We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hangover cure from heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bib And Tucker

Bib And Tucker
Ranked #190 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hangover cure from heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! A cafe that operates with the professionalism of a restaurant... Had one of their New York inspired flatbreads! Yum.

Helpful?
1 Thank charliehartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

As I started to write this review I noticed a few people had rated it badly , and I cant understand why . Me and my wife went for a light lunch there in the summer of 2013 , and were very impressed with the food . All the sandwiches are made fresh to order , they taste as good as they look , and the guy who makes them is like an artist as he does so . It may not be the Ritz but everywere is clean , and all the staff behind the counter wore plastic hygene gloves . The tea is served in a tea pot , and is a pleasure to drink very refreshing , and comes with an extra pot of boiling water for a top up . We have traveled a 100 mile round trip back here for my birthday treat 12/12/13 , and as the last time the place was full which proves how good it is .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dickiehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We went to Bib and Tucker for a light lunch whilst shopping in Harrogate. We had a lovely crisp salad topped with crab and prawns in mayonnaise. This dish had obviously been freshly made and looked very appetising, with a little side dish of vegetable crisps. Our bill for 2 salads and 2 pots of tea came to £17, which compares favourably with other eateries in Harrogate.
We were also impressed when we were asked if we would like a pot of hot water with our tea - a very unusual offer these days!
The waiting staff were pleasant and friendly! We will certainly go again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Dont usually write bad reviews but this place was not my cup of tea! Had ran out of sandwiches and flatbreads at 1 pm and the food was yucky, the indian wrap was just mush and the italian wrap was the same, sed to contain salami but was full of courgettes? The drink selection was pour and bacon was cold and roll dry. Bad coffee too. Will not return sorry!

Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Hygiene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I decided to eat here because the menu looked tasty and a bit different to the norm. We ordered the Indian Flat bread and a glass of Ginger beer each.

The glasses that were brought with the canned drinks were covered in greasy fingermarks and we had to ask for clean ones.

I was seated overlooking the food preparation area and noticed that there were a lot of flies about. They were landing on the worktops and walking over the salad items while staff were working and no attempt was made to flick them away.

Some members of staff wore dirty aprons which they used to wipe their hands on and one member of staff had a dirty cloth over the apron strings at the back which was used to wipe the knives on between preparing food. Not once did I see hands or knives being washed.

If our order had been cold and not cooked I think we would have walked out before it was even brought to the table. It was a tasty flat bread, but we did not eat the salad.

This place needs a good clean and a big improvement in basic hygiene

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlequin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bib And Tucker also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bib And Tucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing