We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is quite possibly the worst place I have stayed in for years. Its a throw back to the 80's when there were a lot of tatty overpriced hotels around. The room smelt dreadful, still had old cigarette burns on the carpets, the bed creaked every time I moved, the fans from the service rooms are noisy and have kept me awake all night, the bathroom is vile..I havent seen such cheap nasty fittings in years. This hotel needs a major overhaul to bring it up to scratch. This type of hotel should not be in the centre of beautiful Harrogate.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Cheryl R,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the hotel I wish that you had raised this during your stay as we always try and resolve any shortfalls that our customers raise. We took over the operating of the Yorkshire Hotel in the early part of 2014 and we certainly over the next few years know we have to invest a lot of time and money so it will finally set us apart in Harrogate.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    629
    478
    209
    133
See reviews for
172
1,026
42
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a voucher deal. Not sure if this is why we were given such a small and poky room! Could hardly breathe in there let alone move around. Bathroom was so small you could wash your hands whilst sitting on the loo and after a shower had to go back into the bedroom in order to dry yourself off! Window opened onto an internal area surrounded by other rooms and blank walls. Parking is very difficult and on arriving back at 8.15pm from a day out we were unable to get into the hotel's car park so we asked the receptionist for the best place to park overnight, she directed us to a local multi storey car park. Having then negotiated the horrendous one way system in Harrogate we eventually found it to find out that it closed every day at 7.15pm!! Hotel staff should have this sort of information readily available as it must be an everyday occurrence. Breakfast was fine with a help yourself buffet and was well cooked and plentiful. Hotel was well situated within Harrogate and I suppose it could be ok if you got a decent room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickofthefens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear dickofthefens,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the mistakes we made, the service you received was not to our usual levels and was out of character. Having only started at the Hotel recently your comments are really appreciated. We are all sorry to read about your experience however I hope you can return to Yorkshire Hotel again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel has been remodeled, but the effort was not entirely successful. The colors are odd and the furniture is old and needs to be replaced. The beds aren't the most comfortable but are adequate. Overall, it's the great location that makes this hotel nice. Also, the restaurant was very good, serving a good liver pate and risotto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear luke h
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even though you found the rooms to be a little tired. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It was my sisters Hen weekend last weekend and we stayed here. The staff were very friendly and helped us with any questions we had, the rooms were great with plenty of space, comfy beds and the bathroom was spotless. We had 6 rooms and I seen them all, they were all nice. The breakfast had plenty of choice. The location was great right in the middle of harrogate and opposite Betty's tea room. We booked our weekend as a package so didn't have a choice in the hotel we stayed in but the company definitely chose a good hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear elin I,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we hope your sister’s wedding goes well.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to this hotel for a couple of nights as a wedding anniversary gift, as the title says, staff helpful, friendly and a very clean hotel. Absolutely central for all things in the centre of Harrogate, in a very nice position, the locals in shops and cafe's all so very friendly and polite. Down side, car parking even though it's free it is first come first in, so arrive early, park up get your permit and walk. The other small gripe, same evening food menu, and some things not available on breakfast menu. Would we recommend or stay again, yes no probs.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Stray, but that's a personal preference. Sadly in warm weather with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear IAN N,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Car park is on the small size but thankfully there is plenty of off street parking. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After travelling through picturesque country side travelling up from London, we stayed for the night at the Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate. This hotel has the feel of the past grandeur of hotels and was a delightful change from the sterile lodgings in London.

The rooms are very large, easily accommodating a large bed. The windows in the room looked out over the square and could be opened. The windows themselves were simple, single pane windows in wooden frames that could open up if you wanted. The room itself was somewhat dark with the high ceiling light fixture complete with low wattage light bulbs. The bed side lights that were afixed right over the headboard were as well low watt and one was unable to be adjusted to focus its light on the bed.

The bathroom is very large and again reflects the age of the establishment. When you run the water in the sink, you may hear a gurgle in the bathtub drain. No back flow just a gurgle occasionally. The shower was okay but it is a large step to get into and out of and takes a cautious step.

The wifi was an easy connect and reliable.

We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and can attest to it be good with not high or low points.

The location is right in the center of town and directly across from a large park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear NJTTravellingfool,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. . I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived early and our room was supposed to be ready, we were on the top floor front facing. As we entered that floor the cleaners were still busy and an empty bottle of wine was left outside our room.
The room was clean but very small in fact the bathroom was bigger!! Every inch of the room squeaked now I know this an old hotel (and we have stayed many times) but you couldn't even turn over in bed without it waking you up.
We booked a table for 8.30 the restaurant was busy and after been ignored from the only girl working for over 5 mins with no apology we were told the table was not ready, we waited a further 20 mins for the table to become available after been told the hotel was short staffed.
The meal it's self was ok but nothing to shout home about.
The other guests were very noisy and probably only sleep around 3 hours all night.
The only good thing to say was that the breakfast was very nice but limited cooked items, oh and the staff should learn the smile!!

As I say we have stated here many times but this has put me off going again.

We booked via easy breaks on a Sunday saver and defiantly got what we paid for!!!!??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilroysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Gilroysmith
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the hotel I wish that you had raised this during your stay as we always try and resolve any shortfalls that our customers raise. I am pleased this has not put you off from staying with us again and I am confident that on your next visit the shortfalls you have raised will have been addressed.

Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing