We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but tired in places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, but tired in places”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly the location is fabulous. The building is imposing and attractive. We enjoyed free parking for the whole weekend. The lobby / communal areas and modern and stylish and all the staff were friendly.

The room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The furniture was dated and a little rickety. The bathroom was especially tired, not the style expressed by the rest of the hotel. We were on the first floor rear and suffered with noise from local bars until late at night. Mainly to do with the single glazed sash window. There was also a stench of cigarette from the shower curtain of our non smoking room. Disappointing that the cleaner hadn't picked up on this, but easily rectified with a call to reception

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Serahbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are all sorry that your visit was not a complete success. Due to town centre location we do sometimes suffer from the noise of late night revelers.
I do sincerely apologise that the shower curtain had not been picked up by our housekeeping time but was happy to read that this was rectified as soon as it was brought to our attention.
The Yorkshire Hotel is an grand and historic building but in overdue much needed improvement, as part of the new management company it is our aim to look at making improvements across the whole hotel in the coming months.
We do hope you come back soon and see how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire can be.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    626
    473
    206
    132
See reviews for
172
1,017
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights midweek. Great deal from buy a gift. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of town. We had magnificent view across the town as we had a room on the 4th floor.
1st impression of the room seemed very tired and in much need of a little TLC. There was a dodgy looking king size bed which we realised was in fact 2 singles pushed together, and 2 single quilts inside a king quilt cover, very odd looking as it had bumps in the middle, but in actual fact the bed was very comfortable.
The housekeeping staff need to be sorted out though. The dust on the bedside table was thick and also the hospitality tray still had empty sugar packets from previous residents. The spare pillows found in the wardrobe also had dirty cases on, they had obviously just shoved them away. I was lucky enough to find the trolley nearby and replaced them quickly.
Breakfast was poor on the 1st morning. The choice on the hot buffet was very bad, Bacon (which looked like it had been there since 7am and we were there at 9) Tasteless pink sausages. Scrambled eggs, luke warm beans and a few halves of grilled tomatoes. NO MUSHROOMS,NO HASH BROWNS,NO BLACK PUDDING! The 2nd morning the breakfast looked better cooked, but still very poor by todays standards especially in a Yorkshire hotel, and the tea was what can only be described as flavourless coloured water. Whatever happened to that strong Yorkshire Tea they are famous for?
We would have tried the restaurant, but judging by the standard of fare at breakfast decided to eat at the Slug and Lettuce across the road.
The saving grace is that the staff are helpful and friendly, and I believe it has been recently taken over, so hopefully there are improvements on the cards.

Room Tip: We had lovely views from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManDebKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you ManDebKen for getting in touch about your recent stay. We are really sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your time with us. I have personally spoken with our Housekeeping Manager to highlight the issues with cleanliness within your room, who has spent time retraining the team to ensure we provide a consistent level of cleanliness across all of our bedrooms.
As you mention in your review, the hotel has recently changed management companies and we do intend to make improvement across all elements of the guest experience. We are currently working on a new breakfast offering and then hope to turn our attention to making improvements to the bedrooms.
I do hope your recent experiences have not put you off returning to the Yorkshire for your next trip to Harrogate and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Harrogate is a great town and a perfect base from which to explore surrounding cities of York and Leeds. It has plenty of good restaurants , shops and hotels.

Unfortunately the Yorkshire really needs to improve its act. Good points - the location is excellent, less than five minutes from the rail station, opposite a fine park and Betty's celebrated tearooms. The Harrogate International Conference centre is about ten minutes away on foot, so should be good for business visitors. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and the exterior, with its iron balconies, is quite imposing. My room was quiet.

Bad points...the rooms are shabby and badly in need of complete refurbishment, not just a quick makeover with some "feature" wall paper. The basin in my room (331) was cracked, and the tap fittings old fashioned. The shower was very sensitive - it was easy to turn it up too hot, and so was potentially dangerous. The bath was stained and old, as though it had been painted at sometime. The furnishings were antiquated and dark. I spent as little time in the room as I could - easy enough, as the free wifi only worked once during the three days I was there, and I went to Debenhams coffee shop for their free wifi. The breakfast was miserable - a very poor selection, and horrible, watery machine-made coffee. Guests would be better opting for no breakfast and going to Betty's, Starbucks or any of the other numerous cafes nearby. The public areas are adequate, but could be so much better and more in keeping with the characterful exterior of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was happy to read you found the team to be friendly and welcoming.
Having recently taking over from the previous management company here at the Yorkshire we aim to start making improvements to the entire guest experience. This will include updating our bedrooms as well as an overhaul of our breakfast offering.
The Yorkshire Hotel is a grand historic hotel but in need of much over- due improvement, we do hope that over the coming months you will give us another chance to show you just how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire can be.

Please call me personally when you would like to come back. I hope to hear from you soon

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hubby and I have just stayed for a 2 nights B&B plus evening meal (plus bottle of wine) deal at this charming Harrogate hotel. Situated diagonally opposite Betty's we were literally in the centre of Harrogate with no need of our car. We had free parking for 3 days in one of the hotel's allocated bays in front of the hotel! Fabulous food and excellent staff .... The latter were all very friendly but polite and professional .... Customer service second to none!! Hotel itself is a beautiful building but some areas are waiting for TLC .... Eg our room had modern bed head, curtains, wallpaper, plasma TV, modern bathroom suite but everything else needed updating. However, this did not spoil our weekend at all ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTaylor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for you kind words in your recent review on this website. We are all so pleased you enjoyed the food and felt looked after by the team. Over the coming months we do intend to make improvements to our bedrooms and we hope you come back at see us once were done.
Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a travel zoo voucher dinner bed and breakfast It's a bit tired and unfortunately we had our evening meal interrupted by the fire alarm.. We had to evacuate building came back in to no meal but was offered a replacement but by this time it was too late in the evening .. Had substitute whiskey instead only for alarm to go off again ! It's a faulty alarm we were told ! So off to bed.. To be awoken at 6 by you guessed it the fire alarm !! If it's faulty get it fixed !! They have a 24hr call out !! The firemen weren't to impressed never mind the guests.. Only apologies offered when checking out ! Bit under impressed to say the least. But Harrogate was fab and great Blues bar just across the road. It's a shame as the hotel is in a great location .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Yorkshire Hotel. We are genuinely sorry that your stay was interrupted by the Fire Alarm. We have the fire alarm system for the safety of all our guests and therefore need to treat every evacuation like it could be a real fire. We did call an engineer to have a look at the problem and he was able to fix it. Unfortunately this did happen in time to prevent further disruption.
We are sorry you had an interrupted night and do hope that this experience does not prevent you from returning to the Yorkshire Hotel.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on a special deal: dinner, bed and breakfast, with a bottle of wine with dinner. This was excellent value and the food was very good, both at dinner and the buffet breakfast (one of the best buffet cooked breakfasts we have had anywhere). The location could not be better, our third floor room was on the corner, looking out over the Stray and the war memorial. However, it was bitterly cold and windy, the windows were drafty and rattled, though the thick curtains helped at night. We came back from town at 5.30 pm to have a drink and didn't realise the bar was at the back, through the hotel restaurant. We thought it overlooked the Stray at the front, but nobody was in there, probably because of the cold draft blowing through. Husband went to investigate and found the maitre de in the restaurant who was very unwelcoming and he denied that there was an offer of 2 for 1 cocktails at that time of day. He said they used to do it but had stopped. In fact, there were signs in the lift and the toilets about the cocktail offer, and once through to the bar at the back, we were indeed served two excellent champagne cocktails for the price of one! The maitre de was much nicer and friendlier later on when we presented for dinner and he realised we were hotel guests. We felt the staff could generally have been a bit warmer. As other reviewers have said, the rooms could do with an update. Secondary double glazing would be good and the seating area overlooking the Stray should be made cosy and welcoming as that would be a much nicer place to sit with a coffee or a glass of wine than the bar at the back, which has no view and really caters for a much younger crowd than ourselves. This hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Stu_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. It brings great pleasure to read such positive comments about our food. I do apologize that you felt our team could have been a little friendlier. I can assure you that all heads of departments have had your comments passed on to them and they will be working to ensure all our guests receive a consistent high level of customer service.
We really do appreciate all guest feedback either positive or negative as without it we are unable to find ways of improving the standards and services we offer. I am happy to say that we are currently working on making the most of the seating area at the front to take advantage of our stray side position.
Please come back soon and see what we’ve done it would be lovely to see you again.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we arrived early friday evening, to a lovely warm welcome from the reception team, and this followed on for the rest of our stay. included in our price was a two course meal which was truly wonderful ........... wow compliments to the chefs and helpers my sea bass was amazing. a bottle of wine ( POSH ) one as well, and then of course our breakfast, this was the only slight downsize it was rather chaotic, lots of staff but no one seemed to be organised but on the whole after waiting for almost 10 mins to be seated we gave up waiting and just seated ourselves and then it was every man for himself not our idea of a good breakfast but once again the food won us over superb again thankyou. and finally our room was huge with a lovely view of Bettys of Harrogate very clean lots of little extras and very hot water always a bonus all in all a lovely friendly hotel. and we will return. well done to all of you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Mandy for such kind words and rave reviews of our food. We are really happy that on the whole you felt looked after by the team here at the Yorkshire.
I am sorry that you felt a little neglected during breakfast, I have passed your comments on to the Food & Beverage Manager who is making a few changes at breakfast to ensure all our guests receive the levels of service you felt from our reception team on arrival.
Please don’t wait too long to come back and see us all.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing