We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Mayfair!........but only on PRICES!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like Mayfair!........but only on PRICES!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Following a function, I stayed overnight at this hotel. It seemed a pleasant weekend retreat, though expensive for what was offered. Having grabbed the final parking spot of the 6 or so on offer, I was disgusted to be charged £10 for a night's use. It seems to me that since this narrow strip of backyard is, at best, limited as a revenue raiser, more cache would be won by "treating" guests on a 'first come, first served' basis.
I ordered a medium-size caputino & paid £3.75. No snacks available at 15.00hrs!

The room, which the clerk told me, was the best, was disappointing: small, 'worn', with a bathroom that appeared to beg to be maintained by professional people. It was, predominately, in the quality of the finish....e.g.silicone sealant looking as though it had been applied by spoon!

As so often hotels are judged by the services offered. Hotel du Vin, Harrogate, is such an hotel.
The Reception staff are first-rate; the table service, good; the bed, comfortable; the tariff, high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear BD H,

thank you for your recent review on our Hotel.

I am very sorry to read you did have a few points that you did disapprove off.
We do however serve snacks all day and we do have a 24hr room service menu.

Parking in Harrogate is very limited and expensive and we do offer a very good value option to our guest.

I do note your comments about our bathroom product which we are currently addressing.

If I may ask you to contact me directly next time you are planning tio stay with us so I may do something special for you.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    342
    191
    95
    47
See reviews for
91
633
22
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night in a "ground leve"l room should read Basement level. Room itself was as you would expect well appointed with a nice bath & shower etc.

Whilst booking I was warned that there was a slight chance that they'd be some slight noise, what it should of said was that the room is directly below the reception area and staircase and there was a 100% chance of hearing most of the movement above you. I came in late but even then at 2am you could hear staff moving about above you. I was woken at 6.30am by lots more noise which continued throughout the time spent in the room. I did say when I checked out that the description was misleading and the receptionist agreed with me but seemed oblivious to the fact I'd had a bad nights sleep on the back of it, she did knock off a £3 pack of biscuits I'd had though not really what I was looking for, if you were staying in a Premier Inn and had had that amount of noise you'd have been given the night free obviously 5* hotels are above that.

I had breakfast and the food was fine but all 3 of the people sat near me and myself had to ask a waitress for our hot food order to be taken, the lady to one side gave the waitress a fairly specific order for cooked breakfast, which she initially tried to memorise but after the 3rd incorrect go was finally written down at which stage the waitress walked off and hadn't even asked the ladies partner whether he wanted anything so they had to ask her to come back to take his order. Not great customer service, personally I'd stay @ Rudding Park if I had to stay in Harrogate again.

Room Tip: Do not go for either of the two "ground level" rooms if you wish to have a good nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnytheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Johnytheboy,

thank you for your review on Hotel du Vin Harrogate. I am very disappointed to read that you did not have a great experience and bad nights sleep.

If you like to give me a call on 07826 672093 I would be happy to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as attending a birthday do.
Had Pol Roger loft suite which was nice.
Food in bistro was very poor, need an overhaul of staff
As most of them were kids who didn't have a clue.
Receptionist had filthy uniform which I found shocking .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blackpool200067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Blackpool20067,

thank you for your review on Hotel, it saddens me to read that you were not totally happy.
Please do accept my apologies for this. If you like to give me a call I would be happy to discuss this further. (07826 672093)

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

.

Toilet didn't flush properly. Shower dripping.

Breakfast - Shortage of staff - very slow service, had to keep chasing. Steak and egg tasted like plastic. Bread not toasted properly. Staff not keeping an eye on the buffet which was not kept topped up - no milk, no juices, no cereal bowls an hour and a half before breakfast closed.

Room Tip: Do not have a standard room as not worth the money - either have a superior room or don't stay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Spike,

thank you for your review and valid points, we have since spoken and resolved the points you raised.

I hope the next time you are staying with us to apologise in person.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we booked a 2 night break in the basement room-the hotel website says "on occasion may be subject to some slight noise disturbance"-the reality is that the noise is almost constant

the basement rooms are well furnished and if money was spent on acoustic flooring would be worth staying in. However the rooms above are the restaurants and bars which have wooden flooring. This means that footsteps above are amplified and it sounds as if a herd of elephants are parading above.

We went to bed 11pm-late for us ,after a couple of drinks in the comfortable hotel bar, by this time the restaurant was closing-however we lay in bed for the next hour listening to the thuds above as the waiting staff cleared up and set up for the next morning-by midnight we had to phone reception and the noise stopped until 7.30 the next morning with the start of breakfast!

I went to reception and reported our concerns ,initially she said there were no standard rooms to transfer us to but when I said we would then be checking out a day early she said she would have a word with the hotel manager. He came on duty 10am,meanwhile the herd of elephants continued to rampage upstairs!
We were given a complimentary upgrade to a loft room which was quirky and quiet but worth the price tag of over £100 per night more?!

At £125 per night room only the basement rooms are £20 less than standard rooms so are not a bargain and am surprised there are not a lot more complaints.

As to the rest of the hotel we liked the quirky layout and décor
I used the spa facilities for a spring break £55 treatment of facial and massage. That was reasonable price when compared to the standard cost of treatments.
Location of the hotel is ideal in the centre of Harrogate but means parking is limited-we secured one of the hotels car parking spots in front of the hotel at £10 per night
We didn't eat in the hotel finding more reasonable priced restaurants nearby, in fact Harrogate offers a variety of places to eat and drink catering for all tastes.

all in all a nice hotel but very overpriced .I would return if there were a special offer but would not take a basement room again if it were free!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Canadabound,

Thank you for your review in regard your stay with us in Harrogate. I do note all your points and will address these were I can. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

If you like to discuss this further please do give me a call on 07826 672093.

Regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just come back from the Hotel Du Vin Harrogate wine evening with Olly Smith on the 27th April. What an absolutely fantastic evening. The food was fabulous as was the wine and the whole experience was excellent. The staff were attentive and couldn't do enough from the champagne reception to the serving of coffee at the end. Fabulous, Olly Smith was great fun and very sociable and made the evening the success it was. We met some lovely people both on our table and off it. I would recommend attending any future events with Olly within this hotel group. I will certainly go back if they do anymore. Best evening we have had for a long time and good value for money. The hotel itself was very nice and couldn't fault the decor or the facilities or staff. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Shaunus,

Thank you for your review and fantastic to read you had such a great time.
We hope we can look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
527 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have visited several Hotel Du Vins over the years and have always left them feeling satisfied,and the Harrogate branch is no exceptition. All the staff are very friendly and create a very relaxed and informal atmosphere,and this always encourages us to visit again. We dined in the bistro as well,and once again the food left us more than satisfied. There were a couple of minor issues during our stay,but hey ho,things happen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sunlunlad,

Thank you for your very positive review and hope you see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing