We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Value than a Hotel in Harrogate!”
Review of Ashness Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashness Apartments
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better Value than a Hotel in Harrogate!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Ashness was recommended to us by family members living in the area. Harrogate is a beautiful town, and Ashness is right in the middle of it all! It's a very convenient location for bus transport and a cab is relatively inexpensive to go from the apartments to the end of town. But parks and shopping are definitely within walking distance, too. Grocery shopping is nearby, and is a good idea upon check in.

We were given a two-bedroom flat on two levels with a living room, kitchen, and bathroom. I felt that the apartment was roomy and well-equipped, and for the price, such a great deal! Everything was clean and it truly felt like home! Board games, a videocassette recorder, and DVD player were great additions.

There was a smell pervasive throughout the two bedrooms that smelled strongly of either mold or something like a pet store. We slept in the living room area to avoid it. Also, bring your own washcloths or loofahs, as none were provided. I was tempted to give a three-star rating, but the location, price, and value couldn't let me do it. We did inform management about the smell, and they said they'd look into it. Given the apartment's age, it may not be an easy fix, but the charm of this place really overrides most negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel S, Manager at Ashness Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know about the issue with the bedrooms when you checked out, it gave us time to address the matter before the next customers checked in. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities in the apartment and hope that you would consider staying with us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We needed somewhere to use as a base from which to visit my mum in her care home in Ripon, explore Harrogate and surrounding area. We're on a budget, so price was an important factor. We booked a one bedroom apartment for four nights. The flat turned out to be just what we'd hoped for, only bigger! really comfortable, well equipped, and clean.
Harrogate is a lovely town, we walked through the Valley Gardens and Pinewoods, and caught buses to Ripon, and Fountain's Abbey (there was a 2 for 1 offer on return tickets!)
We enjoyed a lovely break, and will definitely return to Ashness Apartments again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stitchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel S, General Manager at Ashness Apartments, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are really pleased that the apartment and the location suited you so well. We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Recently my husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment at Ashness Apartments in Harrogate. It was located in a lovely area, just a few minutes walk from the city centre. There was a supermarket closeby, which was handy. Harrogate is a beautiful town, with many gardens and green areas, in the city centre. Hazel also called us with information about the Harlow Carr gardens. The staff gave us a friendly welcome. From Harrogate we visited Brimham Rocks and Fountains Abbey, both worth a visit. We would recommend Ashness Apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel S, General Manager at Ashness Apartments, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at our apartments and hope that you will book with us again if you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment for a 2 night stay in Harrogate. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The booking process was easy and straight forward. We booked ourselves and our two dogs in, no problems. The 2nd floor apartment was very clean, spacious, well furnished and very close to shops and local amenities. Everything you needed for a self catering break was there, and I can't fault it. We will definitely be back as we enjoyed our stay in Harrogate at Ashness Apartments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imperial47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel S, General Manager at Ashness Apartments, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are really pleased to hear that you were made to feel so welcome and that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashness Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashness Apartments

Property: Ashness Apartments
Address: 15 St. Marys Avenue, Harrogate HG2 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashness Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashness Apartments is superbly situated in St Mary's Avenue, a nice quiet road of Victorian town houses very near the town centre and close to the Exhibition and Conference Centre. These serviced apartments are beautifully furnished and designed for both the holiday maker and the business visitor. They are suitable for short breaks as well as extended periods. All the accommodation is equipped with a widescreen LCD TV, DVD player and broadband internet access. Wireless internet access has been installed in the Apartments and we offer the option of 6' beds in some of our one bedroom apartments.Excellent shops, restaurants and cafes including the renowned 'Bettys' are just a short walk away through Montpellier Gardens; and Harrogate's famous 'Stray' and Valley Gardens are both just around the corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashness Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing