We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, great service but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Yorkshire over the summer. It is well situated in the town and looks very grand outside. However, inside the hotel is very tired in terms of decoration.

We stayed on two occasions - the first staff could not do more and ran the extra mile but the second time was the opposite.

The food is very good and varied.

Perhaps the jewel for this hotel is the restaurant on the top floor which has stunning views across Harrogate

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneandChris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear AnneandChris9 ,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed in other hotels in the centre of Harrogate town and paid similar prices, however - despite reading the unfavorable reviews - it was quite a shock to see the high degree of lack of love and care of, what should be, a grand and glorious hotel. Of course I can imagine the terrific costs involved in keeping such a wonderful piece of architecture and history to its full glory, but the negligence and poor maintenance were obviously evident and this is such a crying shame. We paid £140 for a one night bed and breakfast stay in a double front of hotel room, and hoped that at least the room would be clean, adequately comfortable and with pleasant enough furnishings. Decoration within the hotel is bodged and appears to have been done by amatuers (sloppy painting, cracks and bumps papered over, silicon splodged) which really spoils the grandeur and potential for this hotel to look absolutely superb if treated with respect and pride and given a spruce up instead of a very cheap looking make over. As we expected (from the reviews) the bedroom furniture was dated and shabby, and the soft furnishings were tired and dirty looking, with the exception of the bed linen which was fine although there were small pellets of compacted fluff throughout the bed which I assume was from the tumble drying process of the bed linen. The mattress was surprisingly comfortable, i say surprisingly because there was a very large sunken area in each side and profound squeaks when sat upon, not to mention any attempt to roll over on it. The towels were clean but had small dull stains that had not previously washed out. The mugs on the tea tray were plain white chunky builders tea type mugs with cracks and stains, and there were tea splashes on the kettle and tray, and tarnished teaspoons. I guess the maids had to zoom in and out with a lick and a promise, even when making up rooms for the arrival of new guests, which does not help to keep the rooms spick and span. The side of the tv was covered in dust, and the lampshades needed a good dust or wipe round with a damp cloth too. Despite there being two of us in the room we only had one small shampoo and one small shower gel portion to share between the two of us - over the course of an afternoon/evening/following morning we obviously had two showers/baths each, so lucky I had brought my own products! The carpet in the corridor leading up to the room was rippled very very badly and by law of probability will certainly be the cause of an accident one day - this really should be looked at. Now for the good points .... we had a front facing room and it was lovely and quiet, some inconsiderate guests allowed their room doors to bang but the hospital cannot account for ignorant behaviour of guests. The hotel lay out tea, coffee and milk jugs downstairs in the drawing room to help yourselves to. The breakfast was very good, with an adequate and perhaps even good (though not exceeding) range of items. Checking in and out was fairly swift with only short queues when only one receptionist was on duty so she coped very well. All staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. The food in the restaurant (although we did not partake) looked very good from what I saw being delivered to diners whilst we were sat in the bar/dining area. Also, the free resident parking is a bonus as some hotels do charge for this. The information in the guest folder within the room was well laid out and explanatory, and mentioned that some further improvements are anticipated for the hotel. I do hope so because this beautiful and prestigious hotel should be just that, despite the economic recession, if you have something it should be looked after and cherished so that it can serve and please for centuries to come, so good luck to the owners and managers in their endeavours to restore cleanliness, quality and comfort into this place of rest and relaxation. xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rymer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Rymer2014,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service & Facilities to all of guests. We are currently working on a 3 year plan for the Hotel in terms of what areas from a refurbishment point of view that we need to undertake and this work should be starting towards the end of this year, so exciting times ahead. When we took over the operating of the hotel in the early part of 2014 we did so knowing that it was going to be a long journey to restore the building to its full potential whilst keeping its heritage intact but we feel that the building deserves it.
Thank you so much for all your comments and I do hope that on your next visit to Harrogate you come back and see us.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The pictures of the rooms of this hotel were taken in some other hotel. The bed was hard the pillows too soft and the room totally poor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was part of our CIE tour and they need to pick a different one next year.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justtraveing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

having read quite a few of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel far better than expected! Yes the building is old and yes if you want to find fault with the odd 'mark' on the carpet and 'creaky' bed dont bother going, but to us that just adds to its overall character. Now I am fussy about cleanliness but couldn't fault that, our room was spacious, front facing, overlooking the lovely gardens and bettys tea rooms. The staff were very polite and helpful and the evening meal we had in the restaurant was really nice, as was the breakfast the following morning. All in all we would recommend it for anyone looking for a break in a beautiful part of the country and plan to return. Now to the reviewer gail n, i remember when our children were young, we never had the time to examine the 'filth on the windows' ' rubble between the tiles where the grout should have been' or 'sink with green stuff' of any hotels/cottages we stayed in, we were far too busy enjoying the 'great outdoors', and we are happy to say they (our children) have taken their experiences with them into adult life, perhaps she should do the same:) Sorry if this sounds sarcastic but, to gail and women like her, just get on and enjoy the time with your children, they grow up and move on quickly enough!

Room Tip: front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Julie w ,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Yorkshire Hotel for one night. Rooms were quite expensive (£100+) and it wasn't too much more to upgrade to bed, breakfast and dinner in a feature room so that's what we did.

The hotel is in a fabulous location; right in the town centre and next to Betty's. The reception area was very pleasant and made a very good first impression. The lifts were in working order but were like being on a fairground ride - they're a bit quick and come to an abrupt halt so hold on tight!

I was disappointed when I stepped out of the lift. The corridor to our room was shabby and the carpets were stained - a stark contrast to the reception area. My disappointment grew when we entered our room. It was smaller than expected and the bathroom was rather tatty with peeling paintwork. If that was a feature room then I wouldn't like to stay in a standard room. If I pay over £100 for a one night stay then I expect the room to be in a good state of repair and decoration at the very least. On a positive note, the room did have the expected facilities (adequate storage, tea / coffee, hairdryer, trouser press and toiletries). The best feature of the room was the position: situated on a corner it had windows on 2 walls and overlooked Betty's.

I grumbled a bit about the room not being worth what we had paid for, however stopped grumbling as soon as we went for dinner. The restaurant was lovely, the staff were courteous and a 3 course meal was included in the price! The food was absolutely beautiful and the wine was reasonably priced. We ended our evening in the hotel bar which was very smart and a nice place to enjoy a glass of wine.

I did not sleep particularly well as it was quite noisy outside, however if you stay so close to town then noise is to be expected. Breakfast was buffet style and was good.

Overall summary:
Good points: location, staff, food.
Bad points: condition and quality of room in relation to price paid - it really wouldn't cost much to spruce up the room we stayed in.



Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Lisa 0
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your bedroom, all the points you have raised have all been noted. I was delighted to read that the Food & Beverage team did so well in looking after you at dinner and breakfast. Thank you for your comments.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here several times over summer. The location is great, right in the centre of Harrogate. I stayed in various ' feature' rooms. They were all large and overlooked the gardens. One drawback was the traffic noise. The rooms were in need of some refurbishment and cleaning could have been better- what looked like dogs hairs in one room but for the price I paid, it was acceptable and I would stay again, if in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear FSMorecambe,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments regards Housekeeping have been discussed and passed onto the team. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is ideal as a basic place to sleep and wash, but not for spending much time in. I wish I had read the comments here before our stay as I would have asked for a refurbished room. We were clearly not in one. We had a family room, which was a good size for 2 adults and 2 small children. It was cleanish, but there was some dust on the standing lampshade and lots of 'bits' on the floor and couches. Also the toilet was a bit smelly. The windows were filthy outside and in the frames, not sure how clean or not they were on the inside due to the filth outside!
The bathroom was in serious disrepair, with rubble between the tiles where the grout should have been, a huge crack in the sink which was smeared with some green stuff, also a big stain of something in the bath.
Walls of the rooms must be very thin as I was woken in the morning by the man and woman in the room next door having a conversation. They didn't seem to be talking in extra raised voices, but I could hear them clearly.
The room had been booked for the four of us but there was only a double and a single bed made up. When we realised the sofa was a sofa bed, I asked at reception for it to be made up and also passed on my concerns about the cleanliness of the room. The lady on reception was lovely and did her best to spruce up the room and make it smell better. It was much more welcoming on our return from tea.
The staff were all very pleasant and friendly and its a shame the rooms don't match up to the quality of staff. To the reviewer who thinks all people who give the hotel a poor review are from another planet, they obviously stayed in a room which was not in as poor disrepair as ours, lucky them. For the price of the room, I would not stay again purely because of the state of the room. This is a shame as the staff and location are perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear gail n,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are currently putting together a 3 year plan for the Hotel in terms of what areas from a refurbishment point of view that we need to undertake and this work should be starting towards the end of this year so exciting times ahead.
Thank you for your comments.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing