We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of April House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
April House
Ranked #27 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister are currently staying at April House and it's just lovely. Beautiful room and bathroom and very clean. 5 minuets walk into town. We highly recommend April House.
We ended up here as there was a problem with the Guest House we originally booked and the owner found us this room last minuet.
There is parking right outside which you are are given a parking permit on arrival.
David, the owner, greeted us and showed us to our room( even carrying our bags), and then we were greeted by their gorgeous dog Ellie.
.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank justinecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
105
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My sister and I have stayed at April House many times over the last nine years. The owners, Ruth and David, are extemely helpful and friendly and do everything to make us feel at home. Our bedrooms were very comfortable, clean and cosy and the breakfasts excellent. April House is close to the exhibtion centre and only a short walk from the town centre. A lovely place to stay and we would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Harrogate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Preston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely weekend break. Convenient location for town. Fabulous room with very comfortable bed. Great variety of choice for breakfast.The owners couldn't do enough for us. Will defiantly return. Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: Phone direct to get the best deals!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights at April House after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. The location is lovely and quiet and within easy walking distance of the town centre, the room was nicely furnished and very clean. I can only agree with the majority of the reviews that this is a very nice B & B and I would certainly stay there again when next in Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

April House was the perfect B and B . Lovely room, excellent breakfast and delightful hosts. It is also in a quiet, tree lined road just a few minutes walk from Harrogate town centre. Good value for money,we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Harrogate.

Room Tip: All three rooms were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Lovely stay at April House. We were very well looked after, the room was beautiful also. A tip that booking direct from the owner's site or by making a quick phone booking is cheaper than via the major sites. Don't miss the Turkish baths in Harrogate!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IscaScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just come back from a two night stay in Harrogate, we chose April House, due to the write ups here on Trip advisor and we were not disappointed, the Guest House is absolutely spotless and a real credit to Dave and Ruth, Dave does the best Breakfast ever and should have a side line as a comedian :-) a really pleasant and funny guy, Full English is a must.. very tasty and Beans are most definitely available.

The Hotel is quite easy to find, Parking is right outside and its a short walk into the town center.. when we arrived Dave greeted us with a parking permit for the car (those traffic wardens are keen) and gave us a map and a suggested walking route, recommending eating places for an evening meal, Our room had a large double bed, very comfy and a huge bay window looking out onto a leafy quiet street, tea making facilities two comfy chairs for book reading and a wall mounted TV, a huge shower inside a very nice bathroom, Thanks again Dave and Ruth for a very pleasant stay, we would most definitely come back to your guest house, when we return to Harrogate

Room Tip: We had Room 2, very nice, just what was needed and the bed is so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprilhouse, Owner at April House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank-you for submitting a review - and such a complimentary one - it is very much appreciated. I don't think my jokes have ever been better received and it was great to have a good laugh together!
Ruth and I hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Wynnstay House
Wynnstay House
#23 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountains Guesthouse
The Fountains Guesthouse
#14 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#19 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April House

Property: April House
Address: 3 Studley Road, Harrogate HG1 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — April House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your April House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
April House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing