We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom ideal for short people!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were forewarned with a phonecall before our stay that there would be a disco in the bar until 11pm - and the disco was loud!! If we hadn't been forewarned then we would have been very unhappy!

Room was clean and tidy. Couple of gripes though - no plug sockets next to the dressing table!! Had to sit on the bed with the mirror from the dressing table to dry and straighten my hair. The bathroom was a bit gloomy but the shower head (which is fixed) is ridiculously low! I'm 5'6" and had to bend to get under it to wash my hair!

Breakfast was a bit of a shambles! Despite ordering from the menu, the plates came out with an assortment of random food on them - not what we had ordered. We noticed this happening to other people too! When it did arrive correctly, it was merely OK, nothing special.

Overall, for the price we paid it was fine, nothing special though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky_c_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,685 - 1,691 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here on a Treyn holiday break and before setting off read reviews given. Began to think may have made a bit of a mistake but obviously too late to do anything about it. So we duly arrived and what a pleasant surprise. Got to Harrogate about 1300 so decided on lunch in Fat Badger. Excellent fish and chips for my wife and first class steak sandwich for me. Very good coffee in proper size cup.
Booked into hotel - pleasant and speedy. Nice room overlooking the stray with adequate bathroom. Dinner most acceptable - vegetables plentiful and cooked beautifully (crisp) Breakfasts just as they should be and plenty on the plate. Having to book dinner when ordering breakfast a bit strange but every meal was cooked and presented perfectly. Tempura prawns deserve a special mention - delicious!!

All in all a very enjoyable experience we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

As regular visitors to Harrogate for shopping, we usually go to a favourite pub for lunch, but standards there have been slipping, so we're thinking of somewhere different. As we got to the bottom of Montpellier Hill, and crossed the road, we were greeted with the sight of a lovely display of flowers around the building snuggling around the tables and chairs that now adorn the front and side of the hotel. Wow, we thought. We went into the Fat Badgers Bar, where a good selection of real ales could be found. I had Copper Dragon which was superb. My wife had a Sauvinon Blanc which she said was equally top notch. We ate outside, where it was busy. We had soup, and a plate to share called, 'Bits and Bobs. This consisted of Pate, cheese, olives, bread, and cold meats, complimented by a warm Pork Pie. All the food was of a very high quality and most enjoyable. The bar area is large and service good.
We will definately be back again, as its now our 'Favourite'.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jonty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

went here when shopping in harrogate for afternoon tea, in a lovely part of the town, service excellent, LOVED the tea room, gave a whole new meaning to shabby chic and lots of ideas, especially the teapot shaped lights! food was lovely, although being diabetic i should have asked for less cakes and more sandwiches, but that wasnt their fault, my husband soon made short work of them, very civilised placed to be, we shall go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank sarah635927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The White Hart Hotel used to be such a quiet place. Not anymore! The Fat Badger pub was busy every night and all public space in the hotel is now taken up by eating or drinking in one form or another. Having just stayed there a week, I found the quality of the food to be excellent and the service friendly and efficient. Perhaps the only black mark (although didn't affect me) was that some in our group with food allergies were kept waiting. The rooms in the hotel are quite basic, though clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms will be away from the Fat Badger end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We ate in the main restaurant which has been nicely decorated but the service was a bit vague, had a total of 4 different staff attending to us, asked 2 for the specials menu, one told me they had been too busy to write it & the other went away & came back with the vegetarian menu. Thought the entire menu a bit limited to be honest, ordered a risotto & fetta beignet that turned out to be a bowl of string cheese risotto with sloppy mushrooms on it!
Steak was bit average & the sauce I thought was out of a packet.
Could do better!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great location in the heart of Harrogate. Recent refurbishment of ground floor made for a smart hotel. Great bar. Very good service at breakfast. Comfortable clean room, beds were great. Car parking on site was plentiful. We used the gym which was well equipped but check opening times.

Only downside was the noise. Banging fire doors through the night,(we stayed Fri/Sat) and could hear the conversation from next room at 03.30 in the morning. Think thin walls are to blame. For this reason sadly we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Room 307 has a view of concrete balustrade! However away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F776HR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £45 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing