We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Du Vin is a hotel group which rarely disappoints and again I found the Harrogate hotel to be an easy recommendation.
I stayed in a superior double room which was very comfortable and with a fantastic bathroom which this chain is well known for (all hotels should have showers like these).
If you are staying in Harrogate for shopping etc then the location couldn't be better as everything is on your doorstep.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear James B,

thank you for your very positive review, great to hear we delivered on every level.

Many thanks again,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin and Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Went to Harrogate for 1 night here for the Eclectique package online, the offer stated Superior Room, Wine Tasting for 45 minutes, bottle of wine to the value of £50 and a 3 course meal from the Al A Carte menu. We were greeted at the hotel and our room was ready early which was great however we had spoke to reception the day before to make our reservation for the tasting and meal and arrival were informed we had to bring this forward an hour....good job we didn't have other plans!! We went to the bar and nobody had a clue who the wine tasting was with and where, we were sat in an empty room set up for a wedding for 10 minutes before Mark the Semellier appeared. He advised we would go to the cellar to complete the tasting, he then went behind the bar and grabbed a few bottles of wine and glasses and led the way to the cellar, we then had to wait 10 minutes while he moved various things out the way so we could get in!! We stood in the cellar for the 45 mins (seats would have been nice & more comfortable) while he talked through different wines, overall he seemed quite knowledgable and we tasted 4 wines, was a little disappointing that it was only 4! We then went to the restaurant for the meal, the staff there were aware if the package we booked and handed us a menu, the menu had 2 starter options and 3 main options, I queried this straight away and they brought over the proper menu however advised we could have upto the value of £20 each, again I queried this as this is not what was stated online. They then came back over and advised yes you can order whatever you like! Overall the hotel seemed to have no idea what they were doing, the trip was very disappointing as it was for our anniversary! The only good thing was the room! I mentioned the issues at check out and was advised I would be sent an email from the Manager as it was agreed this is not acceptable, 3 days later and I've heard nothing! Fair to say I won't be staying here again and do not recommend it :(

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Lindsey C,

thank you for your recent review and please accept my apologies for the fact that you did not enjoy the experience. Mark our Sommelier is highly knowledgable and passionate about his cellar and wines. I belief there was a communication error as he was fully aware and had this scheduled to spend time with you. Again my apologies for your dissappointment.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here 3 days with my wife.Having just booked a standard room expectations were not overly high.However got a lovely room overlooking the park.The room was very well appointed and very comfortable.Food at the hotel was excellent,especially the breakfast.The hotel feels like a private club and there is no hustle and bustle normally associated with hotel check in/out.Staff very good.Two minor complaints,a 10% service charge is included in the midst of the food description and a tip column is at the end of the bill ,I do not like this practice.Also given the name of the hotel,the wines were very expensive by the glass which does not encourage social drinking.All in all a very good experience

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Frank D,

Great to hear you had such a comfortable stay with us, hope next time you are visiting we can accommodate you.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From the moment we arrived the hotel felt like home. The lounge downstairs had a very homely feel, the room was fantastic and the bistro was excellent.
Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Vin, Harrogate and will definitely return.
Home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Mike C,

Fantatsic to hear you had a great stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel du Vin while on a business trip, great service but the room a little on the small and looked a bit tired, if your staying make sure you have a room on a higher floor, ours was on the first floor at the side and the noise from the bar next door was loud.
No air con in the rooms so very stuffy as the windows only opened a little for security reasons.
Great location in the heart of harrogate.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a high floor at the back or top at the front
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Andrew A,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will update your profile to ensure next time you stay will be allocated a different room.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Disappointed to see Hotel Du Vin join in the sleazy practice of trying to bill foreign credit cards in the original currencies..thus giving the unwary a 5% or more mark up on their bill. I do dislike having to watch for every trick....almost didnt notice the service charge on the bar bill either...
Otherwise a pleasant stay...great location,,spacious room with excellent bed and good bathroom ...furniture was a bit battered ..maybe this was antique charm...doesnt work for me.
Nice lounge area with proffessional bar staff and good restaurant.

Room Tip: decor seemed same in all rooms...front rooms lighter but traffic noise
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nation99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear nation99,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, i will feedback your comments to my superiours in regards foreign currency charges. The service charges on our bills are totally on a discretionary basis. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Having stayed here several years ago it was excellent. We have also stayed in Winchester and York HDV a few times. We could not believe how this hotel has gone downhill so badly.
Receptionist sounded like a recorded message, no mention of the usual banter ie how was your journey, would you like a table for dinner ( would have been more appetising than the food), can we assist with your luggage etc etc. We had to go out of the hotel, walk along the public footpath and down very steep steps to what looked like a hostel from the outside, to our basement dungeon. White exterior walls covered in mould greeted us. Room was dark and dreary. The blind covering the window to obscure passers by in the street was grubby. As we lifted it was filthy behind, spiders dead and alive, thick dust, flaking pain, disgusting .Various places in the room had been bodged up with paint. The bathroom equally gross. Black mould along the sealant around the bath, thick limescale around the shower, ridges in panelled door thick with dust, towel rail dirty, robes and towels very old, hard and scratchy.
We went down to reception and asked the Duty Manager to take a look at this dreadful unhygienic room. As we ordered drinks she said she would take a look. We were given a menu as we sat outside and barman said he would be back to take our order. 40 minutes later we just went into the restaurant to order as he hadn't bothered to come back. The hotel and restaurant was not busy in the slightest, so no excuse for ignoring us. Waitress also like a robot. All she kept saying was not a problem, not a problem, no social skills at all. One of us ordered bouillabaisse, looked like tinned condensed tomato soup with four random fishy objects in it. I had sole, no beurre noisette in sight, just half a jar of capers thrown over it, too salty to eat.Our side order of chips arrived when main courses has been finished, These were also forgotten as was the water we repeatedly asked for. The only good thing about our whole stay was wine which we chose ourselves. Why have a sommelier when everything else is falling apart.
Breakfast was a thick wedge of smoked salmon with sloppy egg splattered on top.
This establishment needs to be closed for complete refurbishment and a fresh new team of staff.
I do actually feel for the General Manager, there is too much to fix for just one person.
This brand used to be known as Boutique Luxury. Will never come back to this hotel in this state.
We were given another room in main building which was better, but still shabby and grubby. This hotel is not a cheap option.. A 300 mile round trip for what shoud have been a lovely break for us both turned into a disaster, very upsetting.

Room Tip: Basement room awful, but so is the rest of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Veuve2013,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us in Harrogate. Please do accept my apologies to have not met your expectations, if I could ask you to give me a call please in order to resolve this.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £82 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing