We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teeny tiny tatty funny smelling rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I booked this on the strength of the photos on the web but these bear no relation to the actual rooms. Ours was so small I couldn't walk between the bed and the chest of drawers; I had to turn and shuffle sideways. All of the furniture was cheap, old, scuffed and scratched and there was a pervasive smell of whatever industrial cleaning products they use which just would not go away.

The room was functional I guess but utterly devoid of any kind of opulence. Definitely not what you expect for 4* £80+ rooms. Frankly not up to the standard of a £30 premier inn room.

Room Tip: Try The Crown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werstdcygvhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent, friendly hotel, with good, helpful staff. It's in a great location, in this lovely town. They even have a great selection of real ales, unlike most larger hotels. A real find. I'll definitely be back with my girlfriend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad that you found the great selection of ales that we have in The Fat Badger.
If you are a fan of your real ales you may want to try one of our Beer Club Nights. They are usually held on the first Tuesday of the month and include Three Courses paired with a Pint of Real Ales from the visiting Brewery for each course - great value at £20.00 per person. Check out our website for further details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in a fantastic room, four poster bed which was really nice, could not fault it. the bathroom was a little dated and the shower was hard to get warm but I would stay again for sure. The pub is part of the hotel, the food was expensive and not that great, did not meet expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We appreciate all feedback by our guests and I was sorry to see that you felt let down with the food on offer. Therefore, I hope you don't mind us contacting you directly to get a bit more information on where you felt that we had let you down.
We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were really pleased with our stay at this wonderful hotel. We would definitely recommend it if you are staying in Harrogate. It is very central, food is excellent and the room was really well decorated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Disappointing! A tiny room at the back of the hotel with a view of a wall and some extraction ducting. Some aspects were very dated eg. Carpets and bathroom but it was clean and convenient central location. Breakfast was great but avoid room 222 unless you want to be woken before 6 on a Sunday by creaking floorboards and the sound of a TV from the rooms above!

Room Tip: Not room 222!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 704liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay.
We do have varying room types available at The White Hart, our Badger Rooms and some of the Standard Double Rooms are situated at the rear of the Hotel. However, the most popular of our rooms are the Superior Rooms and Executive Rooms as the majority of these rooms are front facing with views overlooking the stray.
I am sorry you were disturbed by the creaking floorboards from the room above, we are in the process of planning the maintenance schedule for rooms and I will ensure that the floor boards in the room above are marked down to be secured when we complete this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

just spent 2 nights here in this beautiful building,although there is a lot of dark wood it is still lovely, our room was very small but very comfy and warm, lovely clean linen and large fluffy towels,We loved the checked curtains and cushions to match, lampshades very nice too.the furniture was a bit worn and wardrobe door had a problem staying shut. we had people above us -so it could be noisy& creaky!.Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked---mustv'e been the biggest bacon &tasty bacon sandwich I have ever had.!- hubby had it the next day!!!.there was no fridge in the room but the staff were more than willing to store my meds.in the hotel fridge.
the hotel is at the bottom of a steep hill however we discovered if we walked through a near-by bar/rest-we were 1/2way up the hill. there are lovely shops near-by and it's close to the rail and bus station. It was lovely at night with the trees lit up at the front. we would def. stay here again if we were around those parts.

Room Tip: request the top floor-- you won't hear people above. rooms to the front look onto a lovely lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments so glad to see that you enjoyed your break at The White Hart. Just to let you know we are in the process of preparing a refurbishment schedule with a view to change the dark wood in the rooms on the third floor to a much lighter, brighter colour scheme along with replacing the furniture in the rooms. Once this in in progress we will be updating our facebook page and website to keep you informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I found my stay here disappointing.

The hotel itself doesn't live up to the 4* grading. The exterior and facade is very appealing but this isn't continued throughout the interior. Our hallway smelt of cigarettes and it was also covered in large piles of dirty linen for the duration of the trip. Our room was small, dark and tired - a far cry from the style and standard indicated on the website.

This would be perfectly acceptable should it have been fairer priced. One night at this hotel for £100 isn't worth the money, especially when guests must pay to use the hotel carpark. The central location is convenient and it was a clean bed to sleep in, but it was nothing more than this unfortunately.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangoandcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The White Hart Hotel.
Are you able to advise me of the details of your reservation so I can investigate this matter further, please feel free to contact me directly on sales@whitehart.net.
I look forward to hearing from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £53 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing