We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class B&B”

Franklin View Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franklin View Guest House
Ranked #56 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The flawless presentation of this late Victorian house in a quiet residential street,also a short distance from the city centre, proved to be ideal for our brief stay.
This was equalled by the friendly and hospitable hostess, accommodating in every respect.
It naturally followed that the Breakfast offerings were first class in variety and quality.
This B&B now ranks in our World Top Class of three,which includes,Edinburgh and Christchurch(NZ). This from the choice of many in the home countries, W.Europe,Canada,USA and Australia.
The two night stopover enabled us to enjoy a full visit to the RHS gardens at Harlow Carr, a short distance away.
Ivan L

Room Tip: Obvious for older visitors,Rooms on the First Floor have fewer stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Wonderful accommodation and Jennifer is a very warm and welcoming hostess. Franklin View is of a very high standard indeed. We have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels world wide that do not come anywhere near the quality of accommodation, furnishings, cleanliness and hospitality at this bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in was very large with bay window overlooking the front garden. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable with lovely linen. Toiletries were high quality, hairdryer also provided with bathrobes. Tea/coffee facilities more than ample with choccie biscuits too! Breakfast was excellent with plenty selection and beautifully cooked, the eggs were done perfectly to our special requirements! We stayed at Franklin View for 2 nights 7th & 8th September and just wished we could have stayed longer. Jennifer is a lovely lady who takes excellent care of her guests, there is absolutely nothing to fault her on, all marvellous. The house is very central and easy walking to all attractions in town centre. This is certainly the place to stay if you are visiting Harrogate or surrounding area.Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MORRISON150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent Bed and Breakfast, with comfortable room, shower etc., in a relatively quiet location only 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Breakfast was also very good. We stayed here for 4 nights visited many of the nearby attraction including Harlow Carr, Fountains Abbey, and Newby Hall, The latte we especially liked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent room with everything you could need from a bed & breakfast. 10 mins walk to the centre of Harrogate. Quiet tree-lined area. First class hospitality. Very friendly and welcoming hostess, who is also an excellent cook. All the little extra touches and attention to detail made our 2 night stay worth commenting on. Don't usually stay in large hotels, so for us this small friendly atmosphere was spot-on. Highly recommended. Will definitely return when we next visit Harrogate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for bank holiday weekend 2 nights, booked it last minute about 2 days before.

Perfect location it is only a 10 min walk into harrogate, a 10 min drive to knaresborough and within close proximity to a lot of little towns.

Room was very big had plenty of space, we had the twin room as the other doubles were taken. However Jennifer was more that welcoming and said we could move the beds together. Lots of nice touches to the room; bath robes provided, shampoo, shower gels, chocolates, different varieties of teas and coffees etc. our room overlooked the garden which was nice and let a lot of light through in the morning.

As soon as we arrived we were asked what time we like breakfast which was great for us as we're late risers. Good selection for breakfast fruits, yoghurt etc or a cooked breakfast. All meat was sourced locally and cooked to perfection.

Overall I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a break in Harrogate. We felt we were really looked after and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachi_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Lovely welcome when we arrived, spotlessly clean room with nice homely decor. Some great little touches like bath robes and kit kats on the tea tray.
Breakfast was spot on, high quality ingredients cooked really well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suselacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here from Tuesday 9th April 2013 until Monday 15th April 2013.
Franklin View is really first class, spotlessly clean, accomodation and Jennifer is a really wonderful and friendly hostess. It is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the Town Centre but frequent buses to the centre stop about 100 meters away in Kings Road.
We had the Macdui room with single beds and a well appointed en-suite bathroom with shower. The beds were comfortable and the bed linen clean and crisp. We had use of the lounge in the evening which was very nice and also comfortable. There is a fridge for the use of guests on the landing.
Breakfast was huge, with many choices, and Jennifer makes super porridge on request.
In our opinion Jennifer could not do more to make us welcome and we would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to anyone who would like to stay in Harrogate. If we go to Harrogate again this would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms would be equally suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
5 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin View Guest House

Address: 19 Grove Road, Harrogate HG1 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Franklin View Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing