We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal accommodation for 2 in peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Close Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jools R
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal accommodation for 2 in peaceful location”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

New Close cottage sits in the owner's grounds on a quiet road in the Yorkshire dales. It is close to Pateley Bridge which has shops,restaurants etc. The location is also good for walks with scenic countryside in the immediate vicinity.
The accommodation is clean and comfortable with a good size kitchen on the lower floor with lounge, bedroom and bathroom on the upper, All in all a good way of 'getting away from it all'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind response, so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed Nidderdale and would love to welcome you back.
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your kind review which we appreciate. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Nidderdale and managed to visit so many local attractions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
So glad you enjoyed your second visit. It was a pleasure seeing you again.
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
123bagswo...
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place. It was well equiped, in a great location with lovely views. I will go back sometime. We really enjoyed the wellington pub that that was nearby and ate there nearly every night. The owners were nice and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
Am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and had time in your schedule to sample the local pubs.
Many thanks
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Many thanks. So glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage.
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy P
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful country cottage - made the difference to our short holiday”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a wonderful little cottage this is, we are so pleased to have found this - we were not disappointed in any way.
As many others have said, New Close Cottage has everything that you need for a short or longer break. The owners have made a lovely and really well thought out conversion of the old barn - the photo in the hallway of the barn "before" restoration shows it as it was in its raw state and the owners own house is also a wonderful conversion.
It was so nice to wake up in the morning and to come "home" in the evening to warm and comfortable cottage.
Anne is a great host and supplied us with all the information that we needed for our stay in plenty of time so that we new what to bring and how to get there.
The surrounding Dales are lovely too - even though the sun didn't shine that much the Dales were looking good in their changing autumn colours.
We look forward to returning in the summer next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as we expected and the contact from the owner.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have tried to make the cottage as comfortable for our guests as we can so we ar4e glad you appreciated it.
If you do manage to come to the area next year we shall be glad to welcome you both.
Kind regards
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing