We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location for Harrogate”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Staines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central Location for Harrogate”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booked this Hotel very late for an exhibition at the HIC so didn't expect to get anywhere near the venue. However this hotel is just 2 minutes away and there was a single room availability so booked it at a very reasonable £80 per night B and B. Another big plus is the parking at the rear which cost just £2 however long you stay.
Reception staff were very friendly and had a bit of a joke which is always nice.
It definitely was a single room with a single bed and small bathroom but it was only one night.
I had to make some modifications like putting the TV on top of the waste bin so I could see over the frame at the end of the bed! The room was also incredibly hot and had to have the window open which made it very noisy as it was on the front of the building.
Breakfast was nice, (not a buffet but freshly cooked) and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
The Hotel is an elegant neo-classic style building which was built to house the Victorian gentry that used to take the waters of the nearby spa. It has the Fat Badger pub on the side which I wasn't sure worked with the rest of the building and afternoon tea can be taken in the tea room, no doubt they accommodate the customers that get fed up with queuing at the famous nearby Betty's Tea Rooms. Would definitely stay again but would ask for a rear facing double. Overall a good experience.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SmudgerStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    480
    352
    164
    89
See reviews for
169
781
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel for around 9am on Monday morning and parked in the rear car park. We left the car there then went off shopping. After a wonderful browse around Harrogate we went back to the hotel to check in. Once in our room, we were pleased with what we had. They gave us room 214 which was ample enough for the 2 of us. The bathroom was a little small but again, fine for a one night stay!! We unpacked then went down to the Fat Badger pub within the hotel. We found it to be a bit smelly and not very comfortable so we had 1 drink and went back into town. On our way home we called into the Crown hotel bar (opposite) and found that to be lovely. We decided to have dinner there instead of the White Hart. ( the food was lovely) When we went up to our room at around 9pm we settled down to watch some tele. At 9:50 the people, who were staying in the room above us, ARRIVED!!!!! They then proceded to bang around in their room for the next however many hours, the floorboards were creaking, we could hear every word they were saying, it actually sounded like they were coming through the ceiling!!! We were furious and by 12pm we rang down to reception who said they would sort it. Everything went queitish for around 5 minutes, then they were off again only this time, 10 times louder than before!!!!! We then rang reception again and demanded we were moved (at 1:45 in the morning!! We were given room 207 which was a twin room and very quiet. All in all, we will visit The White Hart again as they were amenable, However, we will only book if they guarantee us a room away from any potential noisy, selfish idiots!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My first visit to Harrogate and definitely not my last. A 24-hour visit for business purposes caused conflict between my brain and heart, resulting in my feet not wanting to move in the direction of the meetings I had to attend, but rather to explore this beautiful town and devour as much of it's local fare as possible. My stay at White Hart started off very well and after being offered a beautiful lower-floor room decorated in a rustic French style I almost collapsed into the fluffy white bed thinking this is where I could comfortably stay for a few days. Unfortunately within minutes a strong mechanic humming from behind the walls in the room started to worry me, and realising that at 5pm in the evening if I was that concerned then I would most likely not sleep at all that evening I changed rooms. The very helpful front desk staff were generous in offering me options and I was quickly moved to a room on a higher floor. The views over the park from the window overlooking the turret-style roof were stunning however the bedroom was a million years away from the French chic I had enjoyed downstairs - almost as if I had walked into a different hotel. It was simply a dark room with negative character but for a short stay the room was 'fine' - definitely no joy that I had felt in the original room. If I was here for a getaway I would have room-swapped until I found just the right room but for this stay all I needed was a bed to sleep on. Admittedly White Hart gave me much more.
White Hart's restaurant and pub are beautiful. Their food is fresh and delicious. The building has a castle-like feel while being warm, inviting and actually fun. There is a decidedly modern feel and look to the entire property which begs a second-look and kudos to White Hart for making it work. The White Hart is a social hub of Harrogate and one which I would definitely visit again. It's an easy 10 minute walk from the station (downhill) and close enough to Betty's and much more that I'd question why you'd need to stay elsewhere?

Room Tip: This is definitely one hotel where it doesn't hurt to ask "What other rooms are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

First impressions of the hotel were excellent. It is well-presented and the receptionist was welcoming. However, on arrival in our twin room, which was well-furnished. The tea-making facilities were not up to standard. One of the cups was dirty and so was the tray on which the items were placed. I contacted the reception and they informed the assistant manager would come to see us. He promptly did and brought with him a replacement cup. When I took a shower, the water was cold. I reported this to the reception and they said they would look into it. We received no feedback about this and I assumed it had been fixed - until I showered in the morning and it was stil cold.

On a more positive note, at breakfast, the staff were vey accommodating and provided me with gluten-free toast.

Overall, first impressions are excellent but I have stayed in better hotels which have had a lower star rating than this one. I would have expected better quality for the amount we paid.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel or you will end up with a view of the car park or the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We celebrated my father's birthday with Sunday lunch in the board room. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating at the planning stage. The room itself was beautiful, and was ideal as it allowed the young children to get down from the table between courses.
On the day, we were able to meet in the bar for a drink before going to the room for a lovely meal. The young lady who acted as hostess/waitress was superb and we all remarked on how charming she was. I would happily recommend this service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a 1 night stay, on arrival the staff were very helpful and although we were early the room was ready and we checked in straight away. The room was very spacious and was very clean, and of a good standard. The bathroom was modern and had good quality complimentary toiletries. The breakfast choice was excellent and was presented to a high standard with great service. There is a hotel pub which has a good choice of beers and ales and although we did not eat here the food looked excellent. This hotel is traditional, clean and is in a fantastic location for a visit to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Although I've give an 'average' overall rating, it's not a bad hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable - perhaps a little small, but then it was not very expensive either, (I rang and booked rather than use any website and found it £20 per night less). Breakfast was a little fraught on our second day as everybody seemed to turn up at the same time.

The hotel restaurant is very good. We had one evening meal there.

The hotel is very well situated near the centre of Harrogate. Betty's Tea shop is only 5 minutes walk as are some really good restaurants. Valley Gardens is just round the corner and that's worth a look on a nice day.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the front of the hotel, I did, but there are other reviews of the hotel which infer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing