We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Perfect location for a weekend getaway, central and close to the attractions of Harrogate. Beautifully decorated. We were told our room wasn't one of the newly refurbished ones but it didn't disappoint as it was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable.
We were upgraded to a room on the third floor as it was a particularly busy weekend and the pub was quite loud. This was understandable considering there was an event booked and the hotel doubles as a conference centre. This upgrade was greatly appreciated as we were looking for a relaxed weekend break.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better to avoid weekend noise from the pub below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I am glad to hear that you had a relaxed weekend away.

We do always try and ensure that all our guests are well looked after during there stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    461
    335
    161
    88
See reviews for
162
746
47
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel was a bit tired looking unfortunately as it is in a good location. The room was a bit on the cold side and there was no heating in the bathroom which was draughty. The bed was comfortable enough. The shower was fine. The wi-fi signal was non existent. The walls were quite thin and I could hear the conversation of the man in the next room. There were 2 different menus in the room for the restaurant and pub downstairs, but I was informed that both places were serving the same. Second night I found Betty's instead (excellent idea!) Also had to pay for 2 nights parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are currently in the process of arranging a refurbishment programme for the Hotel to ensure that we are keeping the rooms up to date.
We have just had a new booster system fitted to the Wifi in order to strengthen the signal throughout the hotel but I apologies that this was too late for your stay.

The two menus in your room would have been for The Fat Badger Pub which serves from 12 Noon until 7pm and The White Hart Brasserie Menu which serves from 6pm onwards although you are more than welcome to have The Brasserie menu in The Fat Badger during your stay.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for midweek break with husband and my brother and sister-in-law.
What a lovely hotel.
We stayed in 218 right on the corner of the building. Unfortunately over the pub.The noise wasn't too bad.
The room was a little cold on arrival. Turned heating on full blast. Still cold but when we went reception we were given a little heater which made a big difference.
Room big with nice view to the Main Street and up the side street. Clean and bath with shower to the on suite.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was really nice and service very good. Breakfast next day was plentiful and again could not fault the service on the two days we stayed.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Front of hotel nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suealFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you thought the hotel was lovely.
You did stay in one of my favourite rooms 218 (Executive Room) with the beautiful views over the stray and I am glad to hear that you were not disturbed too much by The Fat Badger we do try and ensure that the noise is kept to a minimum for the guests staying.
We do hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The White Hart is fantastically located and externally is very nice. Room 212 (a suite) is, at first view, lovely but a closer view reveals very tired decor and the need to be updated. The adjoining pub has a good range of beers and serves nice snacks at ridiculous prices (£7 for coronation chicken sandwich). The breakfast menu provides plenty of options and was very satisfying. Found it a bit strange when paying over £100 for B&B you have to pay to park your car on the on-site car park.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms at the Hotel and can assure you that the points raised have been noted and will be addressed. As I am sure you can appreciate it is on going work in progress for a busy 53 bedroom hotel.

Unfortunately Car Parking spaces in Harrogate are at a premium and therefore the charging for parking is quite normal, I can assure you that we are with the prices charged by our competitors and in some cases we are cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked a night away for my girlfriend on January 25th as a surprise. After going out for a meal we went back to the room (220) and were greeted by the very loud music from the party below. It was that loud you could feel the vibrations from the bass in bed. I complained to reception and was told there's nothing they can do, the music will go on until 12 and there's no more rooms available. I'm 24 years old, don't get me wrong I'm not a party pooper but it was a joke. It wasn't told about this party when I checked in or I would of not bothered. I live at the other end of Bradford, so about 45 minutes drive away. It was that bad I asked for a refund and checked out at 11.30pm and drove home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zac198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I sincerely apologise that you were not informed of the party before checking in to the Hotel, this was an oversight on our behalf and has been taken up with the management of the hotel to ensure that the procedures for this are readdressed.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to move you to an alternative room as I can assure that this would have been completed for you if there was one available as the last thing we want is any of our guests to be unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for 1 night half board we'll worth every penny lovely clean hotel, staff friendly , food excellent and the service would certainly recommend to stay there as it's close to all amenities and car parking not a problem if ever to go back to Harrogate will certainly stay at this hotel again .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments I can assure you that these have been passed on the staff at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Booked through booking.com...my partner and I had a lovely 2 night break at this hotel,we thoroughly embraced it,from Sunday lunch to dinner on our last night,great value with 50% off if you dine before 7pm,the food was very good,I had pheasant Wellington and my partner had lamb.All of the staff were friendly,helpful and happy,we joined in the pub quiz on the Sunday night,had afternoon tea at Betty's,a little expensive but worth a visit,I had a free make over in a local department store! so all in all a great time in Harrogate.Oh and not forgetting a lovely room with a view,will definatly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Wow what a great way to spend your time in Harrogate it definitely sounds like you made the most of your time away, from a true Yorkshire Sunday Roast, our famous Fat Badger quiz to a well deserved treat at Bettys.

Keep an eye on our face book page for both the Hotel and The Fat Badger as we often put special offers and upcoming events on there.

We do hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is located within Harrogate's Montpellier Quarter, is an ideal base from which to explore all that Harrogate has to offer. Occupying a beautifully detached Georgian Manor House, the White Hart Hotel is just minutes from the town centre, Harrogate International Centre and the famous Valley Gardens. The White Hart Hotel offers luxurious four star AA rated accommodation, conference and events facilities, a two AA Rosette Restaurant, a tea room serving homemade cakes and a wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing