We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality and classy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was lovely, smallish room, but well equipped and the bed and linen were, as usual, great. Food, breakfast and dinner, were generally really good. A hiccup with dinner was swiftly and well resolved, and breakfast was great, although I'd avoid the carrot and ginger sausages!
Generally, really good. Staff were really pleasant and helpful.
We had a back room, which was great, although bins collected early in the morning from places over the road were a bit of a pain - not that the hotel can do anything about that!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear PhilBath,

thank you for your very recent review and great to read that you had a positive stay with us.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has a very very special place in my life as it's where my husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding (and subsequent anniversary). Food and (as you'd expect) wine -- is impeccable and the rooms are really something special. Such amazing attention to detail. For me this place simply oozes luxury. I haven't tried the spa, but have heard good things. For location, you simply can't beat it! But the best part of the stay(s), has to be the staff. Everyone is so helpful, and genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay. We had the pleasure of working with the events coordinator, who so friendly and professional. Wedding was perfect, and our stay was the best way to start the honeymoon. Every time we return we feel like we're having a little piece of that special day again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chrysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Chrysgirl,

Congratulations again and very pleased to read we continue to provide you with excellent service and keep exceeding your expectations. I am sure next time you come and visit our Spa you will be able to write another positive review.

Thank you again and look forward welcoming you back soon.

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked with hdv after a really bad experience with malmaison .... As we received a gift voucher we decided not to chance malmaison Manchester but to go to hdv after checking with the hotel we could use the gift card we booked a superior double room. On arrival we loved the decor service was relaxed but you felt looked after .. We had lunch on the terrace with a bottle of LP rose to wash down the perfectly cooked steak and abundance of fries !! We had a walk round the town then back to the hotel to finally go into our room .... WOW!! UPGRADED TO LOFT HOUSE SUITE!! Thank you !! Loved the bed the space the nespresso machine the roll top bath and the dual monsoon showers thank you a very lovely romantic night for two people who can't get away much !!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 602Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear 602Melanie,

thank you for your very kind comments and great to hear we have spoilt you.
Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went for a romantic weekend away to Harrogate and stayed here. The location is fantastic, on a quiet street but within a few steps you are in the centre of the bars and shops of Harrogate. We had a lovely room, with a nice roll top bath and fluffy dressing gowns - perfect for a pre-dinner soak. We ate at the brasserie and the food was delicious and the wine even better. We ended up spending the night in th bar sampling the cocktails and enjoying the outdoor seating. Couldn't fault anything - although all the fun didn't come cheap. It is at th more expensive end, but we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Emily D,

Very pleased to hear we provided you with a fantatsic weekend. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary last night and having stayed at several other HdV's we have come to know what to expect of the brand... And usually we are very happy. However, this hotel I have a mixed review! I'll start with the good points: Great location in Harrogate. All staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic, with special mention to the wonderful somalier who was extremely knowledgable in helping us choose our wines. The atmosphere in the hotel was lovely and relaxed and the outside seating area and drinks served by the bar staff was great. I also enjoyed some pampering In the spa, which I wasn't aware existed on booking (maybe some better marketing of this). The treatments were absolutely fabulous, and I left feeling very relaxed!
The bad points: the hotel room was very expensive for what it was. Ultimately the room needs some updating. The carpet was looking very worn and torn. The towels were a disgrace really... Grey/old/cardboard texture! As were the robes!!! The shower wouldn't turn off for a good 10 mins which was really annoying. The blinds were SO dusty. When we returned to our room after dinner, the key refused to open the lock so we had to call reception. Even the night porter (who hadn't had quite as much wine as us!) struggled to open it. Not a major issue, just another little annoying thing that adds up! The room was absolutely boiling too! Comfy bed though... And good snacks/minibar (albeit ££££ again!!!)
So... A mixed review. All in all... One nights accommodation, a little afternoon drink from the minibar, pre dinner drink at lobby bar, dinner, wine and a spa treatment (£55) came to £450... Which is why I would look at other accommodation next time we visit Harrogate... And just dine at Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear pmc1,

thank you for your review and great to hear you had a fantastic wedding anniversary celebration with us. I note your feedback and am addressing your valid points. Please do contact myself next time you are planning to stay with us and I will oversee your booking.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
64
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant stay with family. Great hotel in super location. Yes it could do with a touch up here and there but couldn't we all. It wasn't cheap but as special treat was well worth it. The staff were absolutely brilliant and made the stay ver memorable.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are very pleased that you had a brilliant stay with us.
Hopefully we can welcome yiou back soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent two nights here midweek. Studio room was lovely, but watch your head on the roof beams ! Very good service at reception, bar, outside sitting area & in bistro. The waiter even gave us vouchers for free bottle of wine when dining.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stewartytosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Stewartytosh,

thank you for you recent review, great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing