We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed with a group on Cup Final day,were made welcome and the food and beverages manager? looked after our requirements., TV and drink setting us up in our own corner.
The hotel evening meal was excellent value with good choice and taste and presentation above expectation,it struck us as a shame that more residents had not availed themselves.

Bedroom was cosy beds comfortable the only downside being a floor to shoulder window in the bathroom,gave an excellent view sitting or standing ,there was a blind found next morning but judging by the dust no-one else had found it.

Excellent value for money with great service from front desk to leaving would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear John080,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. . I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    608
    462
    202
    132
See reviews for
170
991
39
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Yorkshire hotel based on traveller reviews and its ideal location. You really couldn’t find a more perfect location to explore Harrogate. It is very central indeed and importantly, it was just a few blocks walk from the Railway station. It is obliquely opposite Betty’s Tea rooms and a 5-minute stroll to shopping and the sights. It was also good value for the area at £80 for the night.

There was no one around to assist us with our luggage when we arrived to the hotel. The welcome reception was pretty dismal. No enthusiasm or joy from either of the front desk agents.

The hotel operates out of a historic building, the footprint of which began back in 1818. On the surface, the building definitely has a certain old world charm. But on closer inspection, it's a bit of a jumbled interior really.

They’ve clearly tried to make the old rooms look classy with the new wallpaper. But the rest of the décor gives it away really. The purple velvet throw pillows, headboard and chairs just look tacky rather than elegant. The upholstery was not only faded but so worn that there were visible tears and holes in the armchairs. There were stains on the carpeting as well.

The bathroom was updated with the black and white tiles. But there was a soap dispenser that did not work mounted on the wall, the cover of which kept falling off in the shower. They’re best to detach it altogether rather than keep it as a cumbersome decoration!

Strangely, the public areas like the lounge and brasserie have been done up nicely and they actually look fresh and modern.

The breakfast buffet was decent, served in the HG1 Brasserie/bar.

Our stay was just basic. Nothing special or unique that would set The Yorkshire apart from any other hotel. A shame really. With a little attention to its service, some effort to enhance the guests’ experience and to showcase the historical element of the property (which sits in a town filled with so much history), this could be a lovely destination hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear The_Concierge_8
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of arrival you received we always aim to give a friendly Yorkshire welcome on arrival but clearly this was not the case so please accept my apologies. We took over the operating of the Yorkshire Hotel in the early part of 2014 and we certainly over the next few years know we have to invest a lot of time and money so it will finally set us apart in Harrogate.
Thank you for your constructive comments.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Yorkshire hotel says in its brochure "Our hotel is quaint and quirky so expect the floors to creak" ( or something very similar) however I didn't also expect the bed to, or for there to be a hole in the door and the security chain too short to reach the bracket that was hanging from the door on one out of its four screws. To be fair to them, once I mentioned this to the reception staff it was fixed promptly, but why was it not dealt with before the room was booked? It had clearly been that way for some time. The room was tired and tatty with inadequate clothes storage and the shower head was at a vertical angle so that as soon as you used it the water hit the opposite wall and rushed round the edge of the tray and began filling up the bathroom floor leaving a lake to step into and a soaking mat. There was also completely inadequate parking available on a first come first served basis, which meant that if you were lucky enough to get one you would use your car again for fear of losing it. I paint a poor picture, I probably wouldn't go there again, but the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twopence4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Twopence4u,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the hotel I wish that you had raised this during your stay as we always try and resolve any shortfalls that our customers raise. The Car park is on the small size but thankfully there is plenty of off street parking. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had three nights at The Yorkshire, which was better than expected, having read previous comments! It is very central and great position for the town with its many shops. Our room was very spacious and clean with a large bathroom, yes it was tired but it was fine. We had a double aspect room with fabulous views of the park opposite, town and surrounding areas. The staff were helpful and friendly! Breakfast was ok with not too much choice, but adequate. Parking was free if you were lucky enough to get a space outside of the Hotel, but rather expensive if not. Would stay here again. We loved Harrogate and if you have time visit Knaresborough, it was stunning!

Room Tip: Had room number 412, great for views and spacious room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorquaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Torquay Sue,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and I could not agree more that when Knaresborough is so close it’s well worth a visit.
Kind Regards
Robert warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

After being surprised by my husband with overnight stay I was pleasantly surprised stayed in room 101
It was beautiful. Full of character
Breakfast was piping hot and plenty of
Straight across the road from Bettys Tea room too
Definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagough70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear lagough,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. . I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have just returned from a weekend stay at The Yorkshire. The setting is perfect and great views from the upper floors. The hotel requires a complete overhaul,and has great possibilities. Rooms are adequate and rather tired. Our bathroom had no soap or shower gel .
The reception,lounge ,bar and restaurant areas are clean and pleasant and the staff really friendly and provide excellent service.

We had an excellent dinner with wine at a very reasonable price and,again, very pleasant staff. Breakfast was a little disappointing with a modest selection of hot food. I requested a couple of fried eggs which took ten minutes to arrive and were seriously overdone. I saw many other examples too! Coffee is from a machine and rather unpleasant, but tea is properly served.

We had a very pleasant time and will return when renovations are completed, and I hope they keep the ground floor staff who are really good and give an excellent first impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors over reception have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1432lba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear 1432lba,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, even although you found breakfast to be a little disappointing. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at The Yorkshire for three nights recently on business and was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. The hotel is an impressive building in an excellent location in the centre of Harrogate. When we arrived I asked if there were any free upgrades available and was offered a massive room with a separate sitting area. The room had everything you would expect for a comfortable stay and was clean. The shower worked well as did everything else in the room. It was cleaned every day and any used items replaced. The breakfast was fine there was hot and cold food served buffet style. They did completely run out of yogurt before 730 one morning but they were overloaded with guests so I forgave them. The staff were friendly and polite and did their best to help at all times. I think its only fair to expect creaky floors and a bit of shabbiness when staying in a lovely old building like this. I am sure that with a little updating this will become a popular hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear morganmiller
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing