We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not hugely impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not hugely impressed”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I may be spoilt by the number of top flight international hotels I stay in on business... but this place seemed a bit shabby, pretentious and money grabbing - asking at check in if i wanted a paper and then charging me for it at checkout is just cheap! The room was small, way too hot and no air con. Breakfast very overpriced considering the 30 minute wait. A cracked sink in the bathroom is not impressive; neither is a door handle on the room that crushes your fingers against the lock when you open it from the inside. Trying to charge twice for breakfast when it was supposed to be already included in the room. I'll stop now.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotgreenfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    349
    195
    94
    49
See reviews for
94
648
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Met by courteous staff on arrival shown to room. Excellent facilities in room. Roll top bath and monsoon shower all excellent massive comfy bed. Breakfast different class so much choice and top quality produce well presented. Can't wait to come again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived to a pleasant and friendly check in before being shown to our suit. We stayed in the dom perrignon suite which was really spacious and had 2 roll top baths 2 monsoons showers and a nice sitting area with sky tv( including sky sports other half over the moon!) Our bed was so big 8ft!, and ridicously comfy. Everything we needed was here luxury and many comforts. We chose to eat in the bistro we we did last time and was not let let down. The staff are so knowledgable about the dishes and the wine on offer. Our food was presented well and tasted delicious. Overall the bistro is a very good choice to eat offering high class produce in a tastefully furnished restaurant. The only thing i didnt like was that there was no music which did annoy me a little even if it was just piano music its needs some!!! After dinner we sat in the bar and spoke to a lovely lady about different vodkas and learnt quite a lot, she was very friendly but proffesional as all the staff who go out of their way to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This hotel has been converted out of an attractive row of Harrogate's period houses. We had a standard first floor double front room (Brown Brothers) overlooking the Stray gardens. Because it faces west it became very hot during the afternoon, a Venetian blind or nets would have helped. The problem was not improved by only the bottom sash window being openable, and that only by a few inches. Sash windows are cleverly designed to open at the top & the bottom to allow circulation of air - the Victorians weren't stupid.
No other real problems, but at £120 night plus £10 car parking I wouldn't say that our modestly sized room was particularly good value. The staff were all friendly & helpful except for the maintenance man who rudely & wrongly told me that the fan in our room was not broken.(It was finally replaced.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Well located, Friendly, good decor, clean, exceedingly comfortable beds, late night bar, superb breakfast, parking. I would not hesitate to rebook should I be in Harrogate again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAD-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The room was described as a large double but was not much bigger than an average Premier Inn room and was awkwardly laid out with an old-fashioned CRT TV plonked on a table at the end of the bed blocking the window. It was very hot, with no air con just a heavy floor standing fan that was the noisiest I've ever heard. This meant we had to sleep with the window open and the noise from the road outside and pub next door kept us awake. We were also unlucky enough to be next to the lift and the housekeeper's room which was a further source of disturbance. I would have thought that a 'do not disturb' sign on the door would give the staff the hint not to stand outside chatting and using walkie talkies to communicate with other staff but obviously not because that's exactly what they did on both mornings.
We ate in the restaurant on Friday and the food was at best average, certainly nowhere near as good as in the Newcastle or York branches. I complained about the chips that came with my steak which were more like potato wedges and barely warm and, although the staff member was pleasant she didn't even apologise, never mind do anything about it.
When we came to check out they got the bill wrong, overcharging us for the meal, however it was corrected without argument.
The bed was very comfortable and the staff pleasant and friendly but the other things have really put me off what used to be my favourite hotel chain. I expected better from Hotel du Vin and think they need to take a good look at the standards in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Underwoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Great room , good breakfast , staff were friendly ,had to pay £10 extra for the car park

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing