We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a shabby horror movie” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yorkshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a shabby horror movie”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lobby and exteria look the part, then hall and rooms really dank dark, stained and shabby. Lift is something out of a horror movie - real shame.
Also I book in advanced and payed well over the odds. Sure this hotel was once grand but you do wonder how they get away with trading when some areas are so bad

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsmith112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are genuinely sorry you felt your stay with us was so disappointing. We do appreciate the hotel needs a little tlc and as part of the new management team at the Yorkshire we aim to improve the bedrooms in the near future.
My biggest frustration is that we were unable to rectify the issues you had during your time with us.
We do hope that over the coming months you will give us another chance to show you just how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire Hotel can be.

Please call me personally when you want to come back. I hope to hear from you soon

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    598
    453
    198
    131
See reviews for
168
970
38
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The staff at this hotel are friendly and effecient. The hotel is a very old building and the bedrooms look a little tired although our room was kept very clean. The lounges and bar are more modern. We enjoyed breakfast which was adequate and a bonus was food and drink were not whisked away at the end allowing late comers to still able to find something to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for recent review and such kind words regarding the team. Here at the Yorkshire we pride ourselves on creating a real home from home environment and I am really pleased my team made such an impression.
Please come back and see us soon

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly the location is fabulous. The building is imposing and attractive. We enjoyed free parking for the whole weekend. The lobby / communal areas and modern and stylish and all the staff were friendly.

The room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The furniture was dated and a little rickety. The bathroom was especially tired, not the style expressed by the rest of the hotel. We were on the first floor rear and suffered with noise from local bars until late at night. Mainly to do with the single glazed sash window. There was also a stench of cigarette from the shower curtain of our non smoking room. Disappointing that the cleaner hadn't picked up on this, but easily rectified with a call to reception

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Serahbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are all sorry that your visit was not a complete success. Due to town centre location we do sometimes suffer from the noise of late night revelers.
I do sincerely apologise that the shower curtain had not been picked up by our housekeeping time but was happy to read that this was rectified as soon as it was brought to our attention.
The Yorkshire Hotel is an grand and historic building but in overdue much needed improvement, as part of the new management company it is our aim to look at making improvements across the whole hotel in the coming months.
We do hope you come back soon and see how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire can be.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights midweek. Great deal from buy a gift. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of town. We had magnificent view across the town as we had a room on the 4th floor.
1st impression of the room seemed very tired and in much need of a little TLC. There was a dodgy looking king size bed which we realised was in fact 2 singles pushed together, and 2 single quilts inside a king quilt cover, very odd looking as it had bumps in the middle, but in actual fact the bed was very comfortable.
The housekeeping staff need to be sorted out though. The dust on the bedside table was thick and also the hospitality tray still had empty sugar packets from previous residents. The spare pillows found in the wardrobe also had dirty cases on, they had obviously just shoved them away. I was lucky enough to find the trolley nearby and replaced them quickly.
Breakfast was poor on the 1st morning. The choice on the hot buffet was very bad, Bacon (which looked like it had been there since 7am and we were there at 9) Tasteless pink sausages. Scrambled eggs, luke warm beans and a few halves of grilled tomatoes. NO MUSHROOMS,NO HASH BROWNS,NO BLACK PUDDING! The 2nd morning the breakfast looked better cooked, but still very poor by todays standards especially in a Yorkshire hotel, and the tea was what can only be described as flavourless coloured water. Whatever happened to that strong Yorkshire Tea they are famous for?
We would have tried the restaurant, but judging by the standard of fare at breakfast decided to eat at the Slug and Lettuce across the road.
The saving grace is that the staff are helpful and friendly, and I believe it has been recently taken over, so hopefully there are improvements on the cards.

Room Tip: We had lovely views from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManDebKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you ManDebKen for getting in touch about your recent stay. We are really sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your time with us. I have personally spoken with our Housekeeping Manager to highlight the issues with cleanliness within your room, who has spent time retraining the team to ensure we provide a consistent level of cleanliness across all of our bedrooms.
As you mention in your review, the hotel has recently changed management companies and we do intend to make improvement across all elements of the guest experience. We are currently working on a new breakfast offering and then hope to turn our attention to making improvements to the bedrooms.
I do hope your recent experiences have not put you off returning to the Yorkshire for your next trip to Harrogate and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Harrogate is a great town and a perfect base from which to explore surrounding cities of York and Leeds. It has plenty of good restaurants , shops and hotels.

Unfortunately the Yorkshire really needs to improve its act. Good points - the location is excellent, less than five minutes from the rail station, opposite a fine park and Betty's celebrated tearooms. The Harrogate International Conference centre is about ten minutes away on foot, so should be good for business visitors. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and the exterior, with its iron balconies, is quite imposing. My room was quiet.

Bad points...the rooms are shabby and badly in need of complete refurbishment, not just a quick makeover with some "feature" wall paper. The basin in my room (331) was cracked, and the tap fittings old fashioned. The shower was very sensitive - it was easy to turn it up too hot, and so was potentially dangerous. The bath was stained and old, as though it had been painted at sometime. The furnishings were antiquated and dark. I spent as little time in the room as I could - easy enough, as the free wifi only worked once during the three days I was there, and I went to Debenhams coffee shop for their free wifi. The breakfast was miserable - a very poor selection, and horrible, watery machine-made coffee. Guests would be better opting for no breakfast and going to Betty's, Starbucks or any of the other numerous cafes nearby. The public areas are adequate, but could be so much better and more in keeping with the characterful exterior of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was happy to read you found the team to be friendly and welcoming.
Having recently taking over from the previous management company here at the Yorkshire we aim to start making improvements to the entire guest experience. This will include updating our bedrooms as well as an overhaul of our breakfast offering.
The Yorkshire Hotel is a grand historic hotel but in need of much over- due improvement, we do hope that over the coming months you will give us another chance to show you just how enjoyable a stay at the Yorkshire can be.

Please call me personally when you would like to come back. I hope to hear from you soon

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hubby and I have just stayed for a 2 nights B&B plus evening meal (plus bottle of wine) deal at this charming Harrogate hotel. Situated diagonally opposite Betty's we were literally in the centre of Harrogate with no need of our car. We had free parking for 3 days in one of the hotel's allocated bays in front of the hotel! Fabulous food and excellent staff .... The latter were all very friendly but polite and professional .... Customer service second to none!! Hotel itself is a beautiful building but some areas are waiting for TLC .... Eg our room had modern bed head, curtains, wallpaper, plasma TV, modern bathroom suite but everything else needed updating. However, this did not spoil our weekend at all ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTaylor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for you kind words in your recent review on this website. We are all so pleased you enjoyed the food and felt looked after by the team. Over the coming months we do intend to make improvements to our bedrooms and we hope you come back at see us once were done.
Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a travel zoo voucher dinner bed and breakfast It's a bit tired and unfortunately we had our evening meal interrupted by the fire alarm.. We had to evacuate building came back in to no meal but was offered a replacement but by this time it was too late in the evening .. Had substitute whiskey instead only for alarm to go off again ! It's a faulty alarm we were told ! So off to bed.. To be awoken at 6 by you guessed it the fire alarm !! If it's faulty get it fixed !! They have a 24hr call out !! The firemen weren't to impressed never mind the guests.. Only apologies offered when checking out ! Bit under impressed to say the least. But Harrogate was fab and great Blues bar just across the road. It's a shame as the hotel is in a great location .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Yorkshire Hotel. We are genuinely sorry that your stay was interrupted by the Fire Alarm. We have the fire alarm system for the safety of all our guests and therefore need to treat every evacuation like it could be a real fire. We did call an engineer to have a look at the problem and he was able to fix it. Unfortunately this did happen in time to prevent further disruption.
We are sorry you had an interrupted night and do hope that this experience does not prevent you from returning to the Yorkshire Hotel.

Chris Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing