We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cambridge is great”
Review of Cambridge Cafe

Cambridge Cafe
Ranked #71 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Cambridge is great”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We've been coming here for years, and today we found out that they also open on Sundays!!!
They were surprised we did not know, they, being the owner and sons. The Chinese food is fantastic, and we only go there for the Chinese food, since, I think, there is no where better in Harrogate than there. The people serving there are friendly, helpful and kind. And as far as I have understood the European food is good too. It is not expensive and it is always full. Once my father (also a lover of Chinese food) said, "If you want to know if a Chinese place has good food look if there are many Chinese people eating there!" Well, this place has plenty of them eating there and I think it is a hangout for the young Chinese, who meet here, have some food and have some fun, really a nice place!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips Chinese food!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a small inconspicuous cafe in Harrogate with plastic table cloths. They sell the usual cafe fare and superb chinese food! The owners are chinese and all dishes are freshly cooked and at takeaway prices! There are lots of Chinese students there as a rule. A main course comes with noodles or fried rice and the average cost per dish is £5.90!
Give this place a try....it's great value for money!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit to Harrogate 29th March”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, delicious food. Very reasonably priced.
The only issue here is they do not take credit or debit cards, cash transactions only. This should not put you off, as you will be delighted with the warm welcome and the high quality service. We fully intend to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“ONE WORD "EXCELLANT"”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Another quick stop
For my weekly dosage of Chinese cuisine, must say it decent if there a fare few Chinese eating there.
I had my usual of stir fry noodles and a soft drink 8 pounds something can't complain for tht price
Extremely tasty!
Will be back for more soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldwide12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best chinese food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we go regulary and the food is always excellent, the choice is very varied, the prices are reasonable and the English food is good too, they make great omelttes!.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambridge Cafe also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cambridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing