We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Couple of negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed the 1st March for one night in Superior room on DB&B rate. Great location. Emailed ahead for a room looking over the Green which was granted. Thanks. Room was spacious, well appointed with a lovely bathroom. Decor is fine but could be improved. All equipment you'd need. Restaurant and meal was excellent. Great ambience and service was good. Food excellent and could not be faulted.
Negatives - no coffee sachets in the room other than espresso machine and by the time we wanted a cup on Sunday morning it was too late. I'm sure they'd have sent one up if we'd have phones but attention to details means this shouldn't have happened. Minor point but noteworthy. Main negative. The meal was great but adding a £28 service charge was cheeky. We asked for this to be removed so we could tip the excellent waitress which they did. However it was annoying to find that when we came to check out it had been sneakily added back onto the bill!! Hopefully this was in error but if not it was downright dishonest and took the shine off. Be wary!

In summary it was a lovely stay and wholeheartedly recommended. I will definitely stay here again when coming to Harrogate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I took advantage of a midweek offer on the HdV website for a birthday treat and it was certainly extremely good value for money. We were upgraded to a superior room which was excellent with a wonderful view of the Stray. The service was very good indeed throughout our visit and nothing was too much trouble. As part of the offer we had a three course meal with wine in the dining room - which again was of a very good standard, as was the breakfast the following morning. This hotel is sited in a really good position for the shops and attractions of Harrogate. We have stayed here on a few occasions and have always had a great stay - but would agree with others, that charging for car parking is somewhat punitive. But a great choice in all other respects.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have been visiting Hotel du Vin properties since the first one opened in Winchester many years ago, often for wine dinners. This was our second time in Harrogate and the hotel is kept in good condition. One advantage of booking a wine dinner is that they offer you a room at a substantial discount (in this case 50%). We had a room on the second floor overlooking the gardens, which was a little smaller than is usual at HdV and had a monsoon shower over the bath (use the rubber mat, otherwise its very slippery).
The wine dinner was in a private room, with about 20 guests, and featured Cullen wines from Western Australia. Ellen Cullen, the granddaughter of the founders, was there to introduce them. We tried two whites and two reds, plus a dessert wine, all served course by course with fantastic food. The chef got a big round of applause afterwards, as did Ellen. Everything was organised perfectly by Mark, the sommelier.
We enjoyed a good night's sleep, and our room rate included breakfast, which was very tasty. They were happy to look after our bags until the afternoon, while we went off exploring Harrogate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a very disappointing overnight stay
We had booked a one night package including upgraded room, evening meal and breakfast.
The room was sorely in need of a refurb and the evening meal was from a very limited menu.
Beware the car park charged at £10 per day with bays so narrow it is impossible to access and egress your car.
Proof of this is my car door is now scratched in two places and not by myself.
The staff are polite and friendly and deserve better.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPIDERCORKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Even though we live in Derby, we chose the Hotel du Vin in Harrogate for our wedding because the atmosphere and vibe suited exactly what we were looking for.

We could not have asked for better service; nothing was ever too much trouble for Debbi whilst organising it, we had the restaurant to ourselves for our menu tasting, and the wedding day itself went perfectly. Nathan ran the day with a very smooth quiet professionalism; he was there, but he wasn't there, and he made sure everything was done before we ever had to ask or remind anyone.

The food was excellent, the service good, and the staff went out of their way to help and make sure our weekend was extra special. For example, Sommelier Mark even used his contacts to organise us a private tour of the Te Mata winery in New Zealand on our honeymoon as we were staying nearby.

Overall, a massive thank you to the staff and the hotel for making our wedding the day to remember it should be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Upgraded to a slightly better room which has a roll top bath. Lovely room, monsoon shower with separate WC. Bed was comfy. There is no AC which is fine now but might be a problem in summer.

Slight confusion because we booked online for a minimum spend meal in the restaurant there and booked that in for lunch. When we got there there was no record of us booking in for lunch and apparently it's really only a dinner offer - so maybe check with a call if you're planning setting like that. The Sunday brunch was fantastic value for money with soup followed by a seafood and cured meat buffet then main course and desert.

Easy walk to station and across from Betty's tea shop. The wine list is excellent.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade to get the roll top bath it really is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My second stay in a Hotel owned by this group, and again I'm left disappointed. Over priced for what you get, rooms are extremely average bordering on shabby. The positive side of the hotel is it's staff, very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was nice and food was good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandSharon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £73 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing