We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very good, friendly staff and the usual large, comfortable bed and pillows. Only qualm was breakfast. We had ordered the continental but, "because they'd run out", there were no croissants, crumpets, etc just poor quality white, sliced bread. The staff member in charge of the breakfast room was not helpful and offered no proper apology. However, the receptionist was excellent and removed the charge for breakfast on both mornings from our bill.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was my family's third visit to Harrogate and our second stay in this Premier Inn. What impressed us all was the warmth of the welcome and the cleanliness of the hotel. On checking in, we were told about the Good night Guarantee and what time breakfast was. I thought there was a little confusion over the payment because I paid for both rooms, but that was soon resolved. Our daughter was impressed with the fact that she had her own room for the first time since she became 16-she used to share a family room with us. We were pleased to have been allocated two adjacent rooms. The room we were in was cold on entry, but after a little fiddling about, I got the heater to work. The room was still a little draughty after this but at least we had taken the chill off the room. We drove to Harrogate and snacked during the journey, so didn't use the adjacent pub/restaurant which is of the Table Table brand and is called The Park. I did, however, pop downstairs for a couple of beers and noted thst there were about four lagers on offer and two hand pull bitters. All beers were available which equated to a 100% availability. The Mojito pump at the end of the bar kept shouting at me so I asked one of the bar staff about it and was given a very good explanation about the drink. I had a couple of pints of Becks lager and this was very reasonably priced. It was a shame about the music though, but with a little more practice I am sure the one man band will eventually score a vocal bullseye when he hits the right notes! Breakfast was in the bar, and this is one of the Premier Inns where you place your breakfast order and the food is brought out to you. This is OK but if you want more, don't be shy and shout up-you can eat as much as you wish even though it is not self service.
As for the night's sleep, it was alright. The curtains kept out the sunlight in the morning and if I had one complaint it would have been about the flat footed herd of cattle in the room above. I couldn't believe how loud the footsteps were. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked OK. So all in all, with the warm welcome and the warm goodbye, we would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top(third) floor. You will not get disturbance from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Signalfixer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

A cheap and convenient hotel, the centre of Harrogate easily accessible by train for the massive sum of £1.40 !

Service at breakfast was poor - as there were no staff around we just got stuck in, but there were people stood around 'waiting to be seated' for over 5 minutes.

Also, If I pick up more sugar to leave in the room to have a decent brew when we get back after a day out in the fresh air, I dont expect it to be removed by the cleaner and be told by the staff that it is company policy to do this 'to return the room to standard' - that's just stinks and reduces the staff to the level of robotic jobsworths

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank necon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

me and my husband stayed in this lovely hotel just for the night... the staff was very friendly!
the room was perfect really clean and the beds are to die for so comfortable! we didnt eat in the hotel but have eaten in other premiers in the past... in some hotels the tvs dont have many channels or dont work, we found that everythin was in working order! we will be staying here again...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Clean, comfortable and functional rooms. The receptionist was great and looked after me when I had creased shirt nightmare. The lighting is a bit dim for a business hotel - I want to be able to work please. Is it possible to to stop charging for wi-fi use as well? £12 for a decent connection for 24 hours is taking liberties. Free wi-fi now please, it's off putting and unnecessary.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeltonBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We only stayed for one night. I usually use Premier Inn because you always get good service a comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. Other reviews said this one was very good and it was. The best bit was the Yorkshire double act on reception... nothing was too much trouble. We do not usually eat in the hotel in the evening but we were tired so we had a couple of salads. They were very tasty and reasonable. I always have breakfast...sets you up for the day. Very tasty sausages and the wife likes the fresh fruit. All in all it is not the Grosvenor but it is a very comfortable stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Front gives a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jowett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A nice, modern 3-storey Premier. We booked at the last minute for a stop on the way home, so paid over the odds, but that's what happens with last minute bookings with these motel chains (it used to be with real hotels that you could cut a great deal by turning up at the last minute, when they knew they couldn't sell the room to anyone else).
We were given a family room which was spacious and comfortable, with a largish flat screen quality TV (text didn't work though) with Freeview channels and a comfortable but too small bed for my 6' 2". We had some noise issues, because a water tank was overflowing above our window, and the person upstairs seemed to be using his/her room to perform acrobatics or something. Not good if you want a long lie.
A huge plus point that deserves mention is the lighting. There were many choices of room and standalone lights, and it was possible, unlike 99% of other hotel rooms, to make the room bright enough to actually do something, instead of the usual dull glow from a feeble lamp. Well done Premier Inn. Bathroom clean and modern, with a mixer tap, shower that worked, and dispensers for soap and shower gel.
Breakfast was served until 10.30 (good) and was the usual Premier fare. Buffet well stocked, and the cooked breakfast was fine. They do need to reconsider those conveyor belt toasters though. It's a good idea, but if you have to put your bread and crumpets through twice, it defeats the object.
We had dinner at the Table Table restaurant. Nicely designed, but for the second time running, the real ale tasted stale (same 2 years ago). The menu was interesting enough but the portions were small. I was particularily unhappy with choosing the dessert special, an apple and blackberry tart with custard for £4.95, which turned out to be no more than an inch or so wide, while my wife had a huge plate of bread and butter pudding. Being mean with desserts is never a good idea, because it's the last memory you have of the place.
Staff were friendly enough at reception and restaurant, helpful and attentive. Less so at breakfast, but not an issue.
Large car park at the front, and the area seemed relatively quiet and secure.
There's a railway station just a hundred yards from the back door.

Room Tip: Take the top floor if you don't want someone thumping around above your head. There's a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bancquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Harrogate
Travelodge Harrogate
#15 of 28 in Harrogate
200 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel

Address: Millen House Hornbeam Park Drive | Hornbeam Park, Harrogate HG2 8RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of beautiful Harrogate, including events down the road at the Yorkshire Event Centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Premier Inn
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing