We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bar area but rooms need a bit of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful bar area but rooms need a bit of maintenance”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We had booked Hotel du Vin on the recommendation of a friend. We were only staying one night and so booked a basement level room. Nothing on the website mentioned there might be noise (as I have now seen in these reviews), but luckily we were given an upgrade on arrival which was a very nice suprise.

The main lobby/bar/restaurant area is really lovely. It's so warm and cozy and we spent the best part of an afternoon sipping good wine and eating very good food on the leather sofas. The great food was followed through to breakfast the next morning. Every aspect of our full English breakfast was beautifully done. The pain au chocolat was actually the best one I have tasted in many years (including France!).

The one niggle I have about Hotel du Vin is the rooms. Even with our upgrade, there were just small details in the room that you would not expect. The shower/bath had absolutely incredible water pressure - fantastic. However, the sealant around the bath was mouldy - just so unnecessary and easily fixed. Also, the room itself had a very strange odour when we went in - a bit musty or the faint smell of a drain - not at all pleasant. We mentioned this to reception when we went out, but when we returned late at night, it really hadn't improved. On the plus side, the toiletries were lovely and the bed comfortable. Overall, you just had the sense that the rooms need a bit of a spruce up - nothing fundamental.

Overall, I would stay here again. During the snow, it was so lovely sitting in the common area in the lobby that I could have stayed there all day. The food was also superb. I just hope the small hitches can be ironed out.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    345
    194
    94
    48
See reviews for
90
641
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
manchster
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I have to admit i book this over the internet and booked a studio room, then logged on here and read the reviews i went into panic moad........After much desision makin and I also rang the hotel we decided to go and make our own desision.
The "noisey" rooms they say are on the bottom floor and are at a considerable redused rate...
On arrival to the hotel all the staff were helpful, we then got to our room which was the Grange...WOW this was gorgeous...
We also ate in the resturant and the food was absolutly lovely couldn't fault a thing....
the weekend was lovely expensive but as a treat it was worth it.....
Great location to all shops and bettys tea rooms..a must
The only thing is car parking is a pain.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilly1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel is fantastic, from the moment my husband and I visited to make enquiries about a wedding we knew it was the place for us. The events organiser Ashley was wonderful, nothing was a problem and she made us feel really special. On the day of our wedding Steve looked after us and we could not have wished for anything better, the professionalism from Steve and all of his staff was amazing. We had a wonderful day and our guests commented on how wonderful the hotel was. I would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbleslinusleo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

On route to the Hotel Du Vin we looked at the Tripadvisor website and was horrified by the stuff we read about this hotel, and when arriving we told our concerns to the Manager Saskia who assured us that we would have none of these problems.

All I can say is my Wife and I were very impressed with the level of service with this hotel, the atmosphere, and the loft room in which we stayed. ( especially the twin baths in the bathroom)
The massages from Nadine in the Spa were again some of the best we have ever experienced, so to anyone wanting to have a fantastic relaxing romantic weekend in the beautiful town of Harrogate we would recommend the Hotel Du Vin.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim210362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We LOVE HdV. But sadly this hotel is not up to their regular standards. We stayed in the Wolf Blass room. Alas, HdV have decided to let rooms that sit right below the restaurant and kitchen. It was an incredibly noisy stay. The restaurant has lovely wood flooring.... but there is little insulation between this and your bed. From our room we could hear every foot step and conversation. The noise stopped around 12:30am but started again at around 6 with trolleys and deliveries being dragged across our ceiling. We did not sleep well despite burying our heads under pillows to try to muffle the noise. And unfortunately we were not warned. These rooms should not be let. We raised it with reception and the lovely staff ensured us they would pass it onto management. It sounded like a well rehearsed response as I'm sure every visitor has the same feedback. It's a shame HdV have not fixed this issue as based on past reviews it has been going on for quite a while. The Studley Hotel in Harrogate is a far superior choice. Or HdV in York is brilliant and only 20 miles away. If you insist on staying in HdV Harrogate, make your point by only staying in rooms on the first floor or above. And bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KizBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2010

It was just really dissappointing at a hotel du vin to be treated like people with no brains. They took the p*ss from the start. We did get our room and dinner down to a reasonable price at the end after 40 minutes of complaining at check out but they honestly made you feel like liars and theives by standing up for our rights. All the food was wrong, the bedroom lacked maintence and it was noisey all through the night. It was what I expected at all after the great things i heard about hotel du vins but I wil never be using them again. Definately sticking with Premier Inns, you get exactly what it says on the tin and more!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishHutch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

In serious need of a clean up.

The room was grubby, noisy and in need of some serious TLC. The shower didnt work properly - unless you like a good bracing cold shower. The hotel staff were below the standards set by other branches of Hotel Du Vin e.g., Henley, Winchester.

Breakfast was far too slow in service and well below expectations. We nearly walked out whilst waiting for cooked breakfast. The Bistro had a handful of tables populated. A disaster.

Such a shame that this location is badly letting the brand down. Henley and Winchester would look on with shock and amazement at the quality of decor, service and overall ambience created by staff who shuffle about and are unwilling to help - asking 'if we want to see the manager!?' NO, sort it out yourself - perhaps they work in fear!!!

Very disappointing stay. Would definitely avoid when in the area next time. Hotel Du Vin Henley, Hotel Du Vin Winchester - see you soon :)

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FishHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing