We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant visit”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant visit”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We dined in the restaurant last night. The service is very casual, phrases like "there you go" pepper the experience.
One waitress spoke no English at all. The whole thing was shoddy and although the setting is good, there is no customer service as it's obvious the staff aren't trained.
I had the smoked haddock risotto which was bland.
To be fair though the bits & bobs platter was tasty especially the pate.
Pity the service lets everything down so much, they could learn a lot by visiting Rudding Park where we dined last week, it was just fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyHepburn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    511
    367
    168
    92
See reviews for
191
837
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This a review of a "restaurant" in a hotel in Harrogate. That should make most people run a mile as Harrogate is already very well served with decent restaurants in the town centre and most hotel dining is, how can I say, very traditional (mass catering, bland and old fashioned like Fanny Craddock).

Yet, this recently rejuvenated hotel is trying very hard to make a mark and if they can keep it up they will. The decor at ground level is sophisticated and modern, all cold colours, dark wood and candles. Nice touch is the door link to The Fat Badger pub, where you can have a sharpener pre dinner.

We went for the Wine Club dinner in January 2012, which is a great opportunity to sample some great wines matched to dishes from the White Hart kitchen, as a concept it sounds great and at £35/person it is very good value, they hold one each month on the last Tuesday (I think, check).

Assuming the food and wine on a normal night are of similar quality then it is well worth a visit whether it's your first visit to Harrogate or for a regular diner looking for a new restaurant.

The food was themed around game and included a terrine with winter fruits, pan fried mallard duck and quail in pastry with a desert of banana bread with sloe gin ice cream, wine was chosen to complement each dish.

The food was a mixed bag:

- Starters, the terrine with winter fruits and salmon with capers were tasty and well balanced, with no sign of rocket anywhere.

- Mains, the mallard duck was overcooked and tough, the cherry sauce was tasteless, the quail in pastry was delicious, yet mounting it on an Everest of sauerkraut was a mistake.

- Desert, the banana bread was disappointing, heavy and absolutely tasteless, left it, the sloe gin ice cream was delicious.

The wines were a pretty good match with the food apart from a Pinot Noir that was totally blown away by the sauerkraut.

The staff were attentive and helpful even though they were trying to feed 50 people at the same time.

I sensed a really good chef behind the meal, just need to keep the focus on excellence and execution in each and every dish.

The White Hart is trying hard to be a go to restaurant and if the management and kitchen keep their focus and iron out a few weaknesses then they will have a winner on their hands.

On the basis of the quality of the food, wines, service and general ambience I'm happy to recommend the White Hart Restaurant.

Room Tip: We did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilchonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Generally a nice hotel with friendly staff. Well located and public rooms in good condition. Breakfast was great and dinner in the restaurant was very good apart from an inedible Tiramisu that was dry and hard.
What I can't forgive is the size of the supposedly double bedroom. There was 8 inches between the bed and a wardrobe so you had to shuffle past sideways banging your knees on the wooden bed footboard. The wardrobe door could not be used. Only a bedside table and light on one side of the bed so no reading for one of us! See the photo's.
A further issue was that there was no heat control in the room which was uncomfortably hot - reception could not help because the central control system was broken. We slept (or tried to) with the windows wide open listening to the very noisy street cleaning trucks and other sounds of the city.
We arrived late and did not make a fuss but when we politely told the manager in the morning he got quite uptight because we mentioned trip advisor.
Get the right room and it's a good hotel. Avoid the third (top) floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, check that they have fixed the heating controls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Recently well decorated, Not a dolly girl behind reception, but someone mature and curteous.

Do yourself a favour and don't leave Hotel for food, the Restaurant food is as good as any restaurant has to offer in Harrogate.

The Bar/Pub is popular with locals and is decorated well, however broadband reception is poor.

Will return with family to stay for weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosscmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business with colleagues in January 2012, the accommodation was booked in August 2011 and we paid £65 per person per night for B&B. All our rooms were rubbish, so avoid at all costs 323, 319 & 310. Very small, tatty old furniture and noisy. There are some plus points however. Dinner in the Brasserie restaurant was fantastic on both evenings and matched by first class service. Breakfast is first class also. The location of the hotel is also in a great location. The car park is no longer free and costs £2 to exit.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Decided to treat my friend as she has just turned 50 to afternoon tea.The room was lovely, nice decor and a relaxing atmosphere. We ordered the £14.95 tea which consisted of 3 sandwiches(no choice of filling) a heavy scone,and 3 uninspiring cakes that looked like " Mr Kipling" cake bars and a shot glass of lemon mousse, what a shame I would have expected little eclairs,something a bit more fancy.Ah well back to "Bettys" next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suespecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

After reading some of the negative comments, we almost cancelled our booking, however, so glad we didn't. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's. We decided to upgrade to the Here Come the Girls package - a great decision! All details on website so wont go into content here, but we could not fault it for value for money. We sampled the afternoon tea - fab - serious competition in the hometown of Bettys! Dinner was sublime with both quality and quantity. The Breakfasts are to die for. The Fat Badger Pub is buzzing with a really friendly atmosphere, didnt get to try out the lunches but can't think they would not be good.

Not enough positives? Well we must mention the consistently friendly and obliging staff, dont be offended if we don't single you out as all of you were great, but would like to mention those who went the extra mile in terms of welcome and ensuring our stay was so enjoyable. In no particular order: Bruce on the Door, Catherine in reservations, Sylvia in the Restaurant. And, sorry didnt get your names - the young man who served us afternoon tea and the gentleman who checked us in and looked after us at breakfast.

One negative - I can't bring my husband as he refuses to travel without our fur child! If you review the pet policy, we would be there in a heartbeat.

That said, would not hesitate to recommend and already looking in the diary to see when we can fit in another girlie trip. Hope to see you all again soon - The girls! xxx

Room Tip: Room 218 - Double aspect, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing