We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at The Pantry”
Review of The Pantry - CLOSED

The Pantry
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A Quintessential British Café Bar & Bistro. The Pantry is Comprised over two casual dining spaces with fantastic views overlooking Montpellier Gardens. A Great Place to enjoy a three course lunch or dinner, a relaxing brunch or maybe something lighter.
york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Pantry”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stumbled upon this place whilst looking for somewhere for lunch, so glad we did. After looking at the menu we decided to go with the daily special, which was fish chips and mushy peas with tea included. We were not dissapointed the fish and chips were so delicious we didn't need salt or vinegar, the chips were like mini potato wedges and the fish was perfectly cooked with just the right amount of batter and for under £8 was very good value. If I had one small niggle it would be the toilet, it was a little dusty and needed a little attention. The staff were very attentative without being intrusive. All in all a lovely lunch and a return visit is on the cards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I have visited The Pantry twice for a light lunch and both times have had a superb experience. The food I ordered arrived quickly despite the restaurant being nearly full and the waitresses were attentive and friendly. The dish that I chose was delicious as well as being a good price and great value for money. Will definitely be returning again and again!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for a snack but ended up having Sunday lunch, the meals were delicious freshly made and also the staff were very obliging as we asked to change a couple of things on the menu which they did for us which is also a sign of a professional establishment. So you have made an excellent impression on our first visit we will be visiting again and thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DezRibbleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had the most delicious lunch when we visited The Pantry - what a fabulous find!
The staff were very pleasant and polite and our surroundings were incredibly smart, tasteful and comfortable.
Our lunch was perfect and the 'extra' bowl of chips we ordered to go with our sandwiches was sublime! Our daughter had the amazing 'Fish Buttie' (which came with chips) and couldn't come more highly recommended!
We can't wait to go again and take friends too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Pantry Harrogate”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely coffee and home made lunches and evening meal. Unpretentious and well cooked simple good food. Lovely friendly staff. Just down from Betty's tea room.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanceDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing