We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The inn is in a good central location overlooking the Stray which is lovely stretch of parkland. Parking in the hotel car park is tricky as it's on a raised area behind the hotel and the access lane is difficult to find. Entering the car park a ticket is issued at the barrier and this has to be scanned by the receptionist before you can exit. The reception staff were friendly and efficient, but as we did not use the bar or the restaurant cannot comment on the staff there. Our room was a dual aspect room and we had views of the Stray, and it had been recently re-furbished and was attractive. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was of good quality.Unfortunately, the hairdryer could not be used while looking in the mirror, due to the position of the powerpoints. The bathroom was functional, but could have done with a make over. Our room was comfortable, but with a little attention could have been improved .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alison083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at The White Hart for 3 nights and despite asking 3 times for the radiator in our room to be turned off, it was never done, so we were either boiling hot as the radiator was on full, or freezing cold as we had to open the window to cool down. The hotel has recently been refurbished, but clearly the painters needed more training as my 5 year old son could have done a better job on the woodwork! The property itself could be beautiful- the ceilings are high, and the rooms a reasonable size, but it is too 'fussy' with lots of 'nick nacks' around, straw hearts, noticeboards with trite messages on them, etc. The brasserie served food that was passable, and the staff in there were affable. Room and bedding and towels were clean, but the shower leaked all over the floor as the shower screen was not a good fit.
Good, central position for the town though- everything within an easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I recently stayed at the White Heart whilst on business. The hotel is well equipped and has a lovely bar joined to it called the Fat Badger. The rooms are well presented and very comfortable and excellent for the price. The only qualm I had was that the shower was cold, this may have been due to the fact I was on the 3rd floor, but even so it did let the hotel down which otherwise would be prefect. The location is ideal if you are visiting Harrogate and it is very central with safe secure parking included. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Harrogate or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here in March, room was ok, one or two niggles though, floors very creaky, mirror over the dressing table far to high to the point you cannot see while sitting down, no plug sockets at dressing table, had to put kettle in TV table draw to boil it as no sockets except, for TV& lamp so one had to be unplugged, radiator could not be turned off as the valve was missing so very hot during the night, hand basin was cracked an took an age to run away, evening meal well my wife's fillet steak was asked to be well done but wasn't, sent it back but only took hers and not mine which I thought ought to have been done as par for the course,service good, breakfast service not so good, Fat Badger pub good, but I think things could be a lot better. Parking value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only and got a good deal through one of the booking sites. However, the room which we were initially allocated was on the 3rd floor, extremely shabby, drab and very 'brown'. We were at the front of the hotel with a 'view' of 2 stone pillars and the damaged seal on the double glazing meant that what was left of the restricted view was clouded with condensation. No socket for the kettle and we had to remove the television plug and balance the kettle precariously on the edge of the very chipped set of drawers. I mentioned my disappointment about the standard of the room to the Reception staff who explained that the hotel was in the process of being refurbished, were very helpful and friendly and moved us to another, much better, room with no fuss at all. Would definitely stay again, if only for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the first or second floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661lizzie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night in March. The room was very small and the furniture very shabby- at the back of the hotel looking at 2 stone pillars. The bed linen and room were very clean but had an hilarious time trying to find where to plug in the kettle for a cup of tea - no power point within reach of the tray on the dressing table ! eventually took out the bedside lamp plug and used that - very odd !! However breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel was not up to the expectations we would expect of a 4star but enjoyed our stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is in an exceptionally good position.
Was a little surprised that the hotel is graded as a 4* as well travelled and would rate no more than 3*,
The staff were excellent very attentive and friendly, big thank you to them! Did not like the fact that as residents we had to wade through the customers in the pub to be able to purchase a drink. No waiter service if sitting in the lounge, The breakfast was plentiful and of good standard, We ate out in Harrogate Friday in an excellent Thai restaurant but chose to eat in the Hotel on the Saturday evening as we were celebrating our daughters 30th birthday. Starters were fine, however two sirloin steaks were total gristle as was my fillet steak. The Manager was very obliging and refunded the cost, the other meals were all fine.
Rooms were adequate although very tired, the hotel could seriously do with a make over. The room was uncomfortably hot and we were unable to turn the heating off, although the radiator was off the pipes were hot at all times we had to sleep with the window open, there were large extractor fans outside which were very noisy. The room was very clean as was the bathroom and the linen or good quality.
Although it sounds as though there were lots or moans these were all justified, it did not spoil the weekend at all and we had a brilliant time. Would not put us off of going to the White Hart again just think last night in the restaurant may have been an off night as people speak very highly of this restaurant generally.

Room Tip: Ask what the room looks out over, not extractor fans or a brick wall would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £56 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing