We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value budget hotel, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in family room and found booking easy via website in evening as a late booking. Room clean and comfortable. We have stayed at others in Harrogate tht cost much more but were less clean and comfortable. Parking good. Hotel quiet and handy for town centre. Easy to check in and out. We will go back but hope they will offer more than 30 mins free wifi in future

Room Tip: Front of hotel faces the road though set back from it, rear might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardenedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

On the whole we were very pleased with the standard of the hotel and also the adjacent restaurant. The receptionist was helpful and gave us information about train services. The hotel is well situated with Hornbeam station closeby ---- only 3 minutes by train from Hornbeam into the centre of Harrogate and a train service from Hornbeam once an hour into York. We enjoyed both the continental breakfast and our evening meal in the restaurant. We found the hotel to be pleasantly quiet although there seemed to be plenty customers and it was the summer holiday season.

However it seems to be company policy in every Premier Inn to provide only one chair per room which seems very grudging when you have booked a twin room. This is the one aspect which makes a poor impression. It would make me hesitate to book with Premier Inn for a long holiday.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a very nice Premier Inn, with the usual quiet, extremely comfortable and clean rooms. Even better, the location is excellent for central Harrogate, with none of the late night noise. Our room was at the front and the view was lovely. We had to use the fan as it the weather was very warm. Fortunately the fan was quiet enough to keep on all night, so that was good. I do however feel it's about time Premier Inn group provided proper air conditioning units as it's the second time this year we've been lucky enough to have good weather and again the room was too hot. (This refers to Premier Inns in different parts of the UK)

Breakfast in the restaurant was chaotic, with food/drink not being replenished in a timely manner. The restaurant was very busy but there simply wasn't enough staff on duty to cope. It was better the next morning when there were fewer guests, but that's not the point. Coffee dreadful as usual - as weak as dishwater! Other food and drink up to standard and fine.

And yes, we'd stay there again. Overall, lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the front to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniegetcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

So here we go again, another week gone and another Premier Inn stayed in. This is a very good place to stay, it's less than a mile to the town and you could walk there easily in 20 minutes. The hotel was the usual Premier Inn style and the staff were all happy in reception and very helpful.
With the children being on holiday there is more noise than usual, a few kept running along the hall way at 10.30 in the evening, but after shouting at them that it's not a play park they stopped. Parents with children always seem ignorant with kids in hotels.
Premier Inn seem to be struggling to employ decent breakfast staff lately. Breakfast opens at 6.30 and every day this week they have been late opening. Not much, but enough to have an affect on my day. The food was as terrible as the service. If you can avoid having breakfast there then you really will dodge a bullet. For evening meals I recommend the Italian restaurant next door, better food and so much better service. The middle aged woman serving at breakfast was the worst, she saw me waiting to be seated and walked the other way. I just walked in and started helping myself, with her finally in tow asking for my order.
MESSAGE TO PREMIER INN.......
Sack all your crap staff, which there are plenty and employ people who have the right passion to do the job properly!
Overall I would recommend this place, just don't expect decent service in the restaurant at breakfast.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Mimmy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Premier Inn format is duplicated across the country so no real surprises as to what to expect. What did make the difference was the staff, particularily Laura (Manager) who I bumped into a few times during my stay. Friendly, polite and keen to look after her guests. Made all the difference to my atttitude to staying there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor rooms (too noisy). Don't expect 3G signal anywhere in hotel - spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

As regular Premier Inn users my wife and consider this one of our two favourites along with the albert dock in Liverpool.
We were using this as a base for a motorcycle tour of Yorkshire and found it a real treat after the disapointing experiance at Newcastle Airport (South) where we stayed for the 1st part of our trip, We always enjoy our stay at the Harrogate inn where the staff are always excellent. One good feature the train station at the end of the car to use on really wet days. only 5 min to city centre.
We shall certainly be teurning next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeebarcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

we booked the 1night stay as our son was attending a sporting event close by. we used the train to visit Harrogate centre as this was most convenient way to travel rather than take the car. the hotel was very clean and comfortable with a proper third bed for our son to get a good nights sleep. we were even able to use the freezer facility to refreeze an ice pack for his lunch box. the 'meal deal' option was also great value. the staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 30 in Harrogate
630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel

Address: Millen House Hornbeam Park Drive | Hornbeam Park, Harrogate HG2 8RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of beautiful Harrogate, including events down the road at the Yorkshire Event Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Premier Inn
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing