We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Was a fab place to stay was only a short walk from the train station and shops
The restaurant was very good and the thirsty badger bar and bar food is good as well
We went as a friends shopping trip felt very safe and was looked after very well would def recommend this hotel for shopping and a general break away

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    469
    348
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
765
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The room was small but clean and well decorated. Lovely bathroom with large and luxurious towels. Noise was a big issue. Could clearly hear conversation from next room. Also room very hot so opened window but overwhelmed by noise from industrial type fan (from hotel kitchen perhaps).

Room Tip: Not room 220
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sib1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Comfortable and clean room with decent-sized bathroom. Helpful and personable staff (able to cope with a personal booking and a work-organised booking without any difficulties). Very good breakfasts in a lovely, spacious (and - while I was there - sunny!) dining room. Only criticism - the sound insulation between my room and the next was not great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avigdorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments I will ensure that these are passed on to our "helpful and personable Staff" as well as Chef for his breakfast.
I have taken on board your comments with regards to the sound proofing between the rooms and confirm that we will look into this for you.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well located,in pleasant surroundings,perfect for a well deserved break.This hotel gives,a very friendly service,lovely food at affordable rates.The attached public bar,The Fat Badger,is perfect to relax in with loads of atmosphere,and great food.Certainly worth another visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your well deserved break and that you managed to make the most of your time at the Hotel and in The Fat Badger.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

There are many excellent aspects of this hotel. It was clean and brilliantly central, with a good bar and friendly staff. Its car park was very convenient and meant forgetting the car for the duration of our stay. Having booked room only the value was excellent and breakfast at Bettys, only three minutes walk was fantastic. This is a very good budget choice for a stay in Harrogate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, I will ensure that these are passed on to our staff at The White Hart and Fat Badger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The White Hart is an old Hotel with creaky floorboards and old furniture and the rooms we had on the top floor reflected that. I had no problem with that, but to have holes in the duvee cover and no fastening arrangement to keep the quilt inside is unacceptable. We requested the receptionist to have it to changed and a sheet provided as went out to explore Harrogate. On our late return the bed had been tidied up to cover the holes. Rather strangely they turn the lights off in the rooms during the night. I would have thought this is a safety issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us your valued feedback.

I have noticed your comments with regard to the bed linen and also the photographs you have sent through. I can confirm that the bed linen is not torn or damaged this is the way they are manufactured for the hospitality industry, If you look closely on the photographs you will notice the holes have double edge stitching around either side, these types of Duvet covers are commonly used within the Hotel industry as they are specially designed for the Housekeeping department to change the duvet covers quickly and efficiently by providing two holes either side for the housekeepers to place their hands into the inside of the duvet cover and pull the duvet through, they are then folded at the bottom again with no buttons for the ease of changing.

I sincerely apologise that this was not explained to you at the time when you mentioned it to Reception. However, I have since spoken to the Reception team and advised them of your email in case this issue is raised in the future.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bude
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here the night before a wedding and had a fab stay. We arrived at 2.30 and was impressed that our family room actually had a separate room for the kids. ( one niggle, no lock on the inside of the door which meant 2 small kids could have possibly gone wandering)

We then enjoyed a drink outside then walked a short walk into the town centre to enjoy some shopping. We returned to the hotel to eat and had a lovely meal and dessert. The following morning our breakfast was fab, the most delicious sausages I've ever had. We were given an extra hour in our room to get ready for the wedding which was much appreciated.

Friendly staff, atmospheric bar, good tasty food and a comfortable stay. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baybude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback with regard to the Family Room, I can assure you that I will instruct our maintenance manager to take a look at the door lock to ensure that this is childproof.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed stay and so look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing