We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay but overpriced and shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great central location is probably the main reason to stay here and free parking outside.

The room was quite tired and generally just felt quite shabby. Decor was fairly new but just looked rough around the edges. Didnt effect my stay but didnt feel the hotel reflected the price paid.

Breakfast was ok. For the price of the hotel I would expect to be served coffee and toast rather than queueing with the other guests. Continental choice was a bit limited and crammed in a corner of the bar.

OK and average sums up the stay. Fine for work but was hoping for more for a romantic break. I would try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are all so sorry that you were so disappointed with your recent stay. We do know that some of the rooms need some TLC and having just taken the hotel over from the previous management company we aim to begin improving the rooms. The breakfast menu is soon to be replaced and will reflect a much greater choice for all our guests.
The Yorkshire Hotel is a grand historic hotel but in need of much over- due improvement, we do hope that over the coming months you will give us another chance to show you how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire can be.
Please call me personally when you want to come back. I hope to hear from you soon

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We had a really great 2 nights at TheYorkshire on a package deal which was excellent value for money - and I think that when you review a place you have to bear in mind the price you pay! The location is absolutely perfect - couldn't have been better! Our room was large, very clean and looked over the front of the hotel. There were two adjustable wall heaters so we were lovely and warm. The bathroom was big but could have done with a new shower curtain, new mirror and a lick of paint - also it had no bin and the fan didn't work. This let the room down and I'm sure will be the cause of other negative comments. I'm sure it would be well worth investing some money for these updates to raise the profile of this beautiful character hotel. The staff were really lovely and helpful including the manager who was often around and always eager to ensure everyone was happy.
Overall we would love to return to Harrogate and would
certainly choose to stay at The Yorkshire. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Elizabeth your review is greatly appreciated. It is good to read that you really enjoyed your time with us. As previously mentioned we are aiming to start improve our bedrooms and as part of that we will of course be looking at the bathrooms too.
I do hope you come back to Harrogate soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Yorkshire.

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here overnight on Valentines day with my boyfriend, had a lovely time! the staff were very friendly, especially the receptionist! we had a problem with our door when we first arrived and couldn't get into our room, and the receptionist was very helpful and apologetic for this problem.
The room we had was very homey; could have done with a little bit of a refurb as some parts were a little bit old fashioned but overall it was lovely; purple decor and nice furniture. everything was absolutely spotless!! This was a major worry for me because I have slight OCD, but the whole room was immaculate. Bed was two singles pushed together which wasn't brilliant but comfortable only problem was it was quite noisy.
As it was late when we arrived, we decided to order room service, which was reasonably priced and tasted great! It arrived quickly too, with the girl who brought it being very friendly.
The next morning we went for breakfast, which was lovely. All the staff were very helpful and the buffet style breakfast was lovely. No faults!
The bathroom in the room was lovely, bath and shower, very clean and no faults except a crack in the sink.
Overall the hotel was great, especially for the price we paid. If your expecting the Hilton then you'll be disappointed, but for a reasonably priced homey hotel, its perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethany w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the team here at the Yorkshire Hotel. They are our greatest asset and it really does bring great pleasure to read such comments. We do know that some of the rooms need some TLC and having just taken the hotel over from the previous management company we aim to begin improving the rooms soon.
Please don’t wait too long to come back and see us.

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My friend & I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 11th Feb. The staff were very friendly and the 3 course meal was superb.We have to congratulate the chef on wonderful presentation of the meal and the 3 courses were absolutely divine, worthy of 5 stars. So well done to the owners of this hotel having such wonderful staff and chef.

Room Tip: We had a choice of rooms which were all twins but all were superb. We found 2nd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for such rave reviews of our chef and his food. We pride ourselves on creating a real home from home environment and I am happy to read that my team made such an impression.
I do hope you come back and see us soon.

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and i wanted a romantic night away in lovely Harrogate, We have stayed here before and loved it. Again we had a fabulous time and our room 417 which is at the back of the hotel was wonderful. Our experience here never fails, the breakfast is good and all the staff are polite, friendly and helpful. We will definitely return for a third visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosnibor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are really pleased you chose to come back to the Yorkshire Hotel and I am delighted had such a fabulous time once again.
We look forward to seeing you for that third visit

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 8th February as it was my birthday the following day. We booked this through Travelzoo at a cost of £79 for bed breakfast, 2 course meal and a bottle of wine with our meal. It also included late checkout at 1.00pm.
Because of the price we were not expecting an awful lot but our room was great on the 4th floor on the corner looking right over Harrogate both ways - it was comfortable and lovely and warm.
The food and service in the restaurant was second to none and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I can honestly say we would not hesitate to stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words emandclive. I am genuinely happy that you felt the hotel provided such good value for money.
We do hope you come back and see us soon

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Not much to say about this Hotel, the stay was a birthday present along with a visit to the Turkish Baths in Harrogate. The Hotel looked fantastic from the outside and the location was brilliant, a 2min walk to all the shops and bars etc, Bettys just across the road. The parking was great, bang outside the Hotel and free (had to get a ticket to put in the car windscreen)On entering the Hotel, the Reception was very good and the Lady was very pleasant. Our room was 326 and on entering I was very disappointed, the room was very dated and shabby, furniture not matching and the bathroom was so small, an old toilet with plastic cystern and no room to move. The bed creaked to high heaven, the only plus side was that we were not in the room very much, however when I saw the cost £63.00 no breakfast I suppose you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are sorry that we were we unable to sustain your first impression of the hotel. Having just taken the hotel over from the previous management company we aim to begin improving the rooms. I am happy you found our team pleasant and I do hope you come back to Harrogate and the Yorkshire soon.

Chris Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing