We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service, but disappointing room.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good service, but disappointing room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

From the images on the website it appears to be quite plush and almost romantic but I found it to be more suited to business meetings. In fact around 60% of the people I saw at breakfast were businessmen/women.
The room I had was comfortable but practicalities hadn't really been considered. There were three mirrors, one above the sink and too far away to use to apply make up, one by the TV where there was no light and one by the the desk which was uncomfortable to use. The TV only had basic channels and BBC1 had static picture and just audio! Don't get me wrong I didn't go to stay in my room and watch TV but I missed the BBC news am and pm.
The staff on the whole were very friendly and professional, however, when we (my Mother and I) left not one of the three men on reception offered their assistance with our bags.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    335
    187
    94
    46
See reviews for
90
610
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancs Uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've just spent a weekend at this hotel and found the hotel to be welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. The general areas such as bar, restaurant and snug are very nice and the hotel is perfectly placed for shopping! The food in the restaurant was fine on the £35 for 2 menu and service friendly. Breakfasts were perfect.

Unfortunately the rooms are past their best and in need of a refurb. The room we were shown had a marked carpet, old tv on a chipped old table and a scratched desk. The walls showed signs of numerous scrapes on the paintwork.

There wasn't one big let down , just rather small disappointments. The bed and bedding were fine, the room just looked well, old. And at £160 a night for a front facing 'large' double I felt a little robbed.

Come on hotel owners! You are letting your staff down, get it decorated and brought up to date!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Size12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Had a great night. Loved Harrogate. Beautiful hotel. Great location. All the staff we're great. I'll return when next over this way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The room was average, the service average, everything was average about this hotel, a bit of a let down compared to other Malmaison's and Hotel du Vin's we have stayed in

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

When we arrived it was wet and windy, and we couldn't park! After rushing in, the young receptionist kindly dropped a bollard for a parking space and promptly vanished! The only problem being you couldn't fit a push bike in there let alone a car. Then we checked in, only to realise we had to walk back outside the hotel and along the path to the end of the hotel and down some dodgy steps into the basement, wet and windy and I'd just dragged the cases into the hotel lobby. They mentioned possible noise from above whilst booking but not that the room is kind of outside the hotel! We later went for dinner booked at 8:45 we arrived a total of 9 minutes early which seemed to upset the waitor as he was a little rude! The food was a good quality, although the drink's took forever and I receive a far better level of service visiting Mc Donalds let alone spening £175 pounds on a meal! They need to step it up! People won't continue to spend money and receive this level of service we definately won't.........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cannocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I believe I got a bargain when I managed to get a room (albeit midweek) for £100 BB. The service, attention to detail in the hotel and bar was faultless, even as a solo traveller. What a fantastic experience! I will definitely return, assuming I can get the same deal!!

Room Tip: Book via laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMG701
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a good quality hotel, which meets the standards that you would expect. However, is clearly at the more expensive end of hotels in the market.

Plus points include a nespresso machine in the room, a large bath and rain shower, with genuinely nice products to use in the room.

This being a hotel du vin, there is also an excellent selection of wine by the glass.

Breakfast was also good, with a range of menu options available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMG701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing