We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing break with good food”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We have just stayed @ The Yorkshire hotel for 3 nights with an Akkeron Hotels offer which was for 2 nights but we choose to stay an extra night and that turned out to be an excellent decision as the location, food, service and room were of a very good standard (room 503).
We must admit that the hotel was not full so we had the full attention of the staff at all times and our breakfast was freshly cooked to order from the kitchen. This is not the case when the hotel is full as then the breakfast is help yourself buffet style.

On our second day we decided to leave the car and travel by train into York, again another good decsion as the train fares had a 50% reduction thus only costing £5.40 each return @ 10mins past the hour after 10am.. I am sure I would have had to pay much more for parking in York.
I would like to thank all the staff @ The Yorkshire for the very friendly and efficient service.

Chris & Margaret, North Wales

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    629
    478
    209
    133
See reviews for
172
1,026
42
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel using the sun offer thinking whatever it was like it would be a bargain. We were a little concerned with all the bad reviews from previous guests. Well we arrived & although there was some maintainence work going on in the reception we found this to be of no discomfort to our stay. I am not sure if we were upgraded as we had said it was our wedding anniversary but we got the most fabulous room with a jacuzzi bath & wonderful period features. The only tiny gripe we had was it was freezing, the room seemed to only have one electric wall heater which is no use in a high ceiling period building with no double glazing but the staff had put an extra freestanding heater in the room which made it bearable.
The staff were lovely & friendly, we ate in the restaurant which was nice & had a quick drink in the bar.
The location of the hotel is second to none right in the middle of everything. On looking at the normal prices for this hotel I would have been happy to pay full price would we have not had a special offer discount voucher.
All in all I would say it was a lovely hotel & I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonecowper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

About 16 of us stayed the reason for our visit was a shooting party. The staff were more than helpful the rooms were warm and spacious clean bathrooms and everything little thing you could want, I forgot my toothbrush and one was sent up to my room along with extra fluffly towels. The whole experience was delightful. The bar is great fun and breakfast was hearty...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riddgehillbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Last week we spent two nights at the Yorkshire with six other couples.
The hotel, which is within walking distance of all the shops, is being modernised and the bedrooms are warm and attractive.
The food in the restaurant was very good at breakfast time and in the evening.
Thanks to the staff, who did everything in their power to make our stay most enjoyable, our reunion was a great success.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel again next year .

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed at The Yorkshire with a small group of friends and was very impressed overall. While the reviews which mention rooms needing some TLC are accurate, the building and bedrooms have great character, and this certainly does not detract from the overall experience.

Ideally situated for exploring Harrogate, this is a friendly and welcoming hotel with great staff who are more than happy to help. We ate in the restaurant which has a relaxed ambience, and really enjoyed it - bar is great too.

This is a really good 3 star hotel, and well worth considering if you are planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelexpert75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We found the staff very friendly, helpfil and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The choice and quality of food in the restaurant was excellent. The central location was superb, and our group of fourteen (friends for over 50 years) will be very happy to return in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David503938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for a third time next year.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over the period from 24 December for three nights. Food was very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our stay and would return to Harrogate in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing