We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went twice”
Review of Cafe Rasmus - CLOSED

Cafe Rasmus
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Rugeley
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We like the Scandinavian countries and their cuisine, so Rasmus really suited us. We had good open sandwiches that were authentic and very evocative, and chocolate and beetroot cake that I am going to experiment with at home. We thought the atmosphere was bright and brisk with very friendly staff who remembered us when we visited a second time. In fact we thought it was so good the first time that we took friends the second time. They had parsnip, beetroot and pomegranate soup and declared it delicious.
A real find - try it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An uncomfortable place to have a poor drink”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Mixing a furniture shop with a café might seem a good idea. It is not, as neither are shown to their best advantage, and the actual space in which the café is located is uncomfortable and poorly laid out and designed. Tea is offered only in the form of bags in cups ("tea pigs"), a good way to produce a poor cup of tea. Service is abrupt and unhelpful. A place I shall avoid in future.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kswmint
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely, modern décor with friendly, attentive staff. The menu is fresh and interesting and reasonably priced. Will definitely return!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kswmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“An antidote to 'twee'!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

In a great location close by the Valley Gardens and handy for the Mercer Gallery and the Montpellier area, Rasmus is a stylish (as befits a cafe in a designer home furniture/accessories store!), light and airy place to stop for a coffee and watch the world go by. It's not cheap but Rasmus offers good quality food and drink and I found it a great antidote to the twee 'old fashioned' coffee shops!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A touch of Scandanavia in Harrogate”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On the corner of Royal Parade, sitting modestly adjacent to the park, Cafe Rasmus offers light sophisticated lunch to the discerning customer. In a truly Scandinavian atmosphere you can sample open sandwiches imaginatively presented with green and potatoe salad, made to order by charming staff. The cafe is typical of my visits to Denmark and Sweden. Always sparklingly clean, open, sunny and light. Healthy quality food beautifully served.
Since Cafe Rasmus also sells Scandinavian furniture its well worth paying a visit to their deluxe loo and having a brief lie down on their deluxe bed en route. Perhaps the most comfortable chairs and matresses I have ever experienced. Makes me want to completely refurnish.
Amidst the huge choice of excellent restaurants in Harrogate then Cafe Rasmus is always my choice for a light lunch or coffee. Try it - you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasmus1706, Owner at Cafe Rasmus, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello
Thank you for your lovely review - you have mentioned many of the things that we have tried to achieve with Café Rasmus - so nice to have happy customers taking time to share their thoughts. Shall share this with the team today!
Thanks again
Sally Rasmussen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rasmus also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing