We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having stayed at many Premier Inns all of which have been more than acceptable I would commend this particular Inn.
Location is good, standard of cleanliness and decoration good but above all the staff in the Inn and it's adjacent "TableTable" restaurant were exceptional in making one feel that the customer really is king!!
For a chain operation this site takes some beating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were made to feel so special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    265
    80
    26
    13
See reviews for
219
348
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We're regular users of Premier Inns, this was our first visit to this hotel and we found it a little below the standard we usually get.

The location is great, close to the Hornbeam Park rail station which serves the York-Leeds line - trains every half hour into Harrogate (one stop, less than 5 minutes). There's plenty of parking in front and to the rear of the building (entrances on both into the hotel). The hotel is just off Hookstone Road, a busy minor road - some rooms face this (ours did) and with open windows you do get some traffic noise - not to a level that bothered us, but if you're easily disturbed avoid this side.

Staff were welcoming on arrival, followed the usual formats of "just in case you change your mind" over breakfast being declined and did offer & book a table in the attached restaurant.

Our room was fairly standard in fitments, though the one real annoyance was the television which was an old-style small screen Philips (the last few have been Samsung, wide-screen format even when the size has been small). It had an on-off switch on the top (a label had been put in front of it - just as well as it was above my head height so I couldn't see it, only feel it). As usual there was one upright chair and a settee - the settee was such a distance from the TV (at least 10 feet) that binoculars would have been handy!

The bathroom was a little odd in layout & fittings - the toilet flush buttons were behind the seat lid when that was raised; the shaver point was next to the basin rather than the detergent dispenser which was on the opposite wall to the other side of the toilet (the dispenser over the bath was nearer the basin).

On arrival there was only one towel in the bathroom - the single hand towel was with the second larger towel on the wardrobe shelf (all previous PIs have had both sizes in the bathroom). We also realised that the bathmat was badly frayed and very thin when we came to use it - if we'd spotted it before we would have asked for a replacement. Both used towels & the bath mat were changed after one day despite the "green" tag attached to the towel rail & us hanging the towels up.

Overall the room was clean though the decor was getting past its "best before" - the joint in the bedhead cover was beginning to split open and the actual head a little loose on one side. The mattress also was different to our usual PI experience - each separate spring could clearly be felt & one would occasionally "ping" which at first was a bit alarming. I don't know whether it was old or a different make, but I prefer the ones we've had elsewhere!

Overall I had a good stay, just felt it was a bit below the PI norm based on recent stays elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CheresX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Super hotel, super location. We always stay in this hotel when we are Harrogate. We have stayed 6. Times now and never look anywhere else. The rooms are comfortable and the food choice is excellent, we alway have the meal deals they are fantastic value

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernedette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I'm so pleased you continue to return to us time after time, and that we provide evrything you are looking for in a hotel.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a very busy well run hotel, the rooms are the usual standard and layout which I have become to expect from Premier Inns, the rooms were spotless and the service was very friendly. Victoria on reception always had a friendly smile and ready to assist, she even repaired our heating control system which went on the blink. This hotel is in a great location for Harrogate and North Yorkshire and near to a railway station with a five minute ride into Harrogate. Even though the station is only 100 yards away we never heard the trains from this local line. The hotel also has a great restaurant attached to the building without going outside..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pioneer213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you very much for your pleasant response. I'm really pleased you had such a lovely stay with us.
We agree that we are in an ideal location, for visting many wonderful places.

We hope to entice you back one day!

Kindest regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding in Harrogate. The staff could not have been friendlier. An early check-in to a spotlessly clean spacious room was organised. Excellent coffee, chocolate muffin and gluten free toast was available while we waited a short time for our room, having arrived at 11.00 am, an hour before check out. Would highly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Harrogate and this area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind response. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us so much.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

From start to finish this was a very enjoyable stay. A warm welcome awaits you, the rooms are clean, the service is friendly, the restaurant is very good and the food is excellent. Great location within a short distance of the station and only a few minutes from town centre, also very central for travel onwards to local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here, and that you were able to explore some our beautiful town with ease.

We hope to welcome you in the future

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed for two nights over bank holiday weekend. The family room was really big. Had asked for a quiet room and we were at the end of the corridor - didn't hear a thing. The hotel is well placed really close to Hornbeam Park train station so it takes 2 minutes to get into Harrogate on the train and there is no hassle trying to find those elusive car parking spaces in town. This is quite a small hotel and possibly due to lack of room at breakfast there is no buffet facility for hot food which means that breakfast is cooked to order which is a nice touch. The reception staff are all really friendly and helpful, printing off train times etc. the only downside is there is no air conditioning which could be a problem, however reception staff did offer sheets instead of duvets and recommended putting a jug of cold water in front of our fan in the room. We took up neither offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAECW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. It's great to hear that our staff are providing everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

We very much look forward to welcoming you sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Address: Millen House Hornbeam Park Drive | Hornbeam Park, Harrogate HG2 8RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of beautiful Harrogate, including events down the road at the Yorkshire Event Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Premier Inn
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing