to ask for this at other places where we have had meals.

The food (Three course meal) was delightful, you will not be disappointed.

Bar prices are fair, not much different to a pub and you are in the comfort of your hotel too.

Breakfast was very nice something for everyone once again very nice staff on duty.

We have had a great stay at the Yorkshire Hotel and will go back again next year. See you all again : )

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of he hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

as per the title very happy with my stay for the price I paid on their advance rate.

You can park outside, the rooms although a little tired (and with a dark gold wallpaper which wouldnt be to everyones taste) were clean and quiet, with fast wi fi and hot water in the showers.

The location is right in town centre, 30 seconds from the high street and 2 mins from the conference centre.

so many harrogate hotels overcharge ridiculously when a conference is on, this place has kept it sensible, and I will return next year

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thestonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This was a two day stay via easy breaks.
Ok, the hotel is a little tired in places but this is more than made up for by the staff who are efficient and friendly and the fact that hotel is very clean. We got a really good room on the 3rd floor at the front overlooking the parks and the Harrogate skyline.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, HG1, and the menu didn't change on the two nights we were there but there were plenty things on it, service was very prompt but never pressured and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed dining experience and that you felt looked after by the team. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My mum and I stayed at The Yorkshire Hotel for two nights recently using a buyagift voucher. We were not disappointed. The staff were excellent from start to finish ,we asked for a twin room on a low floor as my mum has limited mobility and were given exactly what we asked for. The added bonus..we had a lovely view of the gardens below and Betty's tea rooms.
The breakfast was good, one small criticism ,I dislike having to toast the bread myself,it is so much nicer to have the toast brought to the table and it can't take that much time to do.
The location of the hotel is excellent , the shops and restaurants are a stone's throw away.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshiremaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours. As always It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing