We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night. The 2 ladies who checked us in were very friendly and helpful. They recommended "bettys" tea room which is amazing. Harrogate is a really nice place lots of bars, restaurants and shops. The room was pleasant, shower wasn't great but was ok. We ate at the restaurant and the food was super! I would definitely recommend to eat there.

I'd like to mention how nice the staff were. There's not many places with good customer service these days but the 2 ladies who checked us in (one served us for dinner) couldn't do more to help. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lashface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    469
    347
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
764
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Positioned in the heart of Montpellier Quarter, this hotel is ideal for exploring Central Harrogate. The shabby chic decor is tastefully done; we stayed in the four poster bed room, which was a generous size and overlooked the Stray - fantastic way to wake up even on a bleak December morning. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and the Fat Badger pub, which is co-located, has a great atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katefs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kelsey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Lovely bedroom, although we kept walking into the bed. comfy bed, nice bathroom, great location. We came for the Christmas Market and it was right on the doorstep. Breakfast was yummy! bar was packed, we didn't have an evening meal, as it was too posh for our taste. Definitely come back though!!

Room Tip: i'm guessing one at the front, but we didn't see one with a back view, so our room was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to hear that the Fat Badger was too busy for you it is a favourite with visitors and locals alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just returned from staying 1 night at The White Hart, Checked in and was shown a dreadful room on the 3rd floor, it was dreadfully decorated and battered awful cheap dark brown furniture, We could not have stayed in that room, If they could not offer a refurbished room, we would have checked out,.A room on the 2nd floor that has colour scheme of the dining room, Shabby chic, bed was creaky, grouting around the bad was disgusting, no light in hall so unable to use full length mirror, strip light over the curtains. Check if they have a wedding on, we were warned about the noise, did not hear any but sure some rooms would have. Did not like the taste of the sausage at breakfast but other wise ok, It was a worry and a disappointed start to think we were shown the worst room we have ever seen and to try to find another hotel, 4 Star dont know when or how it got this rating, would not go back.Friends changed rooms also and were not happy with their 2nd room either.Lounge is set up like old folks home. £6.00 parking.

Room Tip: Book another hotel, be careful in Harrogate heard a lot of the hotels are tired, but rely on it bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnersfan4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank your valued feedback all of our guests comments are taken very seriously.

We are in the process of planning a refurbishment programme for the third floor along with a maintenance programme for the second floor to which we will be look at specifically the electrics and lighting in the rooms and the positioning of furniture and mirrors

Are rooms do vary in size and décor but as you have experienced our staff will do all they can to ensure that our guests are happy with there particular rooms and if available will accommodate room moves to ensure this happens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch in the brasserie. Turkey "with all the trimmings" came with Yorkshire pudding, potatoes and a slab of stuffing. There was no chipolata, no bread sauce and no cranberry sauce (although available when we asked). The battered Dover sole was minuscule goujons of fish in very heavy and soggy batter. It came with mushy peas but no chips or other potatoes - it was mostly left uneaten. The third meal was roast lamb which was okay but looked, as did the turkey, as if it had been reheated in slices in the gravy. Mint sauce was provided but had to be requested. The dining room was almost empty and this was on a day when we had been unable to get a table at either William and Victorias or the Timble Inn so clearly not quiet elsewhere. Our waitress was delightful - the only beacon of light in a very lacklustre experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent experience at The Brasserie.

I have passed your comments on to our Chef and General Manager for them to address accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned home having spent a night at The White Hart. It's in a great location for exploring Harrogate. Car Parking is at the rear of the premises.
Our room was OK with everything we needed but was in need of some updating as it was looking shabby, the bathroom was fine for our needs but again needed a bit of attention.
We ate in the restaurant with a group of friends and the meal was superb, we could not fault the quality of the food and the service was top notch. The staff are certainly a credit to the hotel as nothing was too much trouble for them.
Breakfast was very good with quality ingredients.
All in all we had a brilliant stay and would definitely return to The White Hart again if visiting Harrogate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad to hear that you had a brilliant stay and we do look forward to seeing you return back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Had lunch in the Fat Badger before checking in - perfect bar and the choice was great, ranging from Pheasant to Bangers & Mash. Lovely atmosphere and staff were very friend and helpful.
Checked in and our room was gorgeous - 4 poster bed, spacious room and a lovely view. Bed was very comfortable too!
Staff were extremely accommodating and the whole hotel was well kept, clean and cosy.
Would definitely recommend and will be returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mitt_198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at The White Hart Hotel along with your lunch in The Fat Badger.
We will make sure that we pass on ;your comments to the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing