We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013 for our mini honeymoon and had a great time. We received two complimentary glasses of champagne on arrival, which was lovely and had a huge, comy front facing room. We parked in the hotel car parking which was £10 per day, but worth it for no hassle and they reserve your space for you. The hotel is very tastefully decorated with lovely Miller Harris toiletries and nesspresso coffee. The bathroom has a roll topbath and robes for you to use. All in all perfect for relaxing.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant, the meal was very tasty indeed and the sommelier helped us choose a lovely bottle of wine and we had a couple of free tastings too! As we stayed Sunday and Monday, we took up the Sunday offer of spend £75 on a meal and only pay an extra £25 for the room, this was excellent value for money. Breakfast the following day was also great and offered a good selection.

The hotel is in a central location and I would highly recommend it and cannot wait to go back for our one year anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, as they are very spacious and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopulou1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Congratulations.
Wonderful to hear that you spent your mini honeymoon with us and we were able to make it a special and memorable occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st anniversary and in the meantime, enjoy your first Christmas together as a married couple.
Warm regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    349
    195
    94
    49
See reviews for
93
648
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

stayed at this hotel for two nights for a wedding . rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was good at on the Friday morning.


Unfortunatley, as the hotel was full there wasnt a menu for the saturday and ive never liked buffet food.

alcohol was very expensive as you would expect of harrogate . overall, a lovely hotel if your feeling like splashing out!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the suites in the top of the hotel, which was beautiful although all rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodleweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your post and good to see you were part of the E&D's exclusive wedding on the Friday, which certainly was a great event with a lovely couple.
As the bridal party had paid to take over the whole hotel for their special day and they expected everyone to have breakfast together, a buffet breakfast was provided on request. Normally we provide a menu no matter if we are full or not. So next time, whichever HdV you choose it will be a menu and not a hot buffet, unless it's exclusive again of course!
Thank you again.
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed in both a suite & a 'standard' room & both were stunning, absolutely gorgeous, I would stay again in a heart beat. The bathrooms are lush, I loved the showers & the bath. The bed is comfortable. I did not eat much in the restaurant but what I did have, I have no complaints.

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter but the suites are just extra comfortable if you don't mind pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen24091981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
A pleasure as always to receive a glowing post and appreciated by the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay and were upgraded to a Superior room for an extra £15 per night which we recommend. The welcome was great and the Bistro staff were professional and very amenable. We will definitely stay again however, a little more diligence is required with regards to the deep cleaning standards of the rooms. Hand marks on paintwork, stains on cushions, toothpaste & soap stains on the tiled floor and the bathroom blinds repaired with masking tape took the edge off what was otherwise a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_Firth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
It's always great to receive positive and constructive feedback; so thank you for this.
It is even more pleasing to see that our guests enjoy the experience and the team offered the hospitality that we thrive on.
On the other hand there is no excuse for poor housekeeping and this will be rectified, especially the blind, once I locate it.
Thank you once again and have a great festive season.
Kind regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for a few nights late October, excellent location, service great. Rooms were lovely.
Thanks for making our stay amazing . Short walking distance from Betty's and even rhs Harlow Carr would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delani83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your post. It really is much appreciated and I am so glad to see you had a fantastic time at the hotel and in Harrogate.

Maybe we will see you again for your Christmas shopping! In the meantime have a great weekend.

Kind regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a night here to celebrate our anniversary. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely soft furnishings. The staff looked after us very well and we had a lovely meal. It was not cheap, but then you do pay for quality. It is very central too which is a big selling point.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nariall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Happy Anniversary to you both.
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate at and for taking the time to share your positive experience.
We are lucky with our location and being in Harrogate as you say.
I hope to welcome you both back again in the future.
Warm regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited Sunday 27th October 2013. Service a bit slow but otherwise this was a really nice meal. The fish market course was wonderful with so many things to choose from and the dessert choices were also wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShesheW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good afternoon,
I am so pleased you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch. it really is becoming the talking point of the town.
With 4 courses, including the Cold choice Market table and Hot main course, the theme is one of relaxed decadence and a family Sunday lazy lunch.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing