We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've stayed here before but booked last minute and it was average. We stayed here again as it was closest for what we we attending. The adapted rooms kind of smelled even though the room looked clean. Wet room door was heavy,did not close properly. No cheap rooms even though booked months in advance. Inflated prices as an event was close by. Pushy restaurant staff tried to rush you through dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cammyrct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be followed up with the Management Team. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Took the Grandkids to Flamingo Land and stopped at this hotel for a couple of nights.The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were all ok.The room etc is the usual standard you get from Premier Inn but the food in the bar/restaurant and the staff certainly a cut above.

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your short stay with us, and that we offered everything you needed to make your stay comfortable.

We hope to welcome you and your family again.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the 2013 August Bank Holiday. Located 1.5 miles from the wonderful Harrogate – in contrast, Travelodge is within the town centre – this has an excellent overall location for the town and the wider area. As always, there’s a good restaurant attached (in this instance it is TableTable) and there’s a Domino’s, Co-Op, Sainsbury’s Local, etc., on the main road (half-a-mile away). As always with Premier Inn, this hotel is very pleasant, comfortable, and clean, although one receptionist seemed somewhat unprofessional (e.g., on her mobile while checking us in). We were particularly pleased that for our stay the Travelodge was more expensive, so increasing the already good value-for-money of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was the only Premier Inn we have stayed in that offered us a morning paper. It was next door to Table Table restaurant which was very good. The train station round the corner went to York or Leeds the other way, both journeys taking about half an hour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although the receptionist on check-in was a little off-hand, the rest of our stay was very acceptable for the one night we were here to see and experience Harrogate. Location is fine, with train station literally round the corner and 3-minute journey into Harrogate town centre, so no need to drive into town. Room was reasonable size with all the standard comforts of a Premier Inn. Only drawback is - no air conditioning, and the fan provided didn't do quite enough to make it comfortable overnight. We took the Continental breakfast which was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgware_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at the Premier Inn Harrogate for 1 night on my way up to Newcastle. We had a very clean room perfect for a nights stay. I didn't find it exceptionally hot, however I did find the single bed very uncomfortable so didn't have the best nights sleep I could have.Its about a 10 minute drive into Harrogate, beware on street parking is very expensive! I only paid £29 for my room which I thought was good value. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent Hotel, Cheap if booked early, great restaurant next door for evening meal and breakfast. Clean rooms, cheap wifi (£3 a day). Great location near train station. Everything u expect with premier inn.

Now for the bad, The room we had was almost uncomfortably hot. The reading on the room thermostat hit a high of 30 degrees and a low of 27. Now if it was hot outside i would understand but the daily temperature did not go above 19. Unable to open windows more then 2 inches. The hotel obviously are aware of the problem as there is a portable fan in the room, and also guide sheets of how to deal with the current "hot weather" I dread to think how hot the room would get in really hot weather. I spoke to other people on our floor who also experienced the same problems so this was not isolated to this one room. There seemed a definite source of heat in and around the corridors etc. Downstairs though the reception / restaurant and strangely cool. Upon mentioning the heat in the room to the hotel the response was "yeh its because we haven't got air conditioning and its hot weather" great. A family member had a room on a different floor and at the back of the building and this room was a lot cooler despite this side of the hotel being in the sun most of the day?

Room Tip: My advice would be ask for a room on top floor at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlock247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel

Address: Millen House Hornbeam Park Drive | Hornbeam Park, Harrogate HG2 8RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of beautiful Harrogate, including events down the road at the Yorkshire Event Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Premier Inn
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing