We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for those without a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel for those without a car”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Our room was large, comfortable and reasonably quiet. The buffet breakfast wasn't kept hot enough on either day, but there was plenty of choice. Based on our experience, the most negative reviews here appear unjustified. Yes, some elements of the decor are tired, but we weren't expecting an ultra-modern hotel. One aspect, however, seriously spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay - the parking. 35 spaces for 80 rooms in such a desirable location is a recipe for disappointment, even if tightly managed. We were lucky on arrival, but had to use on-street parking overnight on the second day. The problem is not just the £12 daily cost, but the fact that parking anywhere near the hotel is limited to just 3 hours. A day spent 'enjoying' the town will therefore be punctuated by a regular hunt for a new space. Instead of enjoying a lie-in on Saturday morning, we had to set an alarm so that the car could be moved when the ticket expired. This is a serious drawback that needs to be addressed, perhaps by an advance booking system. If, however, you're travelling without a car, then we'd recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybeeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read your honest, fair and kind commentson the general standard of the hotel. I am however extremely sorry that the car parking spoilt your otherwise pleasant stay.
As stated the car park has 35 spaces and we advertise on all websites the limited numbers we operate on a 'first come first served basis' mainly due to the fact that the hotel is situated on a 2 way public highway with 24hr access this unfortunatley this does not allow for spaces we can mange by a barrier system or such like. We do however have a management company who fine non authorised users to protect the use for hotel residents only. I am sorry that on this occassion you were able to benefit from this free facility. I do hope that with or with out a car you would reconsider a return visit.
Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    630
    478
    209
    133
See reviews for
172
1,027
42
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel in Feb '11, for 2 nights, whilst on a conference. Room was a single and a little on the small side but you don't come to harrogate to stay in the room all day and night!

Clean room and warm.

Stunning breakfast - best mushrooms ever!

Would use again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmitchell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Yorkshire Hotel for two nights over a weekend and found it to be a good value place to stay. It is located within a two minute walk of Betty's Tea Rooms, and Montpellier Hill, and has complimentary parking for a limited number of cars at the front. The hotel is old, but the ground floor public areas have been modernised to a good standard. Our room was located on the 3rd floor (which looks a little tired in places) but was spacious and warm, despite the snow outside! The bathroom was nearly as big as the room itself, with decent shower pressure and plenty of hot water. The only negative to the room was the obvious water damage to a small section of wallpaper which had not been rectified. Our booking included breakfast which is served buffet style, with a reasonable choice of cereals & cold items, plus a regularly replenished cooked breakfast selection. One thing that stood out about our stay was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff we encountered, it made a nice change !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was sorry to read that your room had some water damage to the wall paper, we are currently continuing redecoration of bedrooms and items such as this will be rectified during this process. On a positive note I was extremely pleased to read how friendly and pleasent you found the hotel team.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed at the Yorkshire for 2 nights during a conference. Great location, especially if you want to visit Betty's - it's 5 mins away. However, alarm bells rang as soon as I arrived as the receptionist was taking a call from someone complaining about the size of their single room. Unfortunately I was given a single room too, which was one of the smallest I have ever seen - a single bed, in a narrow wedge-shaped room. As the room was so small, it was boiling hot and I had to turn the heater off. However, the bathroom - which was bigger than the bedroom - was freezing with plaster walls and only a heated towel rail to dry the towels you'll saturate mopping up water from the shower (as the shower curtain only covers the side of the bath, not the end where the shower sprays!)

But the worst thing about this room was the noise. Being an old hotel, it has noisy plumbing, creaky floors and no double glazing. This means that you can hear drunken shouting every night from the main streets below. I was also woken at 3am by someone running up the fire exit doors and slamming it (unfortunately right next to my bedroom door!)
Perfect for the station/centre of town, but only stay if you don't mind the noisy streets. And make sure you don't get a single room next to the fire exit!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunty_Burano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was most disapointed to read that you disatisfied with the single room allocated to you.

Having checked all single room reservations for the period of your stay it is apparent that all single rooms reservations were allocated on a single room for single occupancy basis and the rates paid reflected the chosen room type of all guests.

Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of room temperature in the bathroom and the apparent warmth of the bedroom. I am also very sorry you encountered several noise issues and I wish to assure you that if these had been brought to attention of the Duty Manager they would have endeavour to change your room.

Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Wow what a fantastic location and friendly staff at The Yorkshire Hotel. Fantastic value great room, i advise everybody to try the cocktails.... Especially the Dark & Stormy just like my stay very refreshing. i feel that all the staff are a credit to the Management they really are a great front for a wonderful break. Many Thanks for your hospitality,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We have just stayed @ The Yorkshire hotel for 3 nights with an Akkeron Hotels offer which was for 2 nights but we choose to stay an extra night and that turned out to be an excellent decision as the location, food, service and room were of a very good standard (room 503).
We must admit that the hotel was not full so we had the full attention of the staff at all times and our breakfast was freshly cooked to order from the kitchen. This is not the case when the hotel is full as then the breakfast is help yourself buffet style.

On our second day we decided to leave the car and travel by train into York, again another good decsion as the train fares had a 50% reduction thus only costing £5.40 each return @ 10mins past the hour after 10am.. I am sure I would have had to pay much more for parking in York.
I would like to thank all the staff @ The Yorkshire for the very friendly and efficient service.

Chris & Margaret, North Wales

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel using the sun offer thinking whatever it was like it would be a bargain. We were a little concerned with all the bad reviews from previous guests. Well we arrived & although there was some maintainence work going on in the reception we found this to be of no discomfort to our stay. I am not sure if we were upgraded as we had said it was our wedding anniversary but we got the most fabulous room with a jacuzzi bath & wonderful period features. The only tiny gripe we had was it was freezing, the room seemed to only have one electric wall heater which is no use in a high ceiling period building with no double glazing but the staff had put an extra freestanding heater in the room which made it bearable.
The staff were lovely & friendly, we ate in the restaurant which was nice & had a quick drink in the bar.
The location of the hotel is second to none right in the middle of everything. On looking at the normal prices for this hotel I would have been happy to pay full price would we have not had a special offer discount voucher.
All in all I would say it was a lovely hotel & I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonecowper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing