We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 2 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 10 December 2011

we refused the first room on 3rd floor, and after many strange disussions with the manic receptionist were offered a marginally better room on the 2nd floor- poor furniture, ripped curtains, and water stains down the wall. Somehow the receptionist thought we were less worthy of a decent room than other guests No suitable communal areas to sit in- the bar is a heaving pub
breakfast pleasant but debris from previous evening dining all over the floors
no nice smellies in bathroom- contrary to website

When spoke to gennerla manager a few days later (no one able to resolve my complaint during our stay) he offered a free night in the new year- so let's hope it's a better experience

Room Tip: avoid 304 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,624 - 1,630 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed in the White Hart on a Monday night in December. The public areas are nicely presented and it feels like a typical spa town hotel when you first get in. Receptionist was efficient and quick. I asked for her finest room and she upgraded me from the second floor to the third floor as the upper floor has been refurbished.

I'll start with the negatives as that's what people are looking for in these reviews .....

The room was a bit gloomy with fairly dark beige walls, black furniture and a small window half blocked by the castelations outside. Others have complained about the heating. They have some centrally controlled regulators and if you want it adjusting you have to make a call to reception but my room was a reasonable temperature. However there was no heating in the bathroom and that was freezing.

The room security is unusual in that if you shut the door you can simply open again from the outside. If you want to lock it you have to push a button on the inside before you shut the door. OK once you know but when I met my colleagues downstairs in the bar it turned out none of them had realised this and so all their rooms were unlocked. A big sign on the inside of the door may help here.

Apart from these niggles it was a good stay.

Room was quiet and nice and dark with a comfy bed so had a good night's sleep.

Location is good, 5 mins walk from town centre 10 mins from the station and a nice restaurant next door.

The fat badger bar on the ground floor served good beer in nice surroundings but we did get chucked out at 01:00 which was probably a good thing!

The best bit though was the breakfast. After having hundreds of hotel breakfasts in my time I'm used to the usual luke-warm buffet but this was an amazing breakfast. Tea served in a china tea-pot in a china tea cup the full English had really nice ingredients cooked to perfection and served hot on a decent plate.

So in summary, an OK hotel in a good location with a great breakfast. Get an upgrade to a refurbished room if you can.

Room Tip: get a refurbished room. 314 is front-facing but has the window mostly blocked by castelations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_and_Ali_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just to say we were disappointed about the room facilities and general gloominess in the room that myself and colleague shared on the 24thSeptember 2011.
We had booked in advance to allow you time to accommodate us with some comfort and welcome but to receive a very gloomy room obviously built for disabled guest(s) was very poor form indeed!!.Having a large hot pipe running by the side wall and rickety bath stall and basin was not what we were expecting.
To have a very moldy green wall outside the windows which of course could not be opened fully was very off-putting.

Room Tip: View the room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyLonsdaleBarsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Mid week lunch. Good atmosphere and surroundings, especially if you want something interesting and different from an average pub or restaurant. The menu was more interesting than most these days for lunch and the quality of the food delivered on expectations. The staff were also excellent. A first class experience and we will visit again.

Room Tip: Orders are taken at the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

what a fantastic job has been done on this place...! Haven't been for over a year and was stunned with the quality of the new White Hart. the Fat Badger pub was really buzzing, a beautiful area serving fantastic food and real ales. The brasserie/tea room was also outstanding, with 2 AA Rosettes. such a good atmosphere and friendly service, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolsyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The White Hart is a four star hotel in the centre of Harrogate. It enjoys a wonderful location opposite the stray, which is a park in the town centre, and adjacent to the amazing shops of Harrogate. Just a two minute walk from the world famous Betty's cafe. We had a perfect stay here, it met all our expectations. The rooms were large, and the beds comfortable, flat screen tv's and every convenience. The award winning two rosette restaurant is serving amazing food, and the service is attentive and friendly. There is a very friendly pub at the hotel, The Fat Badger, which is welcoming and relaxing, with a wonderful atmosphere, which also serves very good food. I didn't avail myself of the afternoon tea but it looked superb, every bit as good as Betty's and far less expensive, and no queues! An added bonus is the large free car park. For those of you who haven't been before, this is very rare in the town centre, as parking is dififcult and limited in the town. I have no hesitation in recommending this superb hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed here to attend a wedding ceremony at the hotel bot,h the civil ceremony and the reception. The rooms were clean tidy and comfortable with plenty of room. The reception food was very good. I also went to the adjoining bar which has recently been opened and it seemed the place to be in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £48 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing