We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware credit card foreign exchange” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware credit card foreign exchange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Disappointed to see Hotel Du Vin join in the sleazy practice of trying to bill foreign credit cards in the original currencies..thus giving the unwary a 5% or more mark up on their bill. I do dislike having to watch for every trick....almost didnt notice the service charge on the bar bill either...
Otherwise a pleasant stay...great location,,spacious room with excellent bed and good bathroom ...furniture was a bit battered ..maybe this was antique charm...doesnt work for me.
Nice lounge area with proffessional bar staff and good restaurant.

Room Tip: decor seemed same in all rooms...front rooms lighter but traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nation99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear nation99,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, i will feedback your comments to my superiours in regards foreign currency charges. The service charges on our bills are totally on a discretionary basis. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    335
    187
    94
    46
See reviews for
90
610
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Having stayed here several years ago it was excellent. We have also stayed in Winchester and York HDV a few times. We could not believe how this hotel has gone downhill so badly.
Receptionist sounded like a recorded message, no mention of the usual banter ie how was your journey, would you like a table for dinner ( would have been more appetising than the food), can we assist with your luggage etc etc. We had to go out of the hotel, walk along the public footpath and down very steep steps to what looked like a hostel from the outside, to our basement dungeon. White exterior walls covered in mould greeted us. Room was dark and dreary. The blind covering the window to obscure passers by in the street was grubby. As we lifted it was filthy behind, spiders dead and alive, thick dust, flaking pain, disgusting .Various places in the room had been bodged up with paint. The bathroom equally gross. Black mould along the sealant around the bath, thick limescale around the shower, ridges in panelled door thick with dust, towel rail dirty, robes and towels very old, hard and scratchy.
We went down to reception and asked the Duty Manager to take a look at this dreadful unhygienic room. As we ordered drinks she said she would take a look. We were given a menu as we sat outside and barman said he would be back to take our order. 40 minutes later we just went into the restaurant to order as he hadn't bothered to come back. The hotel and restaurant was not busy in the slightest, so no excuse for ignoring us. Waitress also like a robot. All she kept saying was not a problem, not a problem, no social skills at all. One of us ordered bouillabaisse, looked like tinned condensed tomato soup with four random fishy objects in it. I had sole, no beurre noisette in sight, just half a jar of capers thrown over it, too salty to eat.Our side order of chips arrived when main courses has been finished, These were also forgotten as was the water we repeatedly asked for. The only good thing about our whole stay was wine which we chose ourselves. Why have a sommelier when everything else is falling apart.
Breakfast was a thick wedge of smoked salmon with sloppy egg splattered on top.
This establishment needs to be closed for complete refurbishment and a fresh new team of staff.
I do actually feel for the General Manager, there is too much to fix for just one person.
This brand used to be known as Boutique Luxury. Will never come back to this hotel in this state.
We were given another room in main building which was better, but still shabby and grubby. This hotel is not a cheap option.. A 300 mile round trip for what shoud have been a lovely break for us both turned into a disaster, very upsetting.

Room Tip: Basement room awful, but so is the rest of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Veuve2013,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us in Harrogate. Please do accept my apologies to have not met your expectations, if I could ask you to give me a call please in order to resolve this.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at other hotels in the group and have seldom been disappointed. An almost flawless stay with fantastic service at reception and in the bistro. The room was spacious and comfortable and worth the £20 upgrade.

My only gripe was the car parking facility but this is the norm in Harrogate.

I would definitely stay again and urge travellers to look at the offers to get VFM.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jon E,

Great to read you had a fantatsic stay with us. We hope you return soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

On arrival we had been upgraded to larger suite which absolutely stank of air freshener, floor was unswept and coffee cups grubby. We asked to be moved. New room ok but furniture and furnishings very tired. smell of urine in shower/loo area but decided best not to complain in case we got more air freshener! Meal in restaurant disastrous. Food tepid and looked as though it had been thrown on plate. Person at next table served mussels which weren't open. Aware of others being served things they hadn't ordered. Staff appeared to be untrained. Next morning no hot water!! Manager said they were aware of problem and they were in process of remedying. Then why not let guests know before they find themselves standing in freezing cold shower? Vastly over priced - we spent over £500 for the whole experience. Over the years we have stayed at a number of the H du Vin hotels which used to be great, but no longer. Last time for us I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear hjsage,

thnak you for your review, I am very sorry to hear you did not ahve a great stay with us. Could I ask you to give me a call and resolve this.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

6 of us came for meal on 21july. 2 stayed at hotel - In room there was no coffee, No milk, window had to be held open by shampoo bottles, toilets not properly cleaned - all in a £175 room!! At Dinner - informed 2 items off menu, then steak frites off menu, told fish could not be boned, told lamb could not be cooked "pink", ran out of Duckers beer! Had to wait 45 mins for meal to arrive!! Restaurant had 2 other occupants!
Saw indifferent duty manager in morning and wrote in email of complaint as did one of our fellow diners. We received exactly the same reply irrespective of complaints not being the same as we were staying at hotel!
Really disappointing and would not tecommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was lovely, smallish room, but well equipped and the bed and linen were, as usual, great. Food, breakfast and dinner, were generally really good. A hiccup with dinner was swiftly and well resolved, and breakfast was great, although I'd avoid the carrot and ginger sausages!
Generally, really good. Staff were really pleasant and helpful.
We had a back room, which was great, although bins collected early in the morning from places over the road were a bit of a pain - not that the hotel can do anything about that!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear PhilBath,

thank you for your very recent review and great to read that you had a positive stay with us.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has a very very special place in my life as it's where my husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding (and subsequent anniversary). Food and (as you'd expect) wine -- is impeccable and the rooms are really something special. Such amazing attention to detail. For me this place simply oozes luxury. I haven't tried the spa, but have heard good things. For location, you simply can't beat it! But the best part of the stay(s), has to be the staff. Everyone is so helpful, and genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay. We had the pleasure of working with the events coordinator, who so friendly and professional. Wedding was perfect, and our stay was the best way to start the honeymoon. Every time we return we feel like we're having a little piece of that special day again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Chrysgirl,

Congratulations again and very pleased to read we continue to provide you with excellent service and keep exceeding your expectations. I am sure next time you come and visit our Spa you will be able to write another positive review.

Thank you again and look forward welcoming you back soon.

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing