We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than many others in the chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than many others in the chain”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

this is one of favourite HDV hotels due to the location and excellent rooms nad have had many hapy days here-the parking is the only point that lets it down and can be challenging if its cold and wet so get organised on that front before you arrive-lovely building and great location in this great town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandTravelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    342
    190
    95
    46
See reviews for
91
628
22
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Third stay here at this fantastic hotel. great central location. The staff are all so attentive and make you feel really welcome. As soon as we arrived they organised a parking space for us for the duration of our stay. The rooms are excellent and spacious and the suites are even better, some even with balconies. The bistro was excellent and food was cooked to order even food that wasn't on the menu that we requested they cooked for us, the restaurant staff was able to accomodate all needs and was very pleasent. The bar area was warm and friendly. We accidently left some items behind in our room and they posted them back to us free of charge. overall a great hotel. can't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamLisa_dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

They need to get this sorted. It is obviously an issue in Harrogate but the reception staff need to find a way to be more helpful. We arrived after midnight and the night staff were fabulous. Not so the day staff. Garbled directions to the back of the hotel with an assumption that you had a good knowledge of Harrogate. No umbrellas to get to your car and a feeling that it was our problem that there was no parking.
The room was good - fantastic shower - but a breakfast buffet needs to be constantly replenished and it wasn't. It could be really good hotel with a bit more thought. And an ethos that you are there for the customer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshirebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

When we arrived a parking space was quickly found for us, by a helpful receptionist, and we were assisted with our bags by a guy that turned out to be the manager! The room, on the front, was both interesting and comfortable (real milk in the fridge) with magazines to read. We had both breakfast and dinner during our two night stay - all of which were excellent (new chef six months ago). The Wednesday night steak special was both tasty and cooked to perfection.

It was well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room on the front above the restaurant was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank take55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

not quite up to scratch. Disappointing aspects included:
chaotic booking- website didn't work, had to chase several times to get confirmation of telephone booking
awful car parking- only compact cars catered for- but many large cars taking up more than one space- redraw spaces and have proper system!
no offer of help with bags
chaotic service for us and others both breakfasts including returning 2 dishes (uncooked/ wrong order) and being served at different times from my companion.
room fine but lighting bit dark for reading lovely magazines left in room
room, toiletries, tea and coffee good- but why no biscuits?
altough we had put dinner tip on bill- charged service again when checking out
Barking dog in a bedroom

Could be great- but wasn't on this occasion......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed for a weekend in October 2011, booking a large double rear-facing room. Initially allocated a ground floor room with no window (glazed door only) and were then moved to a first floor room with no view. Room was large, bed and shower brilliant. However the washbasin was cracked and the TV must have been several years old (silver, square, heavy). We had to ask for a desk lamp to be provided. There was only one chair and the room needed redecorating. When we left we mentioned the shortcomings of the room to the receptionist. He informed us that the hotel was to be refurbished in November, which was not much comfort to us. We had a very disappointing stay in what we considered to be an overpriced room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingtonduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed for 5 nights earlier in the month on business on the first floor. Location was excellent - nowhere was more than a few minutes walk away.
Room was comfortable and very clean and included everything that I needed. Very comfortable bed with quality bedlinen. Very effective monsoon shower which I loved (better than the power shower at home). Excellent full sized toiletries. Fluffy bathrobes. Quality tea & coffee supplies and Nespresso machine. TV quality (normal channels plus SKY sports) was not great. Free WIFI in the room.
Did not eat in the hotel as the tables were quite close to one another and I preferred to eat elsewhere.
Only downside was that reception did not have any record of the prepayment of the room from the booking agent and I had to contact them as the young chap on reception didn't know how to resolve this. Otherwise, this was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Brown Brothers room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing