We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humble Bee Cottage”
Review of The Cud Life

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cud Life
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just spent five nights at Humble Bee Cottage and felt that I must let everybody know what a wow of a cottage. Tanya and David made us so very welcome, there was a lovely picnic basket of new laid eggs, jam and biscuits left in the kitchen for us. The cottage has three bedrooms, a double downstairs next door to a wetroom and toilet (with heated towel rail), another double upstairs a twin with fantastic views. Upstairs is a large bathroom, shower over the bath and another heated towel rail.

The cottage is maintained to an exceptionally high standard, everything is colour co-ordinated and tastefully done, in fact I could not have done it better myself! There is a well equipped kitchen with spotlessly clean appliances including a dishwasher and washing machine. The wood burner in the lounge is great, we made the most of it - even had the door to the cottage open as it was too hot!

We were luckily enough to see new born calves and David kindly showed us all the new borns and was very interesting to listen to. Humble Bee Cottage is a central base for exploring the area, there is a convenient bus stop at the end of the lane for buses into Harrogate, Leeds, Ripon etc.

We were sad to leave this lovely cottage and will certainly return. Tanya and David are a lovely couple (not forgetting Dyson their dog), we wish them every success with their cottages.

Room Tip: The twin bedded room has a great views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The Cud Life
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from a fabulous few days stay at Cowslip Cottage. Tanya and David couldn't have done more to welcome us and make sure we had a great time. The cottage is furnished and equipped to a very high spec but at the same time we all felt very comfortable and relaxed and appreciated the homely feel. Have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotttinghamJak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed in Cowslip Cottage just after Easter 2013 with our 3 children. We all loved the cottage - it was very comfortable, clean, spacious and both kitchen and toy cupboard were very well equipped. The friendly owners had provided a lovely 'welcome' basket with delicious home-made biscuits and jam, and a box of eggs from their chickens and were very happy to give us a tour of the farm. It felt very rural despite being so close to Harrogate, which is a lovely town with superb gardens and park. There is lots to do in the area and so many things we just didn't have the time for in our week's stay. We all agreed it was the best cottage we have stayed in and we may just have to visit again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Humble Bee cottage with our 2 kids aged 4 and 8 at Easter 2013. We had a great holiday. The cottage was lovely and is in a great location for visiting Harrogate and the surrounding area. The owners were very friendly and even organised a mini Easter egg hunt in the cottage for the kids - lovely surprise!! We had a great time and would highly recommend this cottage!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Visited Cowslip Cottage in mid-February 2013 for a week with my wife and three young children. We were looking for a relaxing, cosy location with some nice scenery and easy access to some local areas of interest.
Cowslip Cottage ticked all the boxes.
The cottage was lovely. It is well equipped, spacious and has beautiful views of the countryside in all directions that makes you think you're a million miles from anywhere. Great illusion because you're actually about 4 minutes drive to the centre of Harrogate!
The cottage was everything we wanted it to be. We had a very relaxing time, and the friendly owners were very helpful. Thank you very much

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BubblesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Cowslip cottage exceeded my (high) expectations. It is a beautiful cottage, brimming with character and set on a dairy farm. The views over the countryside from the cottage are picture perfect. But it's the owners who really made our stay in the cottage special, they seem to have thought of everything and the cottage is one of the best equipped that I have ever stayed in. Really comfortable beds.
Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Yorkshire countryside and I hope to return sometime too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jemima E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keemabutch, Owner at The Cud Life, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you Jemima for your review, I've only just worked out how to reply to these reviews again. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for taking the time to review us. You are most welcome back anytime and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our second visit to Cowslip Cottage. First visit was in February 2012. This time we brought the whole family and rented Humblebee Cottage next door as well. The cottage is spacious, cosy and luxurious with fabulous views over the Yorkshire countryside. It has been beautifully furnished and the owners have thought of everything. The beds are really comfortable - the whole family said they'd slept better than they had for ages. We brought our dog with us - perfect for him as the garden is big and fenced. The location is ideal - short drive to Harrogate centre and walking distance to the lovely village of Ripley (worth a visit - the butchers is brilliant) and a few nice pubs. The boys enjoyed the railway museum in York. Recommend a visit to Brimham Rocks - National Trust. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keemabutch, Owner at The Cud Life, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you taking the time to put a review on here to show everyone else how much you enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to make the cottages feel homely and cosy and it is lovely to hear that it is all worthwhile when we read lovely reviews. You are all very welcome to return for all your family get togethers and when we get the campsite ready next year you can bring more of them!! Many thanks again, Tanya and David x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
1.5 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
764 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,665 reviews
2.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hazel Manor
Hazel Manor
#1 of 98 in Harrogate
321 reviews
5.8 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
387 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#6 of 98 in Harrogate
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cud Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cud Life

Address: Spruisty Hall Farm Ripon Road | Killinghall, Harrogate HG3 2AU, England (Formerly Cowslip Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Price Range: £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Holiday cottages, a campsite and coffeeshop on a working farm in Killinghall, Harrogate. With easy access to Harrogate and perfect for exploring all that Yorkshire has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cud Life Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing