We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay on business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed for 5 nights earlier in the month on business on the first floor. Location was excellent - nowhere was more than a few minutes walk away.
Room was comfortable and very clean and included everything that I needed. Very comfortable bed with quality bedlinen. Very effective monsoon shower which I loved (better than the power shower at home). Excellent full sized toiletries. Fluffy bathrobes. Quality tea & coffee supplies and Nespresso machine. TV quality (normal channels plus SKY sports) was not great. Free WIFI in the room.
Did not eat in the hotel as the tables were quite close to one another and I preferred to eat elsewhere.
Only downside was that reception did not have any record of the prepayment of the room from the booking agent and I had to contact them as the young chap on reception didn't know how to resolve this. Otherwise, this was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Brown Brothers room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    341
    189
    95
    46
See reviews for
91
621
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had a lovely nights stay for our anniversary on 30 September 2011. We booked the big double room at the front of the hotel with the deal that gives each guest a 2 course meal plus a bottle of wine and coffees at the bistro.

The food was to a good standard and the service was efficient. We both loved the chicken liver parfait started and the mains of steak and confit duck leg were excellent too. We spent a bit extra so we could have pudding but whilst the lemon tart was well cooked it didn't taste of lemon at all!

The room was spacious, smart and clean with a massive bed that was really comfy. The bathroom was very smart too and the freestanding bath added more luxury.

Also the hotel is 5 minutes walk from all the attractions in Harrogate. We went to the Turkish baths and browsed the shops before driving about half an hour to fountains abbey near rippon.

Overall we had a great stay and would visit again :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrietstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

From the images on the website it appears to be quite plush and almost romantic but I found it to be more suited to business meetings. In fact around 60% of the people I saw at breakfast were businessmen/women.
The room I had was comfortable but practicalities hadn't really been considered. There were three mirrors, one above the sink and too far away to use to apply make up, one by the TV where there was no light and one by the the desk which was uncomfortable to use. The TV only had basic channels and BBC1 had static picture and just audio! Don't get me wrong I didn't go to stay in my room and watch TV but I missed the BBC news am and pm.
The staff on the whole were very friendly and professional, however, when we (my Mother and I) left not one of the three men on reception offered their assistance with our bags.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs Uk
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've just spent a weekend at this hotel and found the hotel to be welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. The general areas such as bar, restaurant and snug are very nice and the hotel is perfectly placed for shopping! The food in the restaurant was fine on the £35 for 2 menu and service friendly. Breakfasts were perfect.

Unfortunately the rooms are past their best and in need of a refurb. The room we were shown had a marked carpet, old tv on a chipped old table and a scratched desk. The walls showed signs of numerous scrapes on the paintwork.

There wasn't one big let down , just rather small disappointments. The bed and bedding were fine, the room just looked well, old. And at £160 a night for a front facing 'large' double I felt a little robbed.

Come on hotel owners! You are letting your staff down, get it decorated and brought up to date!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Size12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Had a great night. Loved Harrogate. Beautiful hotel. Great location. All the staff we're great. I'll return when next over this way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The room was average, the service average, everything was average about this hotel, a bit of a let down compared to other Malmaison's and Hotel du Vin's we have stayed in

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

When we arrived it was wet and windy, and we couldn't park! After rushing in, the young receptionist kindly dropped a bollard for a parking space and promptly vanished! The only problem being you couldn't fit a push bike in there let alone a car. Then we checked in, only to realise we had to walk back outside the hotel and along the path to the end of the hotel and down some dodgy steps into the basement, wet and windy and I'd just dragged the cases into the hotel lobby. They mentioned possible noise from above whilst booking but not that the room is kind of outside the hotel! We later went for dinner booked at 8:45 we arrived a total of 9 minutes early which seemed to upset the waitor as he was a little rude! The food was a good quality, although the drink's took forever and I receive a far better level of service visiting Mc Donalds let alone spening £175 pounds on a meal! They need to step it up! People won't continue to spend money and receive this level of service we definately won't.........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cannocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing