We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Nosh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I am not youthful so have had my fair share of meals out that taste microwaved , artificial and feel I have wasted my money.
We did not stay in hotel but ate in its restaurant. Was going into The Fat Badger but on seeing it, it was more for a drinking session .We were meeting other old friends not seen for a year so had a lot of chatting to do. I cannot compliment the chef enough for the best Sunday roast I have ever had. Added to this the service was good and the sticky toffee pud Homemade!
If you appreciate home cooked food,like Mother used to make, Go.

Room Tip: Sorry cannot help here but needed to sing praise of its restaurant for Sunday lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,635 - 1,641 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Twelve mature gentlemen stopped here last weekend for a golfing trip and have no complaints whatsoever. The location is excellent. The hotel was comfortable. The Fat Badger is a cracking pub adjoining the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic and set us up for a long day golfing or when we were rained off, a long day drinking! Staff in the hotel and pub went out of there way to help us enjoy our time in Harrogate. Not one complaint from anyone speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great location a bit noisy at night we had to leave window open and all we could hear was the noise from the road and the noisey bar drinkers,we were on the 3rd floor and if you looked up as you comeout the lift the glass above you was broken ,mouldy and was looking unsafe.The hotel staff were first rate,we could not go into the bar for a meal as it was overcrowded and no seat couldbe seen never mind found.We pre ordered a cot for our 1year old Grand son when we got into our room the cot was there but was broken why would any hotel put a broken cot into a room???? The room it's self was ok a bit small,bathroom was ok for 1 night.Breakfast was hot but small portions but theservice was quick and friendly.Would we stay in this hotel again 50/50

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper get an upper fllor room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed on the 'summer madness deal' - £99 for bed breakfast and evening meal - fantastic value for money. Hotel is ideally situated near centre of town, beautifully decorated, staff extremely welcoming and polite. Fat Badger really nice pub, good selection of real ale and lagers. Dined in the brasserie, food was top notch. Will definately stay again and if lived closer would visit more frequently to use the restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

As a full time carer I was looking forward to a relaxing and restful 2 night break away from 24 hour caring duties with my husband.
We paid in full for our room prior to seeing it and was appalled at the room we were given. We had to step over the soiled laundry as this room is where the stock room is. The room was nothing more than a dark box room which overlooked bins and faced a brick wall. The generator was also here which kept us awake all night and the air in the room was humid at best. The adjoining bathroom had a floor length window with no blinds and therefore no privacy to shower or even use the toilet. I also got bitten by something during the night.
We had originally been given room 215 which was situated facing the front of the hotel but I can only presume someone else had been allocated room 224 before we arrived and had complained, so the rooms had been switched.
As exhausted carers we really didn't have the energy to complain and the male receptionist was not at all helpful and said "You have to email the Manager, who isn't here and he will sort it out".
We also filled in and handed in the questionnaire but have had no response. Somehow I think this hotel will be losing more customers than gaining regulars in the future.
Fat Badger and Food in the restaurant was ok but we have had better.
We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask or maybe I should say insist on a room at the front of the hotel, friends we travelled with had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52Lexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

On arrival made to pay before seeing room- we certainly should have asked to see it first. On our pre-booking sheet it said room 215 but we were given keys to 104. Appalling room, tiny and really dark, mottled glass windows to block view of bins and car park. Bins in fact were under window which became clear when window was opened to let in some air as room was also stuffy and hot. Really loud generator just outside window. Tiny plastic-cubicle of a shower circa 1970 something. We went to ask for another room and were told there was only one just down the corridor: 102. As it was a Saturday night and we had dinner reservations we felt we had little choice but to take it. Same view, even stinkier bins outside window. Same shower, slightly bigger and lighter room, dirty windows, scruffy dirty furniture. To top it all the door didn't lock properly! It felt as though we were given a different room to the one we had booked which was clearly shown on the pre-booking sheet. Appalling will never go back and same goes for the fat badger.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gertrude05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed at the White Hart with two friends for two nights whilst attending the Symposium Mammographicum conference at Harrogate conference centre this week. The hotel was booked in advance, however past reviews did worry me slightly. I had no reason to be concerned, car parking upon arrival was simple (£2 each time to exit seemed cheap compared to the travelodge which was £11 a day), as was check in at reception with helpful staff. As three of us booked we were given a double bedroom and a twin bedroom adjoining with a shared bathroom which was ideal and would suit families perfectly. The décor was simple yet elegant with a boutique charm. Yes there was a stone wall outside the window but you only have to look around Harrogate to realise this is part of its charm, and in no way should be changed. Although the rooms were more than comfortable, sleep was hindered slightly due to the immense heat through the night. I asked at reception if this could be looked at and the second night was much better. Tea and coffee facilities available in the room, and my friend asked for an ironing board which was brought immediately to the room. The hotel is very clean and tidy, although I am nitpicking when I say there were a few marks on the walls but nothing that obvious. Breakfast was perfect with buffet style and fully cooked breakfast to order, all with waiter service. The staff really were helpful and accommodating. We ate at the fat badger for lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of food. The hotel certainly holds a special charm, and is ideally located within Harrogate centre.
There are many places to eat and shop around Harrogate, and Betty's tea rooms is just around the corner (a definite must). Although we were there predominately for business, the hotel is ideal for couples or girlie weekends away.
If you are thinking of staying but are put off by the reviews I wouldn't hesitate to return. Value for money is hard to find anywhere, especially in Harrogate and this hotel really deserves more credit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £51 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing