We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Day”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Even though we live in Derby, we chose the Hotel du Vin in Harrogate for our wedding because the atmosphere and vibe suited exactly what we were looking for.

We could not have asked for better service; nothing was ever too much trouble for Debbi whilst organising it, we had the restaurant to ourselves for our menu tasting, and the wedding day itself went perfectly. Nathan ran the day with a very smooth quiet professionalism; he was there, but he wasn't there, and he made sure everything was done before we ever had to ask or remind anyone.

The food was excellent, the service good, and the staff went out of their way to help and make sure our weekend was extra special. For example, Sommelier Mark even used his contacts to organise us a private tour of the Te Mata winery in New Zealand on our honeymoon as we were staying nearby.

Overall, a massive thank you to the staff and the hotel for making our wedding the day to remember it should be.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    349
    195
    94
    49
See reviews for
94
648
22
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Upgraded to a slightly better room which has a roll top bath. Lovely room, monsoon shower with separate WC. Bed was comfy. There is no AC which is fine now but might be a problem in summer.

Slight confusion because we booked online for a minimum spend meal in the restaurant there and booked that in for lunch. When we got there there was no record of us booking in for lunch and apparently it's really only a dinner offer - so maybe check with a call if you're planning setting like that. The Sunday brunch was fantastic value for money with soup followed by a seafood and cured meat buffet then main course and desert.

Easy walk to station and across from Betty's tea shop. The wine list is excellent.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade to get the roll top bath it really is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My second stay in a Hotel owned by this group, and again I'm left disappointed. Over priced for what you get, rooms are extremely average bordering on shabby. The positive side of the hotel is it's staff, very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was nice and food was good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandSharon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed at 5 HDV's over the years, many times in Birmingham and all with MASSIVE rooms. This room in Harrogate was on the first floor at the rear, it lets the brand down so badly, it should not be sold at any price. Two people could not pass at any point and to make matters much worse the bed has one of those frames that is bigger than the mattress in all directions, making shins very sore. It is quite frankly a depressing little afterthought of a room, not worthy.

But it did have a floor standing fan (in February) the size of Frank Bruno taking up much of the space, very odd.

Room Rating 1.
Meal Rating 4.

And please can HDV put some lights in the drinks cupboards of all of their hotels.

Room Tip: Just ask for any other than the reviewed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is my 3rd visit to this particular DU VIN hotel and is one of my favourite of the small du vin chain, it was a last minute booking and was lucky to get two rooms for myself and business partner as it was still valentines weekend and the hotel was very busy, however the staff looked after us very well with top attentive service, my room was a study room and I have to say different and querky, we did manage one upgrade and was great to be recognised from previous visits,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

All staff very welcoming and professional, very good room ( Superior - overlooking the Stray), good meals (dinner and breakfast). Stayed here before - great location near centre of town and well situated for all attractions. Only down side is having to pay extra (£10 per night) to park in miniscule parking space on the street (the plus side of this is that it is immediately at the front of the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel du vin for our valentines day wedding
The food was very good as we're the wines
But what stood out was the exceptional service from some very nice people
Thanks go to Grant , Mark and the team
Special mentions for Peter and Kevin
Thanks to you all for making our special day wonderful

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bryan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing