We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Harrogate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short break in Harrogate”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After reading some mixed reviews we contacted the hotel and asked for a quiet room which had been refurbished. We stayed here on the 4th Aug in room 207 and the room had an updated bathroom and a new bed. There was a lovely view across to the gardens, there was some traffic noise, which is only to be expected in a city centre hotel. but we did not find it intrusive. Self service breakfast was fine but we did not use the restaurant in the evening, choosing to go out instead. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we were able to park right outside the hotel free of charge for the entire stay. We would be happy to return and to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the best views and are quieter the higher floor you are on.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gill510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear gill510,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are really appreciated by all the team. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    615
    467
    202
    132
See reviews for
171
1,003
39
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel exterior created expectations which the hotel failed to meet. Rooms were tiny, lacking adequate space to open two suitcases. Carpet in the halls and rooms was worn and dirty, and the unevenness of the floor under the carpet gave concern as to the condition of the underlying structure. In July, the room was very hot, with A/C that did not work. Since we opened on to an inner courtyard, there was no breeze. Internet was advertised as being available, but did not work. The toilet ran continuously, and we were advised there was no maintenance person on duty. It was noisy enough to prevent sleep. On a positive note, the dining room was well appointed and the food was good. Reception staff was pleasant and helpful. Still, overall we found the hotel to be sub-par.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTCarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear OTCarter1
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your experience I do wish that you had raised your bedroom concerns with me whilst you were here as we would have tried our best to have addressed these issues. I was delighted to read your comments about the team and the food. Thank you for your comments.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Aside from the parking, the hotel is situated in a central location and the popular sites of Harrogate are within shouting distance. The hotel is clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and helpful. A recommended stay for such a beautiful part of the country. I recommend going to Knaresborough during your stay. A stunningly beautiful market town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Chris F,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I could not agree more with your comments about Knaresborough its stunning and great to visit on a Wednesday when its market day. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My partner and I booked into this hotel on the 21st July for 4 nights and we were somewhat fearful
after reading reviews about it. An hotel full of character well maintained clean very friendly and helpful staff. and in a great location best in Harrogate, Food was very good but could be a little more varied but for the money we paid for our stay could not be better.We had a nice room
even though it was on the back of the hotel maybe our next visit to harrogate we will stay here and with friends next time has we where checking this hotel out i hope we get front rooms. No I can!t understand some people who knocked this hotel to bits with what they said don!t be put off with the comments some people put,I think they are from another planet.

Room Tip: choose a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear jim y,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. Thank you for your kind words they are very much appreciated by me and the team. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a fabulous location in Harrogate, easy to walk to everywhere and in sight of the famous Betty's tea rooms. The downstairs bar and restaurant areas are lovely spaces but are, in my opinion, wasted. The lunch menu could be so much more as it is very basic. When you have La Tasca, pitcher and piano etc. at your back door and both are all full on a Saturday afternoon but you are empty, there's something amiss! Similarly the breakfast on Sunday morning was basic (but nice) and coffee machines and self toasting contraptions ruled. My friend and I would have loved to eat lunch here had the menu been appealing as it is a lovely bar,but opted for La Tasca instead.
Service is fine, all staff are lovely, polite and helpful.
Bedrooms are adequate for the money we paid and for a night it was fine. They are clean, functional and I have no complaints (for what we paid) but it could be so much more. It is a beautiful building and apparently fully booked when we stayed. The best things about this hotel is location, free parking and free internet and very reasonable rates for the room.


Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sammyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sammyE66,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I could not agree more with you on the lunch offering, we are currently designing a new menu which we hope to launch in the next 2 weeks which is a lot more exciting than the current offering and we are giving it a Yorkshire twist, and at the same time we are also reviewing the breakfast offering. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Hotel should be renovate 10 years ago! Rooms are so small, compact and OLD. As well as lifts in the Hotel. Only stayed there cause its was booked for Business, and until they renovate would not recommend to anybody who traveled around. Good Location as it is close to all bars, clubs etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bart 1303
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your experience I do wish that you had raised your bedroom concerns whilst you were here as we would have tried our best to have addressed these issues.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A prime location, and the only reason I gave this hotel an average rating, is because everything said regarding the rooms being tired and in much need of renovation is true. Having said that, they were spotlessly clean, and I understand that there is a plan by Freedom hotels who have taken this hotel over, to address this and the bedrooms will be a priority. where this hotel does excel is the staff, they are brilliant and cannot be faulted in any way.In particular thank you to Natasza on reception. As the hotel was not full, she gave us the choice of rooms, even a suite, we chose room 209 because it was the brightest, on the front, and with a good view over to Bettys Tea room and the parks opposite. A couple of housekeeping issues, reported to reception and in fairness we said not to be worried as we were only there for 2 nights. Wi fi was free, breakfast was good and plentiful, and the manager on duty was keen to ask for ideas on whether anything could be improved, so yes the staff were all very keen to please. Only one little fly in the ointment, hubby and I had a nightcap in the bar on our first night, and we felt that the tip of £1.50 which the barman took for himself was a little extravagant, so the second night we did not bother. No we are not tight, just 2 pensioners on a budget ! Please don't be put off by negative comments, if there is anything wrong tell someone on reception straight away, they will do their utmost to sort it for you. A couple of good eating places straight out the back of the hotel - try Banyans - excellent - but you may need to book !

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the courtyard and are darker than those at the front, we had 209 which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilab740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sheilab740,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. Freedom Hotels do now have a 3 year plan in place so there will be some renovations work over the coming months and years. I was so pleased to read your comments about Natasza and I have passed on your comments to her and she was pleased to receive them. With regards to the tip I can see why you might think £1.50 was a little on the high side having spoken to the guys last night as the cheapest drink is £1.80 if a customer offers them a drink they take £1.50, but moving forward it might be easier to take a pound. . I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing