We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacularly good gravadlax on toast for brea”
Review of Baltzersens Ltd

Baltzersens Ltd
Ranked #31 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacularly good gravadlax on toast for brea”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

With a perfectly poached egg. Perfect late and very pleasant, civilised surrounds. Salvaged my day after a horrendous drive up the M1.

Perfect place for coffee, cake or a light bite.

Helpful?
Thank percivalpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    114
    31
    20
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
2,366 reviews
1,214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,013 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and we thought the cakes were great”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We thought we would give this place a go as you don't get many Scandinavian coffee shops in Harrogate and we were not disappointed. The coffee here was very good indeed and the cakes were delicious. We were not so hungry so opted for small bites and ended up with light small doughnuts at £1 each and brioche filled with summer fruits. Both were spot on, simple but delicious and not too sweet. I would like to come back and try some of their food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Cakes!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere, pleasant interior and a little different to the usual coffee shops. Generally good coffee although on one occasion it was a little wishy washy and I do like a nice strong coffee but they were happy to re-make for me. If you have a sweet tooth like me then the cakes are excellent and many of them quite unusual, definatley the best bit in my opinion! Service is okay and friendly enough but a little uncharismatic and could do with a bit of extra spark but otherwise fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 23Darrell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quirky experience, but didn't like the cake.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I visited at the end of September 2013 as part of our 5 year anniversary weekend. We'd originally booked for afternoon tea at Betty's as my partner is a huge tea drinker, but as I don't like tea, and neither of us like fruit scones, we decided it would be a bit of a waste of money and cancelled our reservation. Instead, we chose Baltzersens on a friend's recommendation.
It is quite a interesting little place. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who led us to the only available table towards the back of the cafe. Strangely, they don't take orders at your table. instead you have to queue at the counter to place your order, but again the staff were very friendly, and even assured me that the unusual tea my other half had chosen was a good one.
We each selected a Koldtbord for lunch - I went for fish, my partner went for meat. I ordered water, and my other half tea. Being a huge fan of cinnabons, my other half also ordered a cinnamon bun and I ordered some lovely looking chocolate cake.
Strangely, our cake arrived along with our drinks, and before our Koldtbords - we had a tiny table, so fitting everything on was a challenge! Our Koldtbords arrived not long after this.
On first inspection, we were admittedly a little disappointed by the Koldtbords. On seeing the large and lovely looking open sandwiches arriving at the other tables, our offering seemed a bit small especially as they were more expensive, though they were artfully presented on slate boards. In actual fact, the portion sizes were adequate for a lunchtime meal, and we did feel satisfied. The meat board had cuts of ham, beef and pate with a small side salad, and the fish board had smoked mackerel, king prawns (which were unfortunately of the prepacked supermarket slightly tasteless variety) and gravlax, with ribbons of cucumber. There were also various sauces/chutneys to compliment each meat/fish. The bread basket we were served was a nice touch, but I didn't particularly enjoy the tomato flat bread as it was doughy and undercooked, though my partner enjoyed it. We both left most of the cracker type bread as we didn't like that much.
If I was rating on the savoury food alone, we would have rated very good, but unfortunately we didn't have a good time on the cakes.
My other half was very disappointed by his cinnamon bun - it was dry, and stale. My cake, while it looked beautiful, was also slightly dry which I could have coped with, but the chocolate ganache had a very strange taste to it. I couldn't work out what it was, but I really didn't like it, so I had to leave most of my cake. :-( And I like cake!!
As no one came to clear our table at any point (we had to do a big shuffle when we wanted to swop our plates around to eat our cake), and I'm not the sort of person to march up to the counter and make a fuss, there was no subtle opportunity to pass on our comments to any of the staff. As such, we left feeling a little disappointed, and without having given anyone our feedback, so can't comment on how it would have been received. My other half did like his tea though...

So, all in all, we enjoyed our savoury lunch, the staff were friendly if not very attentive, and we didn't like the cakes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Dribbled on this place on a visit to Harrogate. Went in for a coffee but thought is chance an open samdwich. Well, the smoked mackerel dish was fantastic. So many flavours and ideas on one dish. I've been to Michelin star restaurants and been less impressed.

I would really go out of my way to go here again. First time I've written a review for ages. It's that good. My kids waffles were great too.

Go there.

Helpful?
Thank Yakduzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltzersens Ltd also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Baltzersens Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing